- Ms Susan Langford. For services to the Magic Me
- Councillor Palma Laughton, Chairman, Stanhope Parish Council. For services to the community in Stanhope, Ashford, Kent.
- Charles Spencer Leader. For voluntary service to the Royal British Legion in St. Annes-on-Sea, Lancashire.
- Joyce, Mrs. Ledgard. For voluntary service to the Girls' Brigade in Wrexham.
- Christopher Wilson Lee. For services to Young People in Romford, Essex.
- Dr. Anthony John Lewis. For services to Mathematics and to Cricket.
- David Lewis, Chairman of Governors, Whitefield School, Barnet, London. For services to Education.
- David Gethin Lewis. For services to the community in South West Wales.
- Essie Nell, Mrs. Lewis. For voluntary service to Older African and Caribbean People in Wolverhampton.
- Frances, Mrs. Lewis, Founder and Executive Director, SPLITZ. For services to Single Parents and to Victims of Domestic Abuse.
- Miss Patricia Lewis, Youth Leader, Banstead Youth Centre, Surrey. For services to Young People.
- Ms Geraldine Ling, Artistic Director, Lawnmowers Theatre Group. For services to People with Special Needs in Tyne and Wear.
- Robert Ian Lipscomb, Senior Aviation Security Policy Adviser, Transport Security and Contingencies Directorate, Department for Transport.
- David John LISTER. For voluntary service to Young People.
- John Thomas LISTER. For services to Athletics.
- William George LITTLE. For services to the community in Dartington, Devon.
- John Frank LLOYD. For services to Cycling in Mid and North Wales.
- John Howson Lloyd. For voluntary service to Liverpool Cathedral.
- Lieutenant Colonel Peter John Lockyer, Grade C1, Ministry of Defence.
- Sara, Mrs. Locock, J.P., D.L. For services to the community in Hampshire.
- Miss Diane Lofthouse. For services to the Prevention of Disability Hate Crime.
- Edyth, Mrs. LOVELL. For services to the community in Northern Ireland.
- Robert LOYNES, Firearms Medical Adviser, Staffordshire. For voluntary service to the Police.
- Ms Elizabeth Anne MacDermott, Grade D, Ministry of Defence.
- Hugh James MacKay, Group Technical Director, Stewart Milne Group. For services to the Timber
- Iain Archibald MacLeod. For services to Stornoway Port Authority and to the community in Stornoway.
- Miss Dionis Maisie MACNAIR, Verderer. For services to the New Forest, Hampshire.
- Ms Nancy Magrath, Principal, Edenderry Nursery School. For services to Education in Northern Ireland.
- Councillor Ernest Mallett, Member, Surrey County Council. For services to Local Government.
- Vithaldas Jeram Mamtora. For voluntary service to Older Asian People in Greater Manchester.

- Paul Marsh, lately Principal Officer, H.M. Prison Canterbury, H.M. Prison Service.
- Catherine Mary, Mrs. Marshall, Assistant Headteacher, Wyvern School, Ashford, Kent. For services to Special Needs Education.
- Pieter Marteau. For services to Oxfam.
- Ms Amanda Martin, Director and General Manager, Park Avenue Hotel. For services to the Tourist Industry in Northern Ireland.
- Janet Frances, Mrs. Martin. For services to the Examinations Officer Association.
- Julia Carol, Mrs. Mason, Customer Services Manager, Customer Services Group, Southampton, Valuation Office Agency.
- Samuel Vernon MATHER. For services to the community in Beeley and Edensor, Derbyshire.
- Ms Karen Mattison, Director, Women Like Us. For services to Social Enterprises.
- David Maurice, Chairman of Governors, Kenmore Park First School and Kenmore Park Middle School, Harrow, London. For voluntary service to Education.
- The Reverend Thomas Veitch MAWHINNEY. For voluntary service to Education in Limavady, Northern Ireland.
- Anthony John Maxse. For charitable services in Hampshire.
- Clive May, Grade E2, Ministry of Defence.
- Mary Elizabeth, Mrs. McAdam. For services to Agriculture in Northern Ireland.
- David McAdam. For services to the community in Dumfries and Galloway.
- Angus McCall. For services to Tenant Farming in Scotland.
- William Kyle McCallan. For services to Cricket in Northern Ireland.
- Mary Kathleen, Mrs. McCarthy. For voluntary service to Charlie's Angels Youth Fund-raising Group, Eton-Wick-Windsor, Berkshire.
- Alison Anne, Mrs. McCaughan. For public service.
- Miss Janet McCheyne. For services to the community in Bulphan, Essex.
- John McCormick. For services to Young People in Northern Ireland.
- Miss Jennifer Ann McDonald. For services to Humanitarian Aid in Bosnia.
- Ms Michelle McDowell, Structural Engineering Director, Building Design Partnership. For services to the Construction Industry.
- Peter Geoffrey McEwen, Secretary, National Union of Maritime, Aviation and Shipping Transport Welfare Funds. For services to the Maritime Industry.
- David Anthony McGuigan, Manager, Longbenton Youth Project, Newcastle-upon-Tyne. For services to Young People.
- Jacqueline, Mrs. McKenna, Director of Nursing and Strategic Planning, Medway NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Healthcare.
- Baron McLean, Executive Officer, Staff Support Network, UK Border Agency, Home Office.
- Alexina Mary McWhinnie. For services to Adoption, Fostering and Assisted Reproduction.
- Audrey Elizabeth, Mrs. MEALINS. For voluntary service to Sufferers of Coeliac Disease in East Wales.
- Ms Sylvia Medland. For services to the General Dental Council.