- Janet, Mrs. Wales, Study Support Manager, Runshaw College. For services to Special Needs Further Education and to the community in Preston, Lancashire.
- Eric WALKER. For voluntary service to the Wey and Arun Canal.
- Richard Edward WALKER, Acting Sergeant, Police Service of Northern Ireland. For services to the Police.
- Jennifer, Mrs. WALLACE, Co-ordinator, Central England, Women's Royal Volunteer Service. For services to the community in the West Midlands.
- Edwin John Walsh. For services to the community in Blackburn, Lancashire.
- Marian, Mrs. WALTERS, lately School Secretary, Kempsey Primary School, Worcester and Clerk to the Governors, Kingfisher School, Redditch. For services to Education and to the Arts.
- Dr. Anthony Edward WARN. For services to the Water Industry.
- Don Warrington, Actor. For services to Drama.
- The Reverend Hilary Odette WATKINS. For voluntary service to the Citizen's Advice Bureau and to the community in the South West.
- Roy Victor Watkinson, lately Hazardous Waste Policy Manager, Environment Agency. For public service.
- Rodney James Watson, Managing Director, Killyhevlin Hotel. For services to the Tourist Industry in Northern Ireland.
- Herbert Ronald Watts. For voluntary service to Horticulture.
- Frederick Richard Webb. For voluntary service to the Scouts in Middlesex.
- Kitty Elaine Joan, Mrs. Webber, Volunteer Ambulance Hospital Driver. For services to the community in Devon.
- Leslie Webber. For voluntary service to Angling and to Young People.
- Catherine, Mrs. Wegwermer, Principal, St. Joseph's Primary School, Crumlin. For services to Education in Northern Ireland.
- Elizabeth Isabella, Mrs. Weir, Field Officer, Rural Support. For services to Farmers and to the community in Northern Ireland.
- Ms Wendy Wells. For services to the community in Sheffield, South Yorkshire.
- Ms Paulette West. For services to Banking and to Business for Black and Minority Ethnic People.
- Miss Judith Ann WESTACOTT. For services to the community in Totnes, Devon.
- Alex Alphonso Wheatle, Writer. For services to Literature.
- William Charles WHEATLEY. For voluntary service to the community in Beeston, Nottinghamshire.
- Colin John Wheeler, Chief Executive, Licensed Trade Charity. For services to the Voluntary Sector.
- Derek Wheeler. For voluntary service to Heritage in Hitchin, Hertfordshire.

- Charles David White. For voluntary service to the Royal Naval Association.
- Patricia, Mrs. White, Member, Technical Support Team, Department of Oncology, Queen's University, Belfast. For services to Biomedical Research.
- Doris Irene, Mrs. Whiting. For voluntary service to the community in Trowbridge, Wiltshire.
- Jim Wiles. For voluntary service to the community in Newport Pagnell, Buckinghamshire.
- Sheila, Mrs. Wiles. For voluntary service to the community in Newport Pagnell, Buckinghamshire.
- Margaret Ann, Mrs. WILKINSON, Head of Projects, Neighbourhood Initiatives Foundation. For services to Town and Country Planning.
- Susan Mary, Mrs. WILKINSON, Librarian, HM Prison Birmingham. For services to Reading and Literacy.
- Barbara, Mrs. WILLIAMS. For services to the communities in Deal and Walmer, Kent.
- The Reverend Diane Patricia WILLIAMS, Chaplain, University of Edinburgh. For services to Higher Education.
- Dr. John Hugh WILLIAMS, lately Head of Heritage Conservation, Kent County Council. For services to Local Government.
- Alexander Maybin Wilson, Chairman, Broughshane and District Community Association. For services to the community in Northern Ireland.
- Miss April Geraldine Wilson. For charitable services to the community in Sheringham, Norfolk.
- Colin Gordon John Wilson, Chair, Portishead and Bristol Lifeboat Trust. For voluntary service to Maritime Safety.
- Miss Gillian Mary WILSON. For charitable services to the community in Sheringham, Norfolk.
- Robert Henry Wilson, Conductor and Musical Director, Donaghadee Male Voice Choir. For voluntary service to Music in Northern Ireland.
- Sheila Scott, Mrs. Anderson-Witty, lately Head of Communications, Natural Environment Research Council. For services to Science.
- Patrick Hugh Mackenzie Smyth Wood, Chair, Harpenden Branch, Royal National Lifeboat Institution. For voluntary service to Maritime Safety.
- Ronald James Woollacott. For services to the community in the London Borough of Southwark.
- Miss Jane Woolley. For voluntary service to the community in Hambledon, Surrey.
- Commander Michael William Worrall, Royal Navy (Retd), Grade C2, Ministry of Defence.
- Neil Francis WRAGG, Chief Executive, Youth at Risk UK. For services to Young People.
- Robert John Wright, Coxswain, Royal National Lifeboat Institution, Pwllheli. For voluntary service to Maritime Safety.
- Alice Elizabeth Primrose, Mrs. Wyborn. For services to People with Eczema.
- Hai Shuet YEUNG, Artist. For services to Chinese Art and to the community in North East Lincolnshire.
- Ian Macrae Young, lately Director of International Development, NHS Scotland. For services to Healthcare.
- Morris Young, Senior Officer, Audit Service, E-Commerce and International Team Leader, HM Revenue and Customs.