DIPLOMATIC SERVICE AND OVERSEAS LIST

Harold Matthew Evans. For services to journalism. Patrick Michael Leigh Fermor, D.S.O., O.B.E. For services to literature and to UK-Greek relations.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London SW1

31st December 2003

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Honourable Order of the Bath:

Order of the Bath



(Military Division)

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (ROYAL NAVY)

G.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Military Division of the First Class, or Knight Grand Cross, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Admiral Sir Alan William John West, K.C.B., D.S.C., A.D.C.

K.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Military Division of the Second Class, or Knight Commander, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Vice Admiral Mark STANHOPE, O.B.E.

C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Rear Admiral Richard John Lippiett, M.B.E. Rear Admiral David George Snelson.

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (ARMY)

K.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Military Division of the Second Class, or Knight Commander, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Lieutenant General John Panton KISZELY, M.C. (486680), late Scots Guards.

C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

The Venerable John Blackburn, Q.H.C. (496225), Royal Army Chaplains' Department.

Major General Peter GILCHRIST (494420), late Royal Tank Regiment.

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (ROYAL AIR FORCE)

C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions, of the Military Division of the said Most Honourable Order:

The Venerable (Air Vice-Marshal) Ronald David HESKETH, Q.H.C., Royal Air Force.

Air Vice-Marshal Barry Michael THORNTON, Royal Air Force.

Order of the Bath



(Civil Division)

D.C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Second Class, or Dames Commander, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Mavis, Mrs. McDonald, C.B., Permanent Secretary, Office of the Deputy Prime Minister.

Ms Juliet Louise Wheldon, C.B., Q.C., H.M. Procurator General, Treasury Solicitor and Head of Government Legal Service.

C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Harold Vivian Bigley Brown, Chief Executive, Export Credits Guarantee Department.

Dr. Adrian Foss Ellis, Director of Field Operations, Health and Safety Executive.

Jane Elisabeth HENDERSON, Regional Director, Government Office for the South West.

Stephen Russell Hill, O.B.E., lately Chief Executive, Defence Aviation Repair Agency.

John Garvin Hunter. For public service.

Graham Harold Ben JORDAN, Science and Technology Director, Ministry of Defence.

Miss Sophia Jane Lambert, lately Director, Wildlife, Countryside and Flood Management, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

Peter Rene Lauener, Director, Learning Delivery and Standards Group, Department for Education and Skills.

Robin Rupert Martin, Director, Tax Law Re-Write Project, Inland Revenue.

Colin John Mowl, Director, Macroeconomics and Labour Market, Office for National Statistics.

George Winston RODDICK, Q.C., lately Counsel General, National Assembly for Wales.

James Marfell Scudamore, Chief Veterinary Officer and Director General for Animal Health and Welfare, Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

Edward John WEEPLE, lately Head, Lifelong Learning Group, Scottish Executive.