Ms Vivien Christine Esslemont, Assistant Director, British Council, Mozambique.

Rebecca Dawn, Mrs. FORTUNATO, President, Gibraltar Amateur Swimming Association, and Vice President, Gibraltar Commonwealth Games Association. For services to sport.

Paul William Franklin, Second Secretary, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

Iain Peter McPherson HARDY, Honorary Consul, Valparaiso.

Marguerite Loudon, Mrs. HOPKIN. For services to the British community in France.

Elizabeth Florence, Mrs. Joshua. For services to education and the community, St. Helena and Ascension Island.

Shirley, Mrs. Adams-Leach. For services to musical education, Falkland Islands.

Paul Stuart MILLARD, H.M. Ambassador's driver. For services to the British Embassy in Berne.

Nicholas Michael MILLER, Second Secretary, British Embassy, Bogota.

Samantha Jane, Mrs. Morshed, Founder, Hathay Bunano knitwear company. For services to disadvantaged and vulnerable women and children in Bangladesh.

Ann, Mrs. Munro, Vice Consul, British Embassy, Doha. Ms Alexandra Maria Pearson. For services to victims of the Chinese earthquake in May 2008.

Ian Seabourne, Founder, Operation Breakthrough. For services to tackling juvenile delinquency through sport in Hong Kong.

Miss Layla Kelly SLATTER, lately Third Secretary, British Embassy, Damascus. For services in the Middle East and Afghanistan.

Ms Vanessa Frances Hall-Smith, Director, British Institute of Florence. For services to promoting UK culture in Italy.

Arthur Chesley Trott, Artist and Sculptor. For services to Art in Bermuda.

Anthony Tsui Tin-yau, Director, Croucher Foundation. For services to science and UK/Hong Kong relations.

Alister Stanley Widdowson, lately Senior Teacher, British Council, Burma.

Ms Inga Mary WILLIAMS, Secretary, Links House Senior Citizens Residence. For services to the British community in Argentina.

Christopher John Worthington, Honorary Supervisor, Commonwealth War Graves Commission, Sri Lanka. For services to the memory of the war dead.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London SW1

31 December 2008

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased to approve the award of The Queen's Police Medal for Distinguished Service to the undermentioned:

Queen's Police Medal



O.P.M.

ENGLAND AND WALES

Ms Anita Mary Ashcroft, Constable, Merseyside Police.

Anthony Colin Brett, lately Detective Chief Superintendent, Greater Manchester Police.

Stephen Cahill, Deputy Chief Constable, Home Office. Makhdum Ali Chishty, Superintendent, Warwickshire Police.

Stewart Forrester, Constable, Metropolitan Police Service.

Michael Free, Chief Inspector, Metropolitan Police Service.

Timothy John Godwin, Assistant Commissioner, Metropolitan Police Service.

Susan, Mrs. Handford, Constable, West Midlands Police.

Nicholas Francis KINSELLA, Chief Superintendent, South Yorkshire Police.

Craig Thomas Mackey, Chief Constable, Cumbria Constabulary.

Ian Andrew McPherson, Chief Constable, Norfolk Constabulary.

Graham Meadows, Superintendent, Cleveland Police.

Brian Moore, Chief Constable, Wiltshire Constabulary. Stephen Otter, Chief Constable, Devon and Cornwall Constabulary.

Lynn Gillian, Mrs. OWENS, Temporary Deputy Chief Constable, Surrey Police.

Kevin Michael Price, Chief Superintendent, Gwent Police.

Peter St.Clair-Erskine Loughborough, The Earl of Rosslyn, Commander, Metropolitan Police Service.

Robert Michael SMART, Superintendent, Northamptonshire Police.

SCOTLAND

Daniel McVey Lapsley, Constable, Strathclyde Police. John Lamont Stuart Malcolm, lately Assistant Chief Constable, Strathclyde Police.

George SIMPSON, lately Chief Superintendent, Lothian and Borders Police.

NORTHERN IRELAND

Desmond Peter Austin, lately Chief Inspector, Police Service of Northern Ireland.

Philip Anthony James, Detective Superintendent, Police Service of Northern Ireland.

Ms Christine McCullough, Detective Superintendent, Police Service of Northern Ireland.