Other Notices

1998-04-071998-04-091998-01-271998-02-19TSO (The Stationery Office), St Crispins, Duke Street, Norwich, NR3 1PD, 01603 622211, customer.services@tso.co.uk55048836

Notice is hereby given that Tuesday, 27th January 1998 was the last day on which names of candidates could be received for the election of Fellows to Council which will take place on 9th April 1998. Voting will close at 12 noon on 7th April 1998. Nominations were forwarded to the Secretary by candidates seeking to fill four vacancies occasioned by the retirement of Sir Rodney Sweetnam and H. B. Devlin, who will complete their second term of office in July 1998, and Professor A. O. Mansfield and Professor T. Duckworth, who will complete their first term of office in July 1998. Professor Mansfield and Professor Duckworth are eligible to serve for a further 4 years and are both standing for re-election.
  Candidates are listed as follows:

  1. Averil Olive Mansfield (Fellow 1967). St. Mary’s Hospital, London.
  2. Thomas Duckworth (Fellow 1966). University of Sheffield.
  3. Anthony Catterall (Fellow 1963). Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital, Stanmore. Nominated by: D. M. Eastwood, London; M. Benson, Otford; P. C. Fulford, Gosport, Hampshire.
  4. Ronald Christopher Gordon Russell (Fellow 1966). University College Hospitals, London (the Middlesex Hospital). Nominated by: M. McBrien, Bury St. Edmunds; A. R. L. May, Colchester, Essex; A. T. Raftery, Sheffield.
  5. Kevin Hardinge (Fellow 1967). Wrightington Hospital, Wigan. Nominated by: N. J. Kay, Didsbury, Manchester; M. T. Jones, Hale, Cheshire; P. J. Gore, Hale Barns.
  6. Mohan Adiseshiah (Fellow 1969). University College and the Middlesex Hospitals. Nominated by: B. D. G. Morgan, Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire; I. Taylor, Highgate, London; T. Davidson, Highgate, London.
  7. Ian Stewart (Fellow 1969). Derriford Hospital, Plymouth. Nominated by: C. Teasdale, Tavistock; R. M. Watkins, Crapstone, Devon; C. R. B. Welbourn, Clifton, Bristol.
  8. A. Richard Maw (Fellow 1969). Bristol Royal Infirmary and Royal Hospital for Sick Children. Nominated by: H. B. Coakham, Clifton, Bristol; D. W. Proops, Moseley, Birmingham; A. P. Johnson, Stourport-on-Severn.
  9. Francis Peter McGinn (Fellow 1970). Southampton University Hospitals. Nominated by: H. W. Steer, Southampton; C. J. Smart, Southampton; G. Neil-Dwyer, Southampton.
  10. Malcolm Hubert Wheeler (Fellow 1970). University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff. Nominated by: C. R. Darby, Cardiff; D. J. T. Webster, Cardiff, I. F. Lane, South Glamorgan.
  11. H. Alan Crockard (Fellow 1971). University College London Hospitals Trust. Nominated by: M. P. Powell, London; R. J. Heald, Basingstoke, Hampshire; A. O. Ransford, London.
  12. Anthony Edward Buckland Giddings (Fellow 1971). Kings College, Guy’s and St. Thomas’ Hospitals. Nominated by: C. L. McGuinness, Guildford, Surrey; J. D. Hardcastle, Nottingham; K. G. Burnand, London.
  13. Richard Edward Charles Collins (Fellow 1971). Kent and Canterbury Hospital. Nominated by: N. V. Wilson, Canterbury; P. J. S. Jeer, Cranford, Middlesex; K. H. A. Murray, Canterbury.
  14. Peter Lyon Harris (Fellow 1971). Royal Liverpool University Hospital. Nominated by: J. Brennan, Liverpool; M. Hershman, Liverpool; G. Poston, Liverpool.
  15. Bernard Ribeiro (Fellow 1972). Basildon Hospital. Nominated by: H. E. Naylor, Hornchurch, Essex; D. G. Fife, Great Warley, Essex; K. Lafferty, Chelmsford, Essex.
  16. Roger Malcolm Greenhalgh (Fellow 1972). Charing Cross Hospital (Hammersmith Hospitals Trust). Nominated by: A. H. Davies, London; J. W. A. Ramsay, Datchet; R. G. Springhall, Gerrards Cross.
  17. David John Tatchell Webster (Fellow 1972). Llandough Hospital. Nominated by: M. K. H. Crumplin, Wrexham; R. E. Mansel, Ely, Cambridgeshire; I. F. Lane, South Glamorgan.
  18. Irving Taylor (Fellow 1972). UCL Hospitals, London. Nominated by: S. G. E. Barker, London; M. Adiseshiah, London; C. Y. Yiu, London.
  19. Robin Charles Noel Williamson (Fellow 1972). Hammersmith Hospital. Nominated by: J. Spencer, London; N. J. Standfield, West Wickham, Kent; A. K. Kakkar, London.
  20. Brian Idris Rees (Fellow 1974). University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff. Nominated by: W. A. Jurewicz, Cardiff; G. Morris-Stiff, Pontypridd; D. J. Bowrey, Cardiff.
  21. Michael David Brough (Fellow 1974). University College London Hospitals and Royal Free Hospital. Nominated by: D. A. McGrouther, Great Brickhill, Buckinghamshire; J. R. O. Collin, London; M. C. Winslett, Highgate, London.
  22. Michael Charles Bishop (Fellow 1975). Nottingham City Hospital. Nominated by: C. P. Bates, Bunton Joyce, Nottingham; D. R. Harriss, East Bridgford, Nottinghamshire; M. Dunn, Nottinghamshire.
  23. Robert Edward Mansel (Fellow 1975). University of Wales and University Hospital, Cardiff. Nominated by: J. K. Pye, Wrexham; I. J. Monypenny, Powis; H. M. Bishop, Atherstone, Warwickshire.
  24. Andrew Thomas Raftery (Fellow 1976). Northern General Hospital, Sheffield. Nominated by: G. L. Cohen, Sheffield; A. Wyman, Sheffield; B. J. Harrison, Fulwood, Sheffield.
  25. Pierre John Guillou (Fellow 1976). St. James’s University Hospital, Leeds. Nominated by: A. C. Broughton, Leeds; R. C. Kester, Roundhay, Leeds; J. MacFie, Scarborough.
  26. David Terence Hope (Fellow 1976). University Hospital Queen’s Medical Centre, Nottingham. Nominated by: B. D. White, Wollaton; M. Carmill, Sheffield; P. O. Byrne, Nottingham.
  27. William Ernest Ghinn Thomas (Fellow 1977). Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield. Nominated by: M. C. Pietroni, Buckhurst Hill, Essex; C. J. Stoddard, Fulwood, Sheffield; J. B. Anderson, Sheffield.
  28. Christopher Paul Chilton (Fellow 1977). Derby City General Hospital NHS Trust. Nominated by: K. G. Callum, Derbyshire; K. W. Munson, Derbyshire; R. I. Hall, Egginton.
  29. Roger Neale Baird (Fellow 1978). Royal Infirmary, Bristol. Nominated by: M. H. Thompson, Lower Stone, Gloucestershire; P. M. Lamont, Bristol; F. C. T. Smith, Bristol.
  30. Maurice Robert Hawthorne (Fellow 1983). North Riding Infirmary, Middlesbrough. Nominated by: R. Wight, Yarm; A. H. Tooley, Middlesbrough; A. L. G. Peel, Norton.
  31. Elaine Mary Griffiths (Fellow 1986). The Cardiothoracic Centre, Liverpool. Nominated by: R. Millner, Blackpool; A. Rashid, Liverpool; A. Soorae, Liverpool.
  32. Colin John Bunce (Fellow 1989). Barnet General Hospital, London. Nominated by: T. P. Briggs, Muswell Hill, London; C. A. Heman-Ackah, London; J. Gelister, London.
  33. Dermot O’Riordan (Fellow 1993). Princess Alexandra Hospital, Harlow. Nominated by: G. D. Griffiths, Cheshire; P. Sutton, Horsforth, Leeds; K. R. L. Shaper, London.
  34. Rodney Peyton (Fellow 1995). South Tyrone Hospital, Dungannon, Northern Ireland. Nominated by: B. J. Rowlands, Nottinghamshire; L. Kapila, Willoughby-on-the-Wolds, Leicestershire; J. D. Hardcastle, Nottingham.
C. Duncan, Secretary 35-43 Lincoln’s Inn Fields,
  London WC2A 3PN.