- Vincent JACK, Headteacher, Willowbank School, North Lanarkshire. For services to Education.
- Ken James, lately Chief Executive Officer, Chartered Institute of Purchasing and Supply. For public service.
- Dr. Susan Ann Jebb, Head of Nutrition and Health, Medical Research Council Human Nutrition Research Unit, Cambridge. For services to Public Health.
- Dr. Anthony Michael JENNER, Deputy Chief Dental Officer, Department of Health.
- James Johnson, Deputy Head of Banking Operations, HM Revenue and Customs.
- Arthur Anthony Joiner, J.P., lately Chair, Bristol Magistrates' Bench. For services to the Administration of Justice.
- Andrew Vincent Kelly, lately Grade B1, Ministry of Defence.
- Professor Richard Donovan Kenway, F.R.S.E., Vice-Principal, High Performance Computing and e-Science and Tait Professor of Mathematical Physics, University of Edinburgh. For services to Science.
- Peter Kershaw, Head of Upstream Infrastructure and Median Line Fields, Department for Business, Enterprise and Regulatory Reform.
- Raymond Kiddell, Vice-President, Football Association and Founder of Football in the Community. For services to Sport and to the community in Norfolk.
- Dr. James Kerr Kirkwood. For services to Animal Welfare.
- Miss Margaret Elizabeth Knights, Policy and External Communications PAYE, HM Revenue and Customs.
- Ms Joyce Laing. For services to the Arts in Fife.
- Elaine, Mrs. LAKEN, Justices Clerk for Bath, North Avon and Mendip, Her Majesty's Courts Service.
- Michael Phillip LARGE. For services to Business and to the community in the East of England.
- Professor Gloria LAYCOCK, Director, Jill Dando Institute of Crime Science, University College London. For services to Crime Policy.
- Deborah, Mrs. LEARY, Founder, Forensic Pathways Ltd. For services to Entrepreneurship and to the community in Staffordshire.
- Elizabeth Jane, Mrs. Lewington, Chief Executive, North East Lincolnshire Care Trust Plus. For services to Social Care.
- Elizabeth Mary Margaret, Mrs. Liddell, Chief Executive, Aparna Charitable Trust (UK). For services to Social Care in India.
- Anthony William LILLEY, Chief Creative Officer, Magic Lantern Productions. For services to Media and Creative Industries.
- Brian LISTER, Principal, Cumbernauld College. For services to Further Education and to the communities in Lanarkshire and Dunbartonshire.
- David John LIVERMORE. For services to People with Hearing Difficulties and to the Newbury Spring Festival in Berkshire.
- David James Duncan LIVINGSTONE, Chairman, The Clyde Group. For services to Maritime Training, Shipping Industry and to the community in Glasgow.
- Evelyn, Lady LLOYD (Eve Pollard). For services to Journalism and to Broadcasting.
- Peter Lobban, Chief Executive, CITB-ConstructionSkills. For services to Further Education, Skills and Training.

- Professor George Gordon Lunt, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Bath. For services to Higher Education.
- Christopher John MacGowan, lately Chief Executive, Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders. For services to the Automotive Industry.
- Patrick John Machray, Chair, Scottish Enterprise Grampian. For services to the Economy and to Charity in North East Scotland.
- Ms Mary MacLeod, Chief Executive, Family and Parenting Institute. For voluntary and public service.
- Dr. Edward Major, lately Clinical Director, Intensive Therapy Unit, Swansea. For services to the NHS.
- Rosemary, Mrs. Manning. For voluntary service to the community in Knowle West, Bristol.
- Geoffrey Conway Marks. For services to Golf.
- McCosh Chief Keith Marshall, Executive, SummitSkills. For services to Skills Training in the Building Services Industry.
- Gordon Grier Thomson MASTERTON, Vice-President, Environment Business Centre, Jacobs Engineering Group Inc. For services to Civil Engineering in Scotland.
- Ms Carolyn McCall, Chief Executive, Guardian Media Group plc. For services to Women in Business.
- Professor Robert John McClelland, Consultant Psychiatrist, Belfast City Hospital and Emeritus Professor of Mental Health, Queen's University Belfast. For services to Medicine.
- Alan Moore McCulla, Chief Executive, Anglo-North Irish Fish Producers' Organisation. For services to the Fishing Industry and to the community in Northern
- Hamish George McDonald. For public and voluntary service to Maritime Safety.
- Ciaran Michael McGuigan, Head of Examinations and Assessment, National Policing Improvement Agency.
- Catherine, Mrs. McKeever, Quality Director. Bombardier Aerospace, Belfast. For services to Industry in Northern Ireland.
- Miss Carmel McKinney, Principal, Vere Foster Primary School. For services to Education in Northern Ireland. Ms Janet McTeer, Actor. For services to Drama.
- Dr. Azra Meadows. For services to UK and International Community Relations.
- Trevor John MILLINGTON, Senior Lawyer, Revenue and Customs Prosecutions Office.
- Merron, Mrs. MITCHELL, Director of Offender Learning, City College Manchester. For services to Education and Skills.
- Dr. Abdalla Yassin Mohamed. For services to Community Relations in Wales.
- Dr. Julia Kay Moore, Consultant Anaesthetist, Wirral Hospital Trust and Senior Medical Officer, Strategic Medical Workforce Issues. For services to Medicine and to the community in Merseyside.
- Ms Judith Helen Moorhouse, Chair, General Teaching Council for England. For services to Education.
- Professor Anne Moran, Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Ulster. For services to Higher Education in Northern Ireland.
- Colin Steel Morgan, Managing Director, Ethicon. For services to the Medical Devices Industry.
- Frederick David Morgan, lately Chair, England and Wales Cricket Board. For services to Cricket.