- Gideon Amos, Chief Executive, Town and Country Planning Association. For services to Sustainable Development.
- Elizabeth, Mrs. Antrobus, Headteacher, Henry Cavendish Primary School, Lambeth, London. For services to Education.
- Professor David Croisdale-Appleby. For public and voluntary service.
- Catherine, Mrs. Archer, lately Executive Director, West Yorkshire Police Authority. For services to the Police.
- Joan, Mrs. Asby, M.B.E. For services to Community Development in West Wales.
- Professor Deborah Ashby, Professor of Medical Statistics and Clinical Trials, Imperial College, London. For services to Medicine.
- Ms Diana ATHILL, Literary Editor and Author. For services to Literature.
- Miss Sarah Ayton, M.B.E., Sailor. For services to Sport. David Bailey, lately Tax Inspector, H.M. Revenue and Customs. For public and voluntary service.
- Martyn Murray Baker, lately Director of Economic Development, City of London Corporation. For services to Local Government.
- For Christopher Band. services Mountaineering and to Charity.
- Dr. Alan Barber. For services to the Environment.
- Lucinda Jane, Mrs. BARNETT, Chairman, Magistrates' Association. For services to the Administration of Justice.
- Victoria, Mrs. Barnsley, Chief Executive, HarperCollins UK. For services to the Publishing Industry.
- Keith Leslie Barwell, lately Chairman, Northamptonshire Development Corporation. For services to Local Government.
- Ms Gillian Rose Beasley, Chief Executive, Peterborough City Council. For services to Local Government.
- David Bell, Senior Programme Manager, Somalia, Department for International Development.
- Catherine Susan, Mrs. BESWICK, Head of Healthcare, H.M. Young Offenders' Institution Huntercombe, Oxfordshire. For services to Healthcare.
- Dr. Anita Kumari Bhalla, D.L., Editor, Public Space Broadcasting BBC. For services to Broadcasting.
- Dr. Kuldip Kaur Bharj, Senior Lecturer in Midwifery and Lead Midwife for Education, School of Healthcare, Leeds University. For services to Healthcare and to the community in Leeds.
- Keith Raymond BLACKWELL, Principal, Esher Sixth Form College, Surrey. For services to local and national Further Education.
- Ms Helene REARDON-BOND, Head of Gender Equality Policy, Government Equalities Office. For public and voluntary service.
- Robert Michael Bowley, lately Project Team Head of Division, Identity and Passport Service, Home Office.
- Ms Caroline Breakey. For services to Rural and Community Development in Northern Ireland.
- Dr. Isabel Bruce, Vice-Chair, University of the West of Scotland. For services to Higher Education in Scotland and Malawi.
- Professor Anthony Applemore Mornington BRYER, Emeritus Professor of Byzantine Studies, University of Birmingham. For services to Scholarship.
- Nicholas Buckland. For services to Technology and Innovation.

- Ian Kellman Bynoe, Commissioner, Independent Police Complaints Commission. For public service.
- John Michael Caines. For services to Entrepreneurship and to Business in the South West.
- Jane, Mrs. CALDWELL, lately Headteacher, Highfield Community Primary School, Sunderland. For services
- Rodney John Calvert, Managing Director, Millbrook Proving Ground. For services to the Automotive Industry.
- Professor Sara Carter. For services to Women Entrepreneurs.
- Ms Joyce Margaret CATTERICK. For services to the Citizens' Advice Bureau and to the community in West Yorkshire.
- Adrian Oswald Wynn CAVE. For services to the community in Ealing, London.
- Dr. James Alan Harvard Cave, General Medical Practitioner, Newbury. For services to Healthcare in Berkshire.
- Professor Martin CAVE, Warwick Business School. For public service.
- Dr. Nadia Chambers, Consultant Nurse for Older People, Southampton University Hospitals NHS Trust. For services to Healthcare.
- Michael Christensen, lately Senior Local Manager, North West and Midlands, H.M. Revenue and
- Jean, Mrs. Combes. For services to Phenology.
- Dr. Diane Coyle. For services to Economics.
- Nicholas Pury Cust, Joint Managing Director, Superbreak plc. For services to the Tourist Industry.
- Ronald Daniel. For voluntary service to Victims of Crime in Scotland.
- Cheryl Linda, Mrs. Danson, Chair, England Netball. For services to Sport.
- Keith James DATCHLER. For services to Conservation and to Environmental Land Management.
- Ms Katherine Ann Davies, Strategic Director, Nottinghamshire County Drug and Alcohol Action Team. For services to Disadvantaged People.
- Dr. Stephen Roger Davis, Lecturer in Psychology, University College London. For services to Children with Communication Difficulties.
- Leslie Dawson. For services to the Energy and Water Industries.
- Alan Edward Deighton, lately Safety Advice Manager, Department for Transport.
- Kelvyn Derrick. For services to Engineering in the South West and to International Trade.
- Uday Kumar Dholakia. For services to Business and to the community in Leicestershire.
- Dr. Rhidian Dowdle, lately Consultant Physician, Cardiology, Cwm Taff NHS Trust. For services to Medicine.
- Geoffrey Drage. For services to Intellectual Property
- Robert Drew, Headteacher, Gearies Infant School, Redbridge, Essex. For services to Education.
- Miss Ann Irene Duddy, Director of Nursing, Altnagelvin Hospital Trust. For services to Healthcare in Northern Ireland and Overseas.
- David Alexander Dunkley, lately Inspector of Salmon and Freshwater Fisheries for Scotland, Scottish Executive.