- David Clifford LOUGHTON, Chief Executive, Royal Wolverhampton Hospitals NHS Trust. For services to Healthcare.
- Ian David Luder, lately Lord Mayor of the City of London. For public service.
- Mary Elizabeth, Mrs. MADDEN. For public service.
- Professor Robert James MAIR, F.R.S., Master of Jesus College and Professor of Geotechnical Engineering, University of Cambridge. For services to Engineering.
- Hew Mathewson, President, General Dental Council. For services to Healthcare.
- Professor Denise Angela McALISTER, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Teaching and Learning, University of Ulster. For services to Higher Education in Northern Ireland.
- William David McWilliam, Superintendent, Merseyside Police. For services to the Police and to Young People.
- David Leonard Moore, lately Her Majesty's Inspector of Education and Assistant Divisional Manager, Ofsted.
- Candy, Mrs. Morris, Chief Executive, NHS South East Coast Strategic Health Authority. For services to Healthcare.
- Diana Lesley, Mrs. Morrison, Headteacher, St. Martinin-the-Fields High School for Girls, Lambeth, London. For services to local and national Education.
- Stephen Thurston Munby, Chief Executive, National College for Leadership of Schools and Children's Services. For services to Education.
- Professor Adrian Charles Newland, Professor of Haematology and Director, Pathology Clinical Academic Unit, Barts and the London NHS Trust. For services to Medicine.
- Dr. William Gerard O'HARE, Chairman, University of Ulster Foundation. For services to Higher Education and to Regeneration in Northern Ireland.
- David Malcolm ORR, Director Corporate Services, Department of Finance and Personnel, Northern Ireland Executive.
- John Scott Perry, Chief Executive, Scottish Enterprise. For services to Business.
- Dr. David PRICE, Chief Executive, Chemring Group plc. For services to the Defence Industry.
- Ms Imelda Redmond, Chief Executive, Carers UK. For services to Disadvantaged People.
- Dr. Sian Eluned Rees, Inspector of Ancient Monuments, Cadw, Welsh Assembly Government.
- Ms Caroline Mary ROOKES, Director, Planning for Retirement and Older People, Department for Work and Pensions.
- Ms Tessa Sarah Ross (Mrs. Scantlebury), Controller of Film and Drama, Channel 4. For services to Broadcasting.
- Alastair Eric Hotson Salvesen. For services to the Arts and to Charity in Scotland.
- Graham Edward Sheffield, Artistic Director, Barbican Centre, London. For services to the Arts.
- Adrian Shooter, Chairman, Chiltern Railway Company Ltd. For services to the Rail Industry.
- Ruth, Mrs. Sims, O.B.E. For voluntary service to Palliative Care in Uganda.
- John Brian Sinnott, Chief Executive, Leicestershire County Council. For services to Local Government.
- Professor Christopher John Skinner, F.B.A., Professor, Southampton Statistical Sciences Research Institute, University of Southampton. For services to Social Science.

- Paul Spencer, lately Chairman, National Savings and Investments. For services to the Financial Services Industry.
- Janice, Mrs. Stevens, National Director, Healthcare Associated Infections Programme, Department of Health. For services to Nursing.
- Professor William James Swindall, O.B.E., Consulting Director, QUILL Centre, Queen's University Belfast. For services to Environmental Science.
- Ms Kathleen Thomas, Principal, Oldham College, Manchester. For services to Further Education.
- Ms Margaret Maud Tyzack, O.B.E., Actress. For services to Drama.
- Professor Karen VOUSDEN, F.R.S., F.R.S.E., Director, Beatson Institute for Cancer Research. For services to Clinical Science.
- Ms Susan Toni Wardell, Director, Middle East, Caribbean, Asia (East, Central) and British Overseas Territories, Department for International Development.
- John David WHITTAKER, Deputy Director, Employment Policy, Cabinet Office.
- Ms Vanessa Wiseman, lately Headteacher, Langdon School and Sports College, Newham, London. For services to Education.
- John Briscoe Wright. For services to the Federation of Small Businesses.
- Professor Michael Wright, D.L., Vice-Chancellor, Canterbury Christ Church University. For services to Higher Education and to the community in Kent.

## ORE

- To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:
- William Abbott, National Security Adviser, Secure Mental Health Services, Department of Health. For services to Healthcare.
- Victor Akers, lately Manager, Arsenal Ladies' Football Team. For services to Sport.
- Professor Alan Alexander, Emeritus Professor of Local and Public Management, University of Strathclyde. For services to Social Science.
- Alexander Beveridge Anderson, D.L., Chairman of Governors, University of Teesside. For services to the community in the North East.
- Deirdre Anne, Mrs. KINLOCH ANDERSON, Director, Kinloch Anderson. For services to the Textile Industry.
- John Huxley Fordyce Anderson. For services to St. Martin-in-the-Fields, London and to the Construction Industry.
- Craig Armstrong. For services to Music.
- Anthony John William ATTARD, Chief Executive, Panaz Ltd. For services to the Textile Industry and to International Trade.
- Sir Nicholas Hickman Ponsonby BACON, Bt., D.L. For services to the community in Norfolk.
- Linda Margaret, Mrs. Costelloe Baker. For public service.
- Stuart Kemp Baker, Deputy Director, National Projects, Rail and National Networks, Department for Transport.
- Dr. Michael Thomas Barlow. For services to Intellectual Property Law.
- Professor Ann Barrett, Professor of Oncology and lately Deputy Head of School, University of East Anglia. For services to Healthcare.