David SUTHERLAND, Chair, The Tulloch Group. For services to Business and to Charity in Scotland.

Ms Judette Tapper, Headteacher, Stockwell Park High School, Lambeth, London. For services to Education.

Ms Ila Dianne Thompson, Chief Executive, Camelot Group plc. For services to Business.

Peter William Gregory Tom. For services to Business and to Sport in Leicestershire.

Brigadier Ian Glen Townsend, Director-General, Royal British Legion. For services to Ex-service Men and Women.

Ms Marianne De Trey, Potter. For services to the Arts. Douglas John Ward, Managing Director, Argent Group, Europe. For services to Agriculture in Scotland.

Philip Stuart Watson, Chief Executive, Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council. For services to Local Government.

Ms Rachel Whiteread, Sculptor. For services to Art. Myles Wickstead, Head of Secretariat, Commission for Africa, Department for International Development.

Order of the British Empire



(Civil Division)

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Robert Arthur (Roy) Adams, Executive Director, Laing O'Rourke. For services to Economic Development and Community Relations in North Belfast.

Nadra, Mrs. Ahmed, Chair, National Care Homes Association. For services to Social Care.

Dr. Dennis John Alexander, lately Head, Virology Department, Veterinary Laboratories Agency.

John Douglas Allan, Sheriff, Lothian and Borders. For services to the Administration of Justice.

Christopher Austin, lately Executive Director, Community Rail Development, Strategic Rail Authority and Chair, West Somerset Railway Company. For services to Passenger Transport.

The Right Reverend John Michael Austin, lately Bishop of Aston, Birmingham. For services to Inter-faith Relations.

Tim Austin. For services to Business and to the community in Hampshire.

Philippa Lucy, Mrs. Foster Back, Non-Executive Director, Defence Management Board and Chair, Defence Audit Committee. For services to the Defence Industry.

Ms Gillian Elaine BAKER, Inspector, West Midlands Police. For services to the Police.

Jenifer Anne Cooper, Mrs. Baker, lately Head of Volunteering and Community Involvement, National Trust. For services to Heritage.

Carole, Lady BAMFORD, Vice-Chair, FULL STOP Campaign, NSPCC and President, Mid-Staffordshire NSPCC Branch. For services to Children and Families.

John Alfred Barker. For services to the Corporation and City of London.

Alan John Bates, Chair, Chatham Historic Dockyards Volunteer Service. For services to Heritage.

Peter James Samuel BATES, Chair, NHS Tayside. For services to Social Work and to the NHS in Tayside.

Ms Frances Mary BECKETT, Chief Executive, Church Urban Fund and Chair, Home Office Advisory Group on the Voluntary and Community Sector. For services to Disadvantaged People.

Ronald Bell, Specialist Inspector, Health and Safety Executive.

Elinor Bennett, Harpist. For services to Music in Wales. Sanjeev Bhaskar, Actor and Writer. For services to Entertainment.

Dr. Manju Bhavnani, Consultant Haematologist, Wrightington, Wigan and Leigh NHS Trust. For services to Medicine.

Roy William BISHOP, Q.F.S.M., Deputy Commissioner, London Fire and Emergency Planning Authority. For services to the Fire Service and to the people of London.

Heston Blumenthal, Chef and Restaurant Proprietor. For services to the Hospitality Industry.

Ozwald Boateng, Tailor. For services to the Clothing Industry.

Ms Wendy BOURTON, Chief Executive, Care and Repair Cymru. For services to the community in Wales.

Ms Rebecca Margaret Bower, Head of Finance, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew. For services to Horticulture.

John Frederick Bowley, lately Director of Corporate Services, Assembly Parliamentary Service, National Assembly for Wales.

Nicholas Patrick Bracken, Detective Chief Superintendent, British Transport Police. For services to the Police.

Professor Julia Ruth Briggs, Professor of English and Women's Studies, De Montfort University. For services to Education.

Professor John Brindley, Governor, York St. John College. For services to Higher Education.

Tom Brock, Chief Executive, Scottish Seabird Centre. For services to the Tourist Industry.

Dr. Ian Brown, Chair, Pesticide Residues Committee. For service to Food Safety.

Margery McLennan, Mrs. Browning, lately Acting H.M. Chief Inspector of Education, Scottish Executive.

William Henry Buckley, Director for Operator Licensing, Vehicle and Operator Services Agency.

Dr. Margaret Yvonne Busby. For services to Literature and to Publishing.

Ken CALDWELL, Director, International Operations, Save the Children (UK). For services to Children and Families.

John Kevin Laurence CANAVAN, lately Resources Director, Resources Directorate, Child Support Agency, Northern Ireland Executive.

Alfred CARR, Director-General, British Frozen Food Federation. For services to the Food Industry.

Dr. Peter John Carter, Chief Executive, Central and North West London Mental Health NHS Trust. For services to the NHS.