The Queen's Awards for Enterprise 2022

The winners of The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise 2022 have been announced in a special edition of The Gazette. See the recipients of the Awards here.

Queen's Award for Enterprise 2022

What are The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise?

The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise are the most prestigious awards for UK business. Officially announced in a special Gazette supplement every April, the Awards are designed to recognise and encourage outstanding achievements in the fields of:

  • innovation
  • international trade
  • sustainable development
  • promoting opportunity (through social mobility)

Winners of the award are:

  • invited to a Royal reception
  • presented with the award at your company by one of The Queen’s representatives, a Lord-Lieutenant
  • able to fly The Queen’s Awards flag at your main office, and use the emblem on your marketing materials (for example, on your packaging, advertisements, stationery and website)
  • given a Grant of Appointment (an official certificate) and a commemorative crystal trophy

The awards are valid for 5 years.

When were The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise first introduced?

The Queen’s Awards scheme was instituted by Royal Warrant in 1965 with the first Awards made in 1966 (Gazette issue 43953) under the scheme’s original title, The Queen's Award to Industry.

In 1975 the scheme became the Queen's Awards for Export and Technology, with Environmental Achievement added in 1992. However, in 1999 the scheme was again renamed The Queen's Awards for Enterprise with ‘international trade’, ‘innovation’ and ‘sustainable development’ as the categories. In 2017, a fourth category was introduced, ‘promoting opportunity (through social mobility)’.

Where can I see the winners of The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise 2022?

You can see the winners of The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise 2022 in a special supplement of The Gazette: Gazette issue 63674.

This year, 232 businesses representing every part of the United Kingdom and a range of sectors have been recognised by Her Majesty The Queen on her birthday as among the best in the country.

Awards have been won in the categories of:

  • International Trade (141 winners)
  • Innovation (51)
  • Sustainable Development (31)
  • Promoting Opportunity (9)  

You can also see all the previous winners of Awards since 1966 in a dedicated area of The Gazette, while the official press books from 2012 to 2022, containing details of the winners of The Queen's Awards for Enterprise, are available on the press books page.

Celebrate your honour with a commemorative edition

If you or a loved one have been honoured by the Queen or mentioned in despatches, The Gazette is available to buy as a personalised commemorative edition. Each pack contains a complete edition of The Gazette from the day the honour was published.

See also

The Queen's Awards for Enterprise 2021

The Queen's Award for Voluntary Service 2021

Find out more

The Queen's Awards for Enterprise (GOV.UK)

Image: Getty Images

Publication updated: 21 April 2022