- Hugh Gray AITKEN, Vice-President of Operations, Sun Microsystems. For services to the Scottish Electronics Industry and to Charity.
- William John ALEXANDER, Chief Executive, RWE Thames Water plc. For services to the Water Industry.
- Jeremy David Bruce Anderson, Deputy-Chair, National Employment Panel and Chair, Performance Committee. For services to the Department for Work and Pensions and to Industry.
- John Astbury, Director of Operations, Maritime and Coastguard Agency.
- Anthony Attwood, Assistant Director, Avoidance Intelligence Strategy, Inland Revenue.
- Michael John Bailey, lately Director of Human Resources and Workplace Services, Office of the Deputy Prime Minister.
- Dr. Christina Ann Baxter, Chair, House of Laity, General Synod. For services to the Church of England.
- Ms Marian Patricia BELL, External Member, Bank of England Monetary Policy Committee. For services to Macroeconomic Policy and Economics.
- Tim Bevan, Co-Chair, Working Title Films. For services to the British Film Industry.
- Professor Adrian Peter BIRD, Buchanan Professor of Genetics, University of Edinburgh. For services to Science.
- Gordon Leslie Black, Chair, Peter Black Holdings plc. For services to Business and to Charity in West Yorkshire.
- William Andrew Murray BOYD, Writer. For services to Literature.
- Professor Jonathan Bradshaw, Professor of Social Policy, University of York. For services to Child
- Ms Alison Jane BrimeLow. For services to Intellectual Property Law.
- Arnold Julian Butler, Director, Office of Government Commerce.
- William Geoffrey BYATT, Head, Tribunal and Inquiries Unit, Ministry of Defence.
- Sokari, Mrs. Douglas Camp, Sculptor. For services to Art.
- Patricia Mavis, Mrs. CAMPBELL, Headteacher, Town Field Primary School, Doncaster. For services to Education.
- Robert David Stewart CAMPBELL. For Political and Public service.
- Dr. David John Collins, Principal, South Cheshire College, Crewe. For services to Further Education.
- Leonard Warren Cook, National Statistician and Registrar General of England and Wales.
- Basil Lewis D'OLIVEIRA, O.B.E. For services to Sport.
- Christine, Mrs. Davies, Director of Education and Culture, Telford and Wrekin Local Education Authority. For services to Education.
- Alastair Cox Dempster, Chair, sportscotland. For services to Sport in Scotland.
- Michael George Tufnell Dickson, Chair, Buro Happold and Vice-President, Institution of Structural Engineers. For services to Engineering.

- Timothy David Dobbin, Chief Executive, United Dairy Farmers Ltd and Chair, Confederation of British Industry, Northern Ireland. For services to Agri-Food and Packaging Industries.
- Rita Margaret, Mrs. Donaghy, O.B.E., Chair, Council of the Advisory Conciliation and Arbitration Service. For services to Employment Relations.
- Robert Harold Douglas, Chair, Surrey Learning and Skills Council. For services to Post-16 Education and Training.
- Philip Wyn Evans, Chair, Wales Tourist Board. For services to Tourism in Wales.
- Thomas Russell Evans, Director, Service Delivery Support, Inland Revenue.
- Judith Mary, Mrs. Eve, O.B.E. For public service.
- Michael FARRAR, Chief Executive, South Yorkshire Strategic Health Authority. For services to the NHS.
- Eric Fellner, Co-Chairman, Working Title Films. For services to the British Film Industry.
- Ian Stewart Ferguson, Chairman, Learning and Skills Council's Young People's Learning Committee and Member of the LSC National Council. For services to Education and Training.
- Jackie, Mrs. FISHER, Chief Executive and Principal, Newcastle College. For services to Further Education in the North East.
- Andrew Kevin Foster, Director, NHS Workforce, Department of Health.
- Professor David Fowler, Science Director, Centre for Ecology and Hydrology, Natural Environment Research Council. For services to Atmospheric Pollution.
- Mary Elizabeth, Mrs. Francis, L.V.O., lately Director General, Association of British Insurers. For services to the Financial Services and Pensions Industries.
- Philip Bernard Freedman, Senior Property Partner, Mishcon de Reya Law Firm. For services to Property Law.
- Malcolm James Gammie, Q.C., VAT Tribunals Chairman and Deputy Special Commissioner. For services to Tax Policy.
- Dr. Martyn Goff, O.B.E., Administrator of the Booker Prize. For services to Literature.
- Colin Henry Green, President, Defence Aerospace Rolls Royce plc. For services to the Defence Industry.
- Dr. George Greener, Chair, British Waterways. For services to Waterways.
- Dr. Anna Gregor, Consultant Oncologist, Edinburgh Cancer Centre. For services to Medicine.
- Professor Peter Grindrod, Visiting Professor of Applied Industrial Mathematics, University of Bath. For services to Mathematical Research and Development.
- Elizabeth Joyce, Mrs. HAY, M.B.E., Founder and Chair, Voice of the Listener and Viewer. For services to Broadcasting.
- John Stuart Higgins, Director-General, Intellect. For services to the IT Industry.
- Richard Hooper, Deputy Chairman (and Chairman of the Content Board), the Office of Communications. For services to the Communications Industry.
- Robert Charles HUTCHINSON, lately Director of Social Services, Portsmouth Council. For services to Children and to Families.