Road Traffic Acts

Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984ROAD TRAFFIC REGULATION ACT 19842010-01-112009-12-212009-12-23TSO (The Stationery Office), St Crispins, Duke Street, Norwich, NR3 1PD, 01603 622211,

London Borough of Lewisham



  • 1 Notice is hereby given that Lewisham Council made this Order under the provisions of section 84 of the Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984 on 21 December 2009. The Order comes into force on 11 January 2010.
  • 2 The general nature and effect of the Order is to impose a 20 mph maximum speed limit on vehicles being driven on these roads in the Forest Hill area:

Benson Road, Boveney Road, Bowman’s Lea, Crowmarsh Gardens, David’s Road, Devonshire Road north of Waldram Crescent (A205 South Circular), Dunoon Road, Ewelme Road, Fairlie Gardens, The Fieldings, Haredon Close, Havelock Walk, Hengrave Road, Manor Mount, Pearcefield Avenue, Shirburn Close, Talmage Close, Tyson Road, Waldenshaw Road and Woodcombe Crescent;

supported by traffic calming measures to comprise a 20 mph speed limit zone.

  • 3 The restriction referred to above does not apply to ambulance, fire brigade or police vehicles in an emergency or to anything done with the permission or at the direction of a police constable in uniform.
  • 4 Documents giving more detailed particulars of the Order and measures can be inspected during normal office hours on Mondays to Fridays at the offices of Lewisham Highways Development, Wearside Service Centre, Wearside Road, Ladywell, London SE13, telephone 020 8314 2265.
  • 5 Any person wishing to question the validity of the Order or of any of its provisions on the grounds that it or they are not within the powers conferred by the Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984, or that any requirement of that Act or of any instrument or relevant regulation made under the Act has not been complied with may, within 6 weeks from the date on which the Order was made, apply for the purpose to the High Court.

D Goodwin, Head of Transport

Laurence House, 1 Catford Road, London SE6.

23 December 2009