The Queen's Awards for Enterprise 2021

The winners of The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise 2021 have been announced in a special edition of The Gazette. See the recipients of the Awards here.

The Queen's Award for Enterprise 2021

What are The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise?

The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise are the most prestigious awards for UK business. Officially announced in a special Gazette supplement every April, the Awards are designed to recognise and encourage outstanding achievements in the fields of:

  • innovation
  • international trade
  • sustainable development
  • promoting opportunity (through social mobility)

When were The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise first introduced?

The Queen’s Awards scheme was instituted by Royal Warrant in 1965 with the first Awards made in 1966 (Gazette issue 43953) under the scheme’s original title, The Queen's Award to Industry.

In 1975 the scheme became the Queen's Awards for Export and Technology, with Environmental Achievement added in 1992. However, in 1999 the scheme was again renamed The Queen's Awards for Enterprise with ‘international trade’, ‘innovation’ and ‘sustainable development’ as the categories. In 2017, a fourth category was introduced, ‘promoting opportunity (through social mobility)’.

Where can I see the winners of The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise 2021?

You can see the winners of The Queen’s Awards for Enterprise 2021 in a special supplement of The Gazette: Gazette issue 63334.

This year, 205 UK businesses have been recognised for their contribution to international trade, innovation, sustainable development and promoting opportunity (through social mobility). Five of these companies won awards in two categories:

  • Apption Labs Limited (International Trade and Innovation)
  • Cobalt Aerospace Limited (International Trade and Innovation)
  • Insight Analytics Solutions Limited trading as ONYX InSight (International Trade and Innovation)
  • Process Instruments (UK) Limited (International Trade and Innovation)
  • The Skills Mill Limited (Sustainable Development and Promoting Opportunity)

You can also see all the previous winners of Awards since 1966 in a dedicated area of The Gazette, while the official press books from 2012 to 2021, containing details of the winners of The Queen's Awards for Enterprise, are available on the press books page.

Commemorative Edition

Celebrate your honour with a commemorative edition

If you or a loved one have been honoured by the Queen or mentioned in despatches, The Gazette is available to buy as a personalised commemorative edition. Each pack contains a complete edition of The Gazette from the day the honour was published.

See also

Find out more

The Queen's Awards for Enterprise (GOV.UK)

Image: Getty Images

Publication updated: 12 May 2021