- Wesley Courtney LIVINGSTONE, President, Newry Musical and Orchestral Society. For services to Music and to the community in County Down.
- Mary Constance, Mrs. LLOYD. For services to the community in Rutland.
- Pauline, Mrs. Lockett. For services to the community of Ackworth, West Yorkshire.
- Arthur Clifford LOCKYEAR. For services to the community in Sunderland.
- Ian Douglas Loe, Wildlife Stamp Designer. For services
- Jeffrey Long. For voluntary service to the Royal British Legion.
- Longford, Chiropractor Ronald Hedley Physiotherapist. For services to Animal Welfare.
- Carmel, Mrs. Lyddall, Executive Assistant, Local Government and Regional Policy Team, Department of Health.
- Alexander McKay Lynch. Group Finance Director, David MacBrayne Ltd, Gourock. For services to Transport and Charity in Scotland.
- Ms Ann MacKay, Policy Adviser, English Community Care Association. For services to Social Care.
- Professor Margaret MacLean, Professor of Pulmonary Pharmacology. For services to Science.
- Geraldine, Mrs. MacPhee, Principal Teacher in Home Economics, Clyde Valley High School. For services to Education and to the community in North Lanarkshire.
- Sydney MAIR. For services to Local Government and to the community in Macduff, Aberdeenshire.
- Jean Isabella, Mrs. Malkin. For services to Young People in the Cartmel Peninsula, Cumbria.
- Edna, Mrs. March. For services to the community in Crook, County Durham.
- Kenneth Marsh, Constable, Metropolitan Police Service. For services to the Police and to Boxing in the London Borough of Haringey.
- Michael Thomas Martin. For services to the Voluntary Sector in Reading, Berkshire.
- Stuart Andrew Martin. For services to the community in Ripon, North Yorkshire.
- William Martin, Chairman, H. and J. Martin Ltd. For services to the Construction Industry in Northern
- Philip Mason. For services to Disabled People in Hampshire.
- Ms Valerie Mason (Mrs. Hendry). For services to the British Heart Foundation.
- Hilary, Mrs. Massarella. For voluntary service to Disadvantaged Young People in South Yorkshire.
- George Lewis Mathias. For services to Agriculture.
- Catriona, Mrs. Matthew. For services to Golf.
- Edwin Alexander Maxwell. For services to the New Art Exchange and to the community in Nottingham.
- Denise Jane, Mrs. May, Director of Sport and Assistant Headteacher, Budehaven Community School, Cornwall. For services to Education.
- Leslie Holden McADoo, Chairman, Ballyclare Committee, Macmillan Cancer Support. For charitable services in Northern Ireland.
- Margaret Mary, Mrs. McCluskie, Manager, Major Investigation Team, Identity and Passport Service, Home Office.

- William McCrory. For services to Children with Cancer in Northern Ireland.
- Helen Muir, Mrs. McDonald. For services to the community in Crieff, Perthshire.
- Ken McElroy. For services to the Tourist Industry in Northern Ireland.
- Jean, Mrs. McEwen. For services to the community in Norwich.
- Peter McFall, Janitor, St. Peter's Primary School, Dumbarton, West Dunbartonshire. For services to
- Dr. David Douglas Murray McGavin, Ophthalmologist. For services to Eye Care in Developing Countries.
- Andrew Fraser McKay, Detective Superintendent, Strathclyde Police Force. For services to the Police.
- Ms Annie McKean, Senior Lecturer in Drama, University of Winchester. For services to Higher Education.
- Fiona Mary, Mrs. McLean, Grade C2, Ministry of Defence.
- Terrence McLernon. For services to Table Tennis and to the community in Drumchapel, Glasgow.
- Ms Melanie Justine McLoughlin. For services to the Devon Community Foundation.
- Ivan Lewis McMichael. For services to Journalism in Northern Ireland.
- Dr. Mary Brigeen McNee, General Medical Practitioner, Glasgow. For voluntary service to Cancer Research and to Healthcare in Lourdes.
- Alexander Ian McNeill, Administration Officer, Customer Operations, Thornaby, Cleveland, H.M. Revenue and Customs.
- Marian, Mrs. McNeir. For services to the community in Bath.
- Marjory, Mrs. McQueen. For services to the community in Lockerbie, Dumfries and Galloway.
- Dr. Noel Henri Joseph MEEKE. For voluntary service to Herefordshire Waterworks Museum.
- David Melrose, Chairman, Scottish Prison Officers' Association, Scottish Executive.
- Jean, Mrs. Messenger. For services to the After School Club, Bude, Cornwall.
- Faruk Miah, Programme Manager, Leeds City College. For services to Further Education and to the community in Leeds.
- Moira Sheelagh, Mrs. MICHELMORE. For services to the community in Sidmouth, Devon.
- Elizabeth, Mrs. MILBURN, Chair, West Suffolk College Corporation. For services to Further Education and to the community in Suffolk.
- Frederick Roy MILLAR, Director of Coaching, Irish Football Association. For services to Youth Football in Northern Ireland.
- Ian Duncan Millar. For services to Agriculture in Scotland.
- Patrick MILLARD. For services to the charity Taxhelp for Older People.
- Katherine, Mrs. MILLER, Administrative Officer, Child Support Agency, Department for Work and Pensions.
- Marcia Anne, Mrs. MILLER. For voluntary service to the British Red Cross Society in Cambridgeshire.
- Gerald David MILLS. For services to School Sport in Nottinghamshire.