- William James Poole. For services to Economic Development in Northern Ireland.
- Elizabeth Brown, Mrs. PORTER, Chief Librarian, South Eastern Education and Library Board. For services to Local Government in Northern Ireland.
- Anis Rahman. For voluntary service to Bangladeshi People.
- Professor Andrew Madan RAMROOP, Savile Row Tailor. For services to Bespoke Tailoring and Training.
- Peter James Rankin, Legal Adviser, Belfast Buildings Preservation Trust. For voluntary service to Heritage in Northern Ireland.
- Timothy Robert Reddish, M.B.E., National Performance Director for Disability Swimming. For services to Sport.
- Dennis Rees, Director, Tenant Participation Advisory Service. For services to Social Housing.
- Professor Graham Charles REES, Professor of English and Drama, Queen Mary University of London. For service to Scholarship.
- Dr. Randal William RICHARDS, lately Chief Executive, Research Councils UK. For services to Science.
- Brigadier Peter Neil Ralli Stewart-Richardson, M.B.E. For services to Humanitarian Aid in Afghanistan and to the Army Benevolent Fund in Norfolk.
- Dr. Geoffrey RIDGWAY. For services to Microbiology.
- Ms Fiona RITCHIE, Learning Disability Adviser, Healthcare Commission. For services to Vulnerable People.
- Ms Hilary RIVA, Chief Executive, British Fashion Council. For services to the Fashion Industry.
- Ms Sarah Elizabeth Robinson, Principal and Chief Executive, Darlington College. For services to Further Education.
- Stephen Rodford, Senior Manager A, H.M. Prison Whitemoor, Cambridgeshire, Ministry of Justice.
- Jacqueline, Mrs. Ronchetti, Principal Private Secretary, Crown Prosecution Service.
- Ms Joanne Roney, Chief Executive, Wakefield City Council. For services to Local Government.
- Marilyn, Mrs. RYDSTROM, lately Director-General, People's Dispensary for Sick Animals. For services to Animal Welfare.
- Ms Gail Josephine SACKLOFF. For services to Fashion Exports.
- Trevor Kenneth Salmon, City Treasurer, Belfast City Council. For services to Local Government.
- Ms Lucy Elizabeth SAYCE, Chief Executive, RADAR. For services to Disabled People.
- Miss Sylvia Diana Scarf. For voluntary service to the Anglican Church and to Guiding in Wales.
- The Reverend Adam Scott, T.D. For public and voluntary service.
- Thomas Scott, Chairman, Greater Shankill Partnership. For services to the community in Northern Ireland.
- Ms Judith Alexandra Anne Serota. For services to the Spitalfields Festival, London.
- Michael Sheen, Actor. For services to Drama.
- Dr. Jonathan Paul Sheffield, Medical Director, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust. For service to the NHS.
- Howard Gordon Shelley, Concert Pianist and Conductor. For services to Classical Music.

- Judith Ann, Mrs. Shelley, lately Headteacher, Rawmarsh Nursery and Children's Centre, Rotherham. For services to Early Years Education.
- Diane Edwina, Mrs. Sherwood, Manager, Optimum Business Model, Crown Prosecution Service.
- Professor David Mark SHUCKSMITH, Professor of Planning, Newcastle University. For services to Rural Development and to Crofting.
- Brian Wentworth SINNAMON, Business Manager, Judicial Services Group, Northern Ireland Court Service, Ministry of Justice. For public and voluntary service.
- Judith, Mrs. Sischy, Director, Scottish Council of Independent Schools. For services to Education and to the Voluntary Sector.
- David SLEEP, Head of Unit, National Strategies Management Team, Schools Directorate, Department for Children, Schools and Families.
- Susan Gwynneth, Mrs. Smith, lately Chair, Local Government Boundary Commission for Wales. For services to Local Government.
- Ms Carole Snee. For services to Urban Regeneration in East London.
- Geoff Snow. For services to the Construction Industry and to Apprenticeships in Wales.
- Ms Boni Patricia Sones. For services to Broadcasting and to the Public Relations Industry.
- Councillor Nicholas Stanton, Leader, London Borough of Southwark. For services to Local Government.
- Alexander Stephen, Chief Executive, Dundee City Council. For services to Local Government.
- Paul Stephenson. For services to Equal Opportunities and to Community Relations in Bristol.
- Neil Laurie Stoddart, Managing Director, A. K. Stoddart Ltd. For services to the Meat Industry in Scotland.
- Sarah Joanne, Mrs. Storey, M.B.E., Cyclist. For services to Disabled Sport.
- Adam Sudday, Vice-Principal, Leicester College. For services to local and national Further Education.
- Ben Jeffrey Peter Summerskill. For services to Equality and Diversity.
- Michele, Mrs. Sutton, Principal, Bradford College. For services to Further Education and to Community Relations.
- Elizabeth Anne, Mrs. Taylor, lately Director, Department for Children Lifelong Learning and Skills, Welsh Assembly Government. For public and voluntary service.
- Hugh Taylor, Chief Executive, Hilmar Hotel Management. For services to the Tourist and Hospitality Industries.
- Ian George Taylor, District Manager Glasgow, Jobcentre Plus, Department for Work and Pensions.
- Thomas Thomson, lately Chairman, Royal Scottish National Orchestra. For services to Music.
- Clifford Christoffel Todd, Grade B1, Ministry of Defence.
- Ms Valerie Gladys VAMPLEW, Deputy Operations Director, H.M. Revenue and Customs.
- Miss Jennifer Rowan VAN TINTEREN, Team Leader, Accessibility Solutions Team, Department for Work and Pensions.
- Arnold Roy Vandermeer. For voluntary service to the community in Hertfordshire.