The Queen's Awards for Enterprise 2020

The winners of The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise 2020 have been announced in a special edition of The Gazette. See the recipients of the Awards here.

Queen's Award for Enterprise 2020

What are The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise?

The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise are the most prestigious awards for UK business. Officially announced in a special Gazette supplement every April, the Awards are designed to recognise and encourage outstanding achievements in the fields of:

  • innovation
  • international trade
  • sustainable development
  • promoting opportunity (through social mobility)

When were The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise first introduced?

The Queen’s Awards scheme was instituted by Royal Warrant in 1965 with the first Awards made in 1966 (Gazette issue 43953) under the scheme’s original title, The Queen's Award to Industry.

In 1975 the scheme became the Queen's Awards for Export and Technology, with Environmental Achievement added in 1992. However, in 1999 the scheme was again renamed The Queen's Awards for Enterprise with ‘international trade’, ‘innovation’ and ‘sustainable development’ as the categories. In 2017, a fourth category was introduced, ‘promoting opportunity (through social mobility)’.

Where can I see the winners of The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise 2020?

You can see the winners of The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise 2020 in a special supplement of The Gazette: Gazette issue 62978.

This year, 220 UK businesses have been recognised for their contribution to international trade, innovation, sustainable development and promoting opportunity (through social mobility). Four of these companies won awards in the categories of both Innovation and International Trade. These winners are:

  • Cut4Cloth (International Trade and Sustainable Development)
  • Kwikbolt (International Trade and Innovation)
  • Netcraft (International Trade and Innovation)
  • Synchro Arts Limited (International Trade and Innovation)

You can also see all the previous winners of Awards since 1966 in a dedicated area of The Gazette, while the official press books from 2012 to 2020 (containing details of the winners of The Queen's Awards for Enterprise) are available here.

Find out more

The Queen's Awards for Enterprise (GOV.UK)

Image: Getty Images

Publication date: 21 April 2020