- Lily, Mrs. Reid. For services to the community in Bury, Greater Manchester.
- David John RENDALL. For services to Disabled People and to the community in Devon.
- Anthony RICHARDS, J.P. For services to the Millennium Centre and to the community in St. Helens, Lancashire.
- Colin John RICHARDS, Conservation Officer, South Shropshire District Council. For services to Local Government.
- Margaret Rose, Mrs. RICHARDSON. For services to the community in North Tyneside.
- Councillor Brian Dean RIGBY, Chair of Governors, West Trafford Learning Partnership, Trafford. For services to Education.
- Carol Anne, Mrs. Hughes-Roberts. For services to Cancer Care and to the community in North West
- Margaret Mary, Mrs. ROBERTS. For services to the Water Industry in the South West.
- Norman James Alexander ROBERTSON. For services to the community in Dundee.
- Barry Robinson, Chief Examiner and Past President of OPERC. For services to Health and Safety in Quarries.
- Gerald Robinson. For services to the communities in Staffordshire and Cheshire.
- Ronald Gilbert Robinson, Auxiliary Coastguard, Hoylake Coastguard Rescue Team. For services to Maritime Safety.
- Ms Veronica Robinson. For services to Animal Welfare. Francis Patrick Rocks, Health Service Manager, Mid-Ulster. For services to the community in Northern Ireland.
- Rita, Mrs. Rogers. For services to the community in Melton Constable, Norfolk.
- Rachael RONCHETTI, Operations Manager, Fairbridge Charity, Tyne and Wear. For services to Disadvantaged Young People.
- Florence Maud, Mrs. Rose. For services to the community in Wellington, Shropshire.
- Janice, Mrs. Ross. For services to the communities in Dulverton and Exmoor, Somerset.
- Maureen, Mrs. Ross, Chair, Seaboard Memorial Hall, Tain. For services to the community in Ross-shire.
- Nancie Elizabeth, Mrs. Ross. For services to the community in Flackwell Heath, Buckinghamshire.
- Wendy, Mrs. Ross, IT Trainer and Knowledge Management Administrator. For services to the Royal Berkshire Fire and Rescue Service.
- Peter Anthony Rowe, Director-General, Institute of Credit Management. For services to Business.
- Kathleen, Mrs. Rowson. For services to the community in Greater Manchester.
- Mohammed Sabir. For charitable services in West Yorkshire.
- Elena, Mrs. Salvoni, Restaurateur and Manager, Elena's L'Etoile. For services to the Hospitality Industry.
- Ms Tanya Samuel, Chair, South Kilburn New Deal for Communities Board. For services to the community in South Kilburn, London.
- Malcolm Edward SANDERS. Chief Executive and Chair. SCT UK Ltd. For services to Business in Wales.

- Peter Richard Sanders, Group Station Manager, London Underground. For services to Public Transport in London.
- Robert Leslie Sandling. For services to Shire Horses and to the community in Cornwall.
- Lily, Mrs. Sansam. For services to Deaf People in Hull.
- Angela Antonia, Mrs. Scarisbrick, Practice Educator for Advanced Nursing Practice, Great Ormond Street Hospital. For services to Healthcare.
- Keith Lewis Scott. For services to the community in York.
- Paul Frederick Scriven. For services to the community in Frostenden and to Heritage in Suffolk.
- Athenson Warren SEALES, Operational Support Grade, H.M. Prison Long Lartin, Worcestershire.
- Dr. Sheila Sedgwick. For services to the community in Ballater, Deeside.
- Miss Betty Sharp. For services to the community in Wentworth, South Yorkshire.
- Harold Sharpe, Head Coach, Special Needs Unit Gymnasts. For services to Disabled Sport.
- James Paul Shaw, Councillor and Deputy Provost, East Renfrewshire Council. For services to Local Government.
- Roy Peter SHORE. For services to Scouting in Bristol and to the Friendship Medical Clinic in Nepal.
- Margaret Jane, Mrs. Shuttleworth. For services to the Friends of Dumfries Prison.
- Diana Rae, Mrs. SIMPSON. For services to the Royal Mail and to the Macmillan Cancer Relief Trust.
- Jean, Mrs. Sinton. For services to the community in Coln St. Aldwyns, Gloucestershire.
- Dr. Teoman Necati Sirri, General Medical Practitioner. For services to Healthcare and to Greek and Turkish Cypriot People in London.
- Ralph Sixsmith, Chair, Dearne Valley Venture. For services to Young People in South Yorkshire.
- Miss Mabel Slater, Director of Professions Complementary to Dentistry, Guy's, King's and St. Thomas' NHS Trust. For services to Dental Health.
- Ruth Constance, Mrs. SMALL. For services to Disabled Sport.
- Anne Catherine, Mrs. Smith, Leader, Conservative Group, Sheffield City Council. For services to Local Government.
- Beryl, Mrs. Smith. For services to the community in Brandon, Warwickshire.
- David Leonard SMITH, J.P. For services to the community in Oxford.
- Derek Duncan Smith. For services to Disabled People in Rutland.
- Dr. Francis Mark Smith. For services to the community in East Manchester.
- George Maxwell Smith. For services to the community in Strathnairn, Inverness.
- Ms Jean Jillian Smith, Project Manager, Nilaari Agency, Bristol. For services to People who Misuse Drugs, especially those from the Black and Minority communities.
- Norman Alan Smith, Handyman, Haxby Road Primary School, York. For services to Education.
- Patricia Gloria. Mrs. Smith, Executive Officer, Jobcentre Plus.