- Peter John JAMES, lately Principal, London Academy of Music and Dramatic Art. For services to the Arts.
- Professor Wendy Rosalind JAMES, Emeritus Professor of Social Anthropology, University of Oxford. For services to Scholarship.
- Dianne Michele, Mrs. JEFFREY, D.L. For public service.
- Professor Merfyn JONES, lately Vice-Chancellor, Bangor University. For services to Higher Education in Wales.
- Professor Paul William JOWITT, Professor of Civil Engineering Systems, Heriot Watt University and President, Institution of Civil Engineers. For services to Technology.
- Richard Charles KEMP, Vice Chairman, Local Government Association. For public service.
- Ms Judith Ann KILLICK, Executive Director, Judicial Studies College, Ministry of Justice.
- Justin Matthew KING, Chief Executive, J. Sainsbury plc. For services to the Retail Industry.
- Her Honour Frances Margaret KIRKHAM. For services to the Legal Profession and to the Administration of Justice.
- John KNIGHT, J.P. For services to People with Disabilities.
- Dr. Judith Mary KNOTT, Director, CT International, and Anti-Avoidance, H.M. Revenue and Customs.
- Deborah, Mrs. LAVIN, Principal, Isle of Wight College. For services to Further Education.
- Dr. Gillian Catherine LENG, Chief Operating Officer, NHS Evidence and Deputy Chief Executive, National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence. For services to the NHS.
- Dr. Julian LOB-LEVYT. For services to Global Health.
- David Lionel MAYHEW, Chairman, J. P. Morgan Cazenove. For services to the Financial Services Industry.
- John McDoNOUGH, Chief Executive, Carillion plc. For services to the Construction Industry.
- Ms Kathryn McDowell, D.L., Managing Director, London Symphony Orchestra. For services to Music.
- Anthony James McGUIRK, Q.F.S.M., Chief Fire Officer, Merseyside Fire and Rescue Service. For services to Local Government.
- Isobel, Mrs. MILLS, lately Deputy Director, People and Communities, Government Office for Yorkshire and the Humber, Department for Communities and Local Government.
- Christopher Thomas MORAHAN, Director. For services to Drama.
- Alexander Robert NAIRNE, Director, National Portrait Gallery. For services to the Arts.
- Peter William NEYROUD, Q.P.M., Chief Constable and Chief Executive Officer, National Policing Improvement Agency. For services to the Police.
- Professor Jan PAHL. For services to Social Science.
- Christopher William PARFITT, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, General Motors UK Ltd. For services to the Automotive Industry.
- Mayur Parsuram PATEL, Team Leader, Litigation, Treasury Solicitor's Department.
- Jack PETCHEY, O.B.E., Founder, Jack Petchey Foundation for Young People. For charitable services.
- Margaret Louise (Maggy), Mrs. PIGOTT, lately Executive Director, Judicial, Studies Board, Ministry of Justice.
- Ian Michael PRYCE, Principal, Bedford College. For services to Further Education.

- James Hiljamar Rene QUINAULT, Head, Defence, Diplomacy and Intelligence Team, H.M. Treasury.
- Mary, Mrs. QUINN, Head of the Child Maintenance and Enforcement Division, Department for Social Development, Northern Ireland Executive.
- Dr. Martin Peter READ. For services to the Public Sector and to Business.
- Dr. James Stark RENNIE, lately Dean of Postgraduate Dental Education. For services to Dentistry.
- Richard Noel ROBERTS, O.B.E. For services to Optometry.
- Barbara, Mrs. ROGERS, Headteacher, St. Patrick's Roman Catholic High School and Arts College, Salford. For services to local and national Education.
- Peter Lloyd ROGERS. Group Chief Executive, Babcock International Group plc. For services to the Defence Industry.
- Ms Joanna Lesley SIMONS, Chief Executive, Oxfordshire County Council. For services to Local Government.
- Dr. Judith SIMPSON, Head of Parliament and Constitution Division, Cabinet Office.
- Dr. Christopher Shaw GIBSON-SMITH, Chairman, London Stock Exchange. For services to Business.
- Dr. Justin DAVIS-SMITH. For services to the Voluntary Sector.
- Patricia Beatrice, Mrs. SOWTER, Principal, Cuckoo Hall Academy, London Borough of Enfield. For services to local and national Education.
- Mark Howard STEPHENS. For services to the Legal Profession and to the Arts.
- Andrew Charles STOTT, lately Director, Transparency and Digital Engagement, Cabinet Office.
- Professor Yasir SULEIMAN, Professor of Modern Arabic Studies, King's College, University of Cambridge. For services to Scholarship.
- Professor Elaine THOMAS, Vice-Chancellor, University for the Creative Arts. For services to Higher Education.
- Professor Jennifer Anne THOMAS, Professor of Particle Physics, University College London. For services to Science.
- Dr. Simon John THURLEY, Chief Executive, English Heritage. For services to Conservation.
- Antony Ronald WADSWORTH. For services to the Music Industry.
- Victor Noel Stanley WAKELING. For services to Sports Broadcasting.
- Philip Anthony WALLER, Senior District Judge, Family Division. For services to the Administration of Justice.
- Edward Maurice WATKINS, Chairman, Charitable Fundraising Board, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. For charitable services.
- David WAY, Deputy Chief Executive, National Apprenticeship Service, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills.
- Gavin WHITEFIELD, Chief Executive, North Lanarkshire Council. For services to Local Government.
- Professor Geoffrey James WHITTY, lately Director, Institute of Education, University of London. For services to Teacher Education.
- Professor Brian Owen WILLIAMS, lately President, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow. For services to Medicine.