The Queen's Awards for Enterprise

business woman in a workshopEvery April winners of the Queen’s Awards for Enterprise are officially announced in a special Gazette supplement. 

The Queen's Award to Industry, the scheme's original title, was instituted by Royal Warrant in 1965.

It became the Queen's Awards for Export and Technology in 1975, with Environmental Achievement added in 1992. In 1999, the scheme became the Queen's Awards for Enterprise with International Trade, Innovation and Sustainable Development as the categories. In 2017, a fourth category was introduced, Promoting Opportunity (through social mobility).

Since 2005, individuals have also been recognised with the Queen's Award for Enterprise Promotion. As of 2017, this individual award has been rested.

See the 2020 winners in a special Gazette supplement2020: The London Gazette issue 62978.

Queen's Awards Gazette supplements 

Changes to the awards

See also:

(Please note that for the 2000 supplement, awardees P&M Products Ltd, Pascall Electronics Limited, Pfizer Limited, Polycarb Ltd, Psion Dacom Plc and John Ross Jr (Aberdeen) Ltd may not be viewable within the scanned version.)

Image: Getty Images