Road Traffic Acts

Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984-0.08873151.484028SE17 2ESThe London Borough of SouthwarkLocal Government Act 19851998-03-021998-10-161998-02-12SE172ESRoad Traffic Act 1991TSO (The Stationery Office), St Crispins, Duke Street, Norwich, NR3 1PD, 01603 622211,
Introduction of the West Walworth Controlled Parking Zone

Notice is hereby given that the Council of the London Borough of Southwark, on 12th February 1998, made the following Orders under sections 6, 45, 46, 49 and 124 of and Part IV of Schedule 9 to the Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984, as amended by the Local Government Act 1985 and the Road Traffic Act 1991, the notice of proposals of which were first published in The London Gazette on 16th October 1998, Issue No. 54921 (Ref. 491):

  The London Borough of Southwark (Parking Places) (No. 1) Order 1998;
  The London Borough of Southwark (Free Parking Places) (Disabled Persons) (Amendment No. 2) Traffic Order 1998;
  The London Borough of Southwark (Ambulance Parking Places) (Amendment No. 1) Traffic Order 1998;
  The London Borough of Southwark (Waiting and Loading Restrictions) (Amendment No. 113) Traffic Order 1998.

  The general effect of the Orders is as described in the notice of proposals referred to above which will introduce a new controlled parking zone in West Walworth in the streets and lengths of streets listed in the Schedule to this notice.
  The new restrictions will include:

  (a) residents parking places;
  (b) two hour and four 4 meter parking bays;
  (c) disabled persons parking bays;
  (d) an ambulance parking bay;
  (e) motorcycle parking bays;
  (f) a short-term parking bay;
  (g) various lengths of waiting restrictions (single and double yellow lines); and
  (h) loading restrictions.

  A copy of the proposed Order, which will come into operation on 2nd March 1998, the Southwark (Free Parking Places) (Disabled Persons) Order 1984, the Southwark (Free Parking Places) (Ambulances) (No. 1) Order 1996, and the Southwark (Waiting and Loading Restrictions) Order 1976, together with a plan can be inspected between the hours of 9 a.m. to 4.30 p.m. on Mondays to Fridays inclusive, until the end of a period of 6 weeks from the date on which this notice is published in the Council Offices, Chiltern, Portland Street, London SE17 2ES.
  Further information may be obtained from Ron Shaw, Southwark Regeneration & Environment Department, Council Offices, Chiltern, Portland Street, London SE17 2ES, or by telephoning 0171-525 5381.
  Any person desiring to question the validity of the Orders, or of any provision contained therein on the grounds that it is not within the relevant powers of the Road Traffic Regulation Act 1984, or that any of the relevant requirements thereof or of any relevant regulations made thereunder has not been complied with in relation to the Orders, may, within 6 weeks of the date on which the Orders were made, make application for the purpose to the High Court.
P. Kent, Traffic Group Manager


  Alberta Street, Ambergate Street, Amelia Street, Berryfield Road, Braganza Street, Canterbury Place, Chapter Road, Cook’s Road, Crampton Street, De Laune Street, Delverton Road, Doddington Grove, Doddington Place, Elephant and Castle (the southern side of the southernmost roundabout), Faunce Street, Fleming Road, Frederick Road, Gaza Street, Greig Terrace (Nos. 9-11), Hampton Street, Harmsworth Street, Howell Walk, Iliffe Street, Iliffe Yard, Kennington Park Place, Kennington Park Road (so much as lies within the London Borough of Southwark), Manor Place, Marsland Close, Newington Butts (the south-east side - so much as lies within the London Borough of Southwark), Occupation Road, Peacock Street, Peacock Yard, Penton Place, Sharsted Street, Steedman Street, Stopford Road, St. Paul’s Terrace, Sturgeon Road, Tarver Road, Thrush Street, Walworth Road (the south-west side, from 204 Walworth Road to its junction with Elephant and Castle), Westcott Road.
12th February 1998.