- Andrew Keddie, lately Chair, Scottish Police Conveners' Forum. For public service.
- Sheila, Mrs. Kelly, Executive Director, The Proprietary Association of Great Britain. For services to the Pharmaceutical Industry.
- David John Kendall, Principal, Derwen Independent Specialist College, Shropshire. For services to Special Needs Further Education.
- Patricia Cecilia, Mrs. Kennedy, Headteacher, St. Mark's Primary School, Barrhead, East Renfrewshire. For services to Education.
- Professor Lou Kushnick, lately Honorary Professorial Fellow in Race Relations, University of Manchester. For services to the community and to Higher
- Dr. Maeve Kyle, Chair, Coaching Northern Ireland. For services to Athletics.
- Andrew Lake, Grade B1, Ministry of Defence.
- Dr. David Leighton, lately Headteacher, Llanfyllin High School. For services to Education in Wales.
- Ms Kathleen Amy Lemaire, Chief Executive, School Library Association. For services to Education.
- Dr. Alan Charles Richard LENNON, lately Chair, Council for Curriculum, Examinations and Assessment. For services to Education in Northern Ireland.
- Ms Penelope Ann Letts. For services to Vulnerable
- Paul LINCOLN, Chief Executive, National Heart Forum for Coronary Heart Disease Prevention (UK). For services to Healthcare.
- Paul Michael LINCOLN, Senior Civil Servant, Ministry of Defence.
- Patrick LITTLEJOHN. For services to Mountaineering.
- Doreen Wilson, Mrs. Lofthouse, M.B.E., Chairman, Lofthouse of Fleetwood Ltd. For services to Business and to the community in Lancashire.
- Ms Alison Logan. For services to Community Relations. Jon LORD, Head, Community Housing Services, Bolton City Council. For services to Social Housing.
- Desmond Michael Lynam, Sports Commentator and Broadcaster. For services to Sport.
- William Roderick MACDONALD, Chief Executive, British Racing School. For services to the Horse Racing Industry and to Disadvantaged Young People.
- Alastair Jesse Head MacNish, lately Chair, Accounts Commission for Scotland. For services to Local Government.
- Stephen Maddox, Chief Executive, Wirral Borough Council. For services to Local Government.
- Jean Catherine Manson, Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathy Division and Neuropathogenesis Unit, Roslin Institute. For services to Science.
- Michele Marie, Mrs. MARKEN, Principal, St Joseph's College, Belfast. For services to Education.
- Professor Elaine Barbara Martin, Professor in Industrial Statistics, University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne. For services to Science.
- Nigel Jamie Martin, Managing Partner, Ward Hadaway. For services to business in the North East.
- Miss Diana Mason. For services to Equestrian Sport.
- Ms Heather Rose Maxwell, Principal, South Devon College. For services to Further Education.
- Colin McAllister, Head of Division in Detection, North Region, H.M. Revenue and Customs.

- Robert Duncan McCausland. For public service.
- Dr. Philip Gordon McClements, Chief Medical Adviser, Northern Ireland Prison Service. For services to Healthcare.
- Ms Alison Mary McDonald, Senior Manager, Processing Directorate, Portsmouth, H.M. Revenue and Customs.
- Anthony McGann, M.B.E. For services to the community in the Vauxhall and Kirkdale Districts of
- Lucian Joseph John McGrath, Executive Director, Mines Advisory Group. For services to Mine
- Bernard McGuigan, Head of Estate Management, Northern Ireland Office.
- Ms Karen Millen, Co-Founder, Karen Millen. For services to the Retail Industry.
- Ms Kylie Ann Minogue, Singer. For services to Music. Miss Jeanne Monckton, lately Headteacher, Watling
- Street Primary School, Walsall. For services to Education.
- Stephen Hugh Morgan, Chief Executive, Autism Cymru. For services to People with Autism.
- Professor Treen Carson Michael Morris, Consultant Haematologist, Belfast City Hospital. For services to Medicine in Northern Ireland.
- Dr. Peter Michael NEUMANN, Tutor in Mathematics, Queen's College, Oxford, and lately Chair, UK Mathematics Trust. For services to Education.
- Penelope Ann, Mrs. NEWMAN, Chief Executive Officer, Cafédirect. For services to Ethical Business.
- Ms Esther Maria O'CALLAGHAN, Entrepreneur and Chair, Young People's Fund, Big Lottery Fund. For services to the Voluntary Sector.
- Miss Grace Chidozie Ononiwu, Chief Crown Prosecutor, Northamptonshire.
- Jean, Mrs. Orridge, Headteacher, High Clarence Primary School, Stockton-on-Tees. For services to Education.
- David Robert Parker, Director, Information and Secretariat, Commonwealth War Graves Commission. For public service.
- Stephen Robert Parnaby, Leader, East Riding of Yorkshire Council. For services to Local Government.
- Maurice Patterson, Head, Eastern Regional Office, Invest NI, Northern Ireland Executive.
- Richard Pearson, J.P., lately Chair, British Institute of Innkeeping. For services to the Hospitality Industry.
- David Alan Peat, Chief Executive, East Lancashire Primary Care Trust. For services to the NHS.
- Sue, Mrs. PINDER, Principal, West Lothian College. For services to Lifelong Learning in Scotland.
- Frank Christopher Price. For services to Engineering.
- Michael John Radford. For services to Animal Welfare Law.
- Dr. Chennakesavalu Rajagopal, lately Civilian Medical Practitioner, Ministry of Defence.
- Stephen Ramsden, Chief Executive, Luton and Dunstable NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Healthcare.
- Mohammed Shahid Raza. For services to the Muslim community in Leicester.
- Philip Howard REED, Director, Churchill Museum and Cabinet War Rooms. For services to Museums.
- Reed, lately Belfast Commissioner. For services to the Maritime Industry.