- Helen, Mrs. Hyde, Headmistress, Watford Grammar School for Girls, Hertfordshire, and President, Freedom and Autonomy For Schools National Association. For services to Education.
- Joan Christine, Mrs. McVITTIE, Headteacher, Woodside School, Haringey, and Past President, Association of School and College Leaders. For services to Education.
- Priscilla Jane, Mrs. NEWELL, O.B.E., J.P. For services to the Pension Industry and to Charity.
- Ms Vicki Paterson, Executive Headteacher, Brindishe Green School, Brindishe Lee School and Lee Manor School, Lewisham. For services to Education.
- Professor Carol Vivien Robinson, Professor of Physical Chemistry, University of Oxford. For services to Science and Industry.
- Ms Angela Eileen WATKINSON, Member of Parliament for Hornchurch and Upminster. For public and political service.

K.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Knight Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Paul Clive, Baron Deighton, Chief Executive Officer, LOCOG. For services to London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

- Professor Josephine Dawn Ades, O.B.E., Professor of Art History and Theory, University of Essex. For services to Higher Education and Art History.
- Reginald William Bailey, Chief Executive, Mothers' Union. For service to Children and Families.
- Alexander Charles Beard, Deputy Director, Tate. For services to the Arts.
- Peter John Luther BEAUMONT, Recorder of London. For services to the Administration of Justice.
- John Michael Berman, Chairman, Southbank Sinfonia. to Music Entrepreneurship For services Philanthropy.
- Cherie, Mrs. Blair. For services to Women's Issues and to charity in the UK and Overseas.
- Steven Robert BOORMAN, Consultant in Occupational Health. For services to Occupational Medicine.
- John Peter Bothamley, Founder, the Four Acre Trust. For charitable services in the UK and Overseas.
- Dr. Terence George Bramall, Philanthropist. For charitable services.
- Timothy James Breedon, lately Group Chief Executive, Legal and General Group and Chairman, Association of British Insurers. For services to the Insurance
- Professor John Richard Britton, Honorary Consultant Respiratory Medicine and Professor Epidemiology, Nottinghamshire. For services to Respiratory Medicine.
- The Honourable Mr. Justice Thomas Alexander BURGESS, Lately Presiding County Court Judge and Temporary High Court Judge and Recorder of Belfast. For services to the Administration of Justice.
- Ms Catherine Bush (Kate Bush), Singer and Songwriter. For services to Music.

- Brian Cantor, Vice-Chancellor, The University of York. For services to Higher Education.
- Michael Maurice Cashman, Member of the European Parliament for the West Midlands and Co-Founder, Stonewall. For public and political service.
- David Millar CLARK, National Clinical Adviser, Department of Health. For services to Mental Health.
- Dr. David Douglas CLEEVELY, Founding Director, Centre for Science and Policy, University of Cambridge. For services to Technology and Innovation.
- James Michael Thomas Cochrane, Chairman, The British Red Cross Society. For services to Health.
- Neale COLEMAN, Director, London 2012, Greater London Authority. For services to the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.
- Neil Couling, Work Services Director, Department for Work and Pensions. For public service.
- Ms Sherry Coutu, Angel Investor. For services to Entrepreneurship.
- Barry Geoffery Cox, Chairman, Digital UK. For services to the Media and Digital Television.
- Philip Gotsall Cox, Chief Executive Officer. International Power. For services to the Energy Industry.
- John Geraint Davies, For voluntary and charitable services in Wales.
- Helen, Mrs. Deeble, Chief Executive, P&O Ferries Division and President, UK Chamber of Shipping. For services to the Shipping Industry.
- Professor Joseph Stuart Elborn, Professor of Respiratory Medicine and Consultant Physician, Queen's University Belfast. For services to Healthcare in Northern Ireland.
- Ms Tracey Emin, Artist. For services to the Arts.
- Professor Eileen Evason. For services to Disadvantaged People in Northern Ireland.
- John James Fenwick, Deputy Chairman, Fenwick Limited. For services to the Retail Business.
- Nicholas Eustace Haddon FERGUSON, Chair, Courtauld Institute. For services to Philanthropy and Higher
- Duncan Struthers FLETCHER, Chair, Forth Holdings. For services to Business and to the community in Stirlingshire.
- Professor Gary Ashley FORD, Director, UK Stroke Research Network and Clinical Director, Newcastle University. For services to research in Stroke Medicine.
- Christine Forster, Operations Director, Child Support Agency, Department for Work and Pensions. For services to the Transformation of the Child Support System.
- Ms Martha Lane Fox, UK Digital Champion. For voluntary services to the UK Digital Economy and to charity.
- Professor Judith Anne Freedman, Professor of Tax Law, Oxford University. For services to Tax Research.
- Professor Pamela GILLIES, Principal and Vice-Chancellor, Glasgow Caledonian University. For services to Education and Public Health.
- David GOLDSTONE, Finance and Programme Director, Government Olympic Executive. For services to the Financial Administration of the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.