Town and Country Planning

Aberdeen City-2.12809857.170196AB24 4DX-2.18435357.176541AB21 9DGAB157RFAB228HH2007-01-08AB123HEAB107HRAB119NJAB244DXAB101BWAB159SXAB167LLAB125NAAB116UPAB251GWAB165UTAB219DGAB242UDAB245SS2007-02-162007-01-05AB217NFAB166TRAB140UJ-2.09643257.164197AB24 5SS-2.16212757.165927AB16 7LL-2.26704957.095948AB14 0UJ-2.14224457.159231AB16 5UT-2.10008357.181496AB22 8HH-2.11248757.137199AB11 6UP-2.10409957.120812AB12 5NA-2.17595857.205711AB21 7NF-2.09665557.148216AB10 1BW-2.16335857.156223AB16 6TR-2.17725657.117218AB15 9SX-2.08579657.104144AB12 3HE-2.08565557.136465AB11 9NJ-2.11194857.172143AB24 2UD-2.12762457.123548AB10 7HR-2.14921157.132175AB15 7RF-2.10587657.147984AB25 1GWTSO (The Stationery Office), St Crispins, Duke Street, Norwich, NR3 1PD, 01603 622211,

Town & Country Planning

Aberdeen City Council



Notice is hereby given by Aberdeen City Council of the proposed updates to the Council’s Article 4 Directions, which are published for public consultation for a period of 6 weeks and effects the following areas of the City:

(1)  Conservation areas 1 – 10: Old Aberdeen, Union Street, Bon Accord Street/Crown Street, Albyn Place/Rubislaw, Marine Terrace, Footdee, Great Western Road, Cove Bay, Ferryhill and Lower Deeside/Pitfodels; and (2) Burnbanks Fishing Village Cove.

The update involves;

A new Article 4 Direction updated to cover classes of development in the 1992 Town and Country Planning (General Permitted Development) (Scotland) Order;

Extending the Article 4 Direction boundaries for conservation areas 1, 2, 4, 5 and 9; and

Proposed cancellation of the Article 4 Direction covering part of Kingswells.

The effect of the updates would 1) remove permitted development rights for householders living in the extended boundaries of conservation areas 1, 2, 4, 5 and 9. Planning permission would now be required to undertake certain works that previously would not have required planning permission; and 2) Permitted development rights would be restored to householders in Kingswells who were previously subject to applying for planning permission for certain works.

More information on the proposed updates, copies of the Direction and maps showing the area covered by the Direction are available for public inspection from Monday 8 January 2007 for a period of 6 weeks at Planning & Infrastructure Services, 8 Floor, St Nicholas House, Broad Street, Aberdeen, during normal working hours and on Aberdeen City Council’s web site:

Copies will also be available at all of Aberdeen City Council’s libraries:

Aberdeen Central Library, Rosemount Viaduct, AB25 1GW. Airyhall Library, Springfield Road, AB15 7RF. Bridge of Don Library, Scotstown Road Bridge of Don, AB22 8HH. Bucksburn Library, Kepplehills Road, AB21 9DG. Cornhill Library, Cornhill Drive, AB16 5UT. Cove Library, Loirston Avenue, AB12 3HE. Culter Library, North Deeside Road, AB14 0UJ. Cults Library, 429 North Deeside Road, AB15 9SX. Dyce Library, Riverview Drive, Dyce, AB21 7NF. Ferryhill Library, Fonthill Road, AB11 6UP. Kaimhill Library, Kaimhill Community Education Centre, Pitmedden Terrace, AB10 7HR. Kincorth Library, Provost Watt Drive, AB12 5NA. Linksfield Library, 520 King Street, AB24 5SS. Mastrick Library, Greenfern Road, AB16 6TR. Northfield Library, Byron Square, AB16 7LL. Tillydrone Library, Pennan Road, AB24 2UD. Torry Library, Victoria Road, AB11 9NJ and Woodside Library, 356, Clifton road, AB24 4DX.

Any observations should be submitted in writing to the Head of Planning & Infrastructure, Planning & Infrastructure Services, St Nicholas House, Broad Street, Aberdeen, AB10 1BW, or by e-mail to by 5pm on Friday 16 February 2007, with the e-mail or letter clearly marked with ‘Article 4 Direction’.