- Dr. Alan SYKES, lately Her Majesty's Inspector and Assistant Divisional Manager, Research Analysis and International Division, Office for Standards in Education.
- James Bradley TAYLOR, Chief Executive, Northern Lighthouse Board. For services to the Maritime Industry.
- Helen Margaret, Mrs. TAYLOR-THOMPSON, M.B.E. For services to Health and Welfare in the UK and Africa.
- Keith William Oram THOMSON, lately Chief Executive, North West Wales NHS Trust. For services to the NHS in Wales.
- John THORLEY, Chief Executive, National Sheep Association. For services to Sheep Farming.
- The Most Venerable Medagama VAJIRAGNANA, Head, London Buddhist Vihara. For services to Inter-faith Relations.
- Michael Paul VAUGHAN, England Cricket Captain. For services to Cricket.
- Meredith VIVIAN, Head of Patient Public Involvement, Department of Health.
- David Francis WALKER, Chair, British Potato Council. For services to Agriculture.
- Professor Alan George WALLER, Visiting Professor, International Supply Chain Management, Cranfield University and President, Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport. For services to Logistics.
- Graham John WALTERS. For services to Business and to the community in South Wales.
- Dr. Unni Krishna Kundukalangara WARIYAR, Consultant Neonatal Paediatrician, Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle-upon-Tyne. For services to Medicine.
- Suzanne Elizabeth, Lady WARNER. For services to Plant Conservation.
- Clive WARREN, lately Head of Overseas Territories Department, Department for International Development.
- Owen WATKIN, Chief Executive, Ceredigion County Council. For services to Local Government in Wales.
- Michael John WEAR, Chair, Vehicle Crime Reduction Action Team. For public service.
- Jeffrey James WEST, lately Policy Director, English Heritage. For services to the Historic Environment.
- Peter Robert WHITE, lately Secretary, Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales. For services to Heritage.
- Stephen WHITTLE, lately Controller, Editorial Policy, BBC. For services to Broadcasting.
- Alastair Walter WILSON, Consultant, Accident and Emergency, Royal London Hospital. For services to Medicine.
- Kim WINSER, Chief Executive, Pringle of Scotland. For services to the Textiles Industry.
- Ms Jeanette WINTERSON, Writer. For services to Literature.
- Ms Sally Anne WITCHER, Chair, Disability Employment Advisory Committee. For services to Disabled People.
- Kathleen Audrey, Lady WOOD. For services to Conservation in Oxfordshire.
- Professor Ashley WOODCOCK, Professor of Respiratory Medicine, University of Manchester. For services to the Montreal Protocol.
- Clive Alan WOOLF, Solicitor. For services to the Privy Council.
- Peter John WORKMAN. For services to the International Festival of the Sea.

- Dr. Christopher John WRIGHT, lately Head, Western Manuscripts, British Library. For services to Scholarship.
- John Mitchel WYLIE, Chief Executive, Ulster Supported Employment Limited. For services to Disabled People.
- Graham WYNN, Director, TTC 2000. For services to Road Safety.
- Alan YAU, Restaurateur. For services to the Hospitality Industry.
- Dr. Hosney Mohammed Ahmed Ali YOSEF, Senior Consultant Clinical Oncologist. For services to Medicine in the West of Scotland.
- Rosemary Sarah, Mrs. MACHEN-YOUNG, Director, My Hotels (Nairn) Ltd. For services to Welfare to Work and to the Hospitality Industry in the Highlands.
- Patrick Chung Yin Yu, Executive Director, Northern Ireland Council for Ethnic Minorities. For services to Community Relations.
- Christopher YULE, lately Chief Crown Prosecutor, Suffolk, Crown Prosecution Service.
- Michael Norman ZARRAGA, lately Headteacher, St. Thomas More School, Gateshead, Tyne and Wear. For services to Education.
- Professor Timothy David van ZWANENBERG, Professor, Postgraduate General Practice and Director, Postgraduate General Practice Education, University of Newcastleupon-Tyne. For services to Healthcare.

M.B.E.

- To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:
- Robert Peter ACKROYD, Director-General, National Wood Textile Export Corporation. For services to the Textile Industry.
- John ADAMS, Head, Correspondence and Enquiry Unit, H.M. Treasury.
- Valerie Lawson, Mrs. ADAMSON. For services to the community in Oxted, Surrey.
- Roger James ADSHEAD, Chief Executive Director, Framlingham Farmers Ltd. For services to Agriculture.
- Aosaf AFZAL, Science Communication Manager, Royal Society. For services to Science.
- Dr. Hussain AHMED, Training Adviser, Halton College, Warrington, Cheshire. For services to Further Education in the UK and Overseas.
- Edna May, Mrs. AINGE. For services to Disabled People in the Isle of Man.
- Patrick Kenneth STIRLING-AIRD, Secretary, Scottish Raptor Study Groups. For services to Wildlife Conservation.
- Francis Royston ALLEN, Chair, Llanelli Disabled Access Group. For services to Disabled People in South Wales.
- John ALLEN. For services to the community in Wednesbury, West Midlands.
- Christopher John Allison, Commander, Metropolitan Police Service. For services to the Police.
- Leslie Henry AMES, Member, Weymouth Borough Council. For services to the community in Dorset.
- Maureen Elizabeth, Mrs. ANDERSON, Assistant Assurance Officer, H.M. Revenue and Customs.
- Dr. Khalid ANIS, Assistant Head of Salaried Dental Services, Rochdale Primary Care Trust, Rochdale NHS Dental Access Centre. For services to Dentistry.