Air Force Medal (AFM)


Awarded to non-commissioned officers for acts of courage or devotion to duty when flying, though not in active operations, against the enemy.

First established

By King George V, 3 June 1918 (Gazette supplement 6533).

WW1 recipients

Walter Robert Mayes, RAF, gazetted 23 August 1919

‘His Majesty the KING has been graciously pleased to confer the undermentioned rewards in recognition of' distinguished services rendered to Aviation, in the successful voyages of Airship R. 34 from the United Kingdom to the United States of America and back…. (Duration, 75 hours 3 minutes)… No. 200965 Sergt.-Maj. II. Walter Robert Mayes, D.S.M.’ (Gazette supplement 31519)

Norfolk-born Mayes was awarded the AFC for his part as first coxswain in the Airship R.34 double crossing of the Atlantic from Scotland to New York. He was later awarded a bar to AFM on 4 June1921 (Gazette supplement 32346) for services when flying over Bath, when the rudder and elevators broke loose and he and a colleague climbed on top of the ship to repair the damage.

Lt Alfred Vivian McKiever, RAF, 2 July 1918

Lt. Alfred Vivian McKiever’ (Gazette supplement 30775)

McKiever was an observer officer in the Seaforth Highlanders. In 1921 he was re-seconded for duty with the RAF for a further 2 years (Gazette issue 32487). He died in 1922.  The regiment was the county regiment for 7 northern Scottish counties, including the Orkney Islands.