Colonel Gordon William Somerville, Retired Officer Principal, Military Secretary Headquarter Adjutant General, Ministry of Defence.

Brian Julian Evan ŠPICER, Director, Heritage of London Trust. For services to Architectural Heritage and to Museums.

Christopher Richard Stein, Restaurateur. For services to Tourism in South West England.

David Johnston Stobie, lately Chairman, Fife Acute Hospitals NHS Trust. For services to the NHS in Fife and to UK Charitable Trusts.

Leonard Kindell STREET. For services to the University of the Third Age.

William James Holland TAYLOR, J.P. For services to the Agri-Food Industry.

Miss Patricia Eileen THOMAS, Partner, S. J. Berwin, Solicitors. For services to Town and Country Planning.

John Frederick THORPE. For services to the community in Northamptonshire.

Samuel Robert TORRANCE, M.B.E. For services to Golf. Michael John TOWNSEND, Chief Executive, Woodland Trust. For services to Forestry.

John Peter Tydeman. For services to Radio Broadcasting.

Alan William Tyler. For services to Welfare Reform.

Philip Duncombe Riley Venning, Secretary, Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings. For services to British Conservation and Heritage.

Professor Colin Angus VINCENT, Deputy Principal and Master of the United College, University of St Andrews. For services to Education.

Ralph Charles George Walker. For public service.

Judith Alison, Mrs. Walmsley, Police Officer. For services to the Homeless in Manchester.

Ian WATSON, J.P., lately Chairman, Board of Management, Banff and Buchan College. For services to Education.

Jonathan WILKES, Chief Executive, West Kent NHS and Social Care Trust. For services to the NHS.

Heather Ruth, Mrs. WILLIAMS, Headteacher, Whitecrest Primary School, Great Barr, Sandwell. For services to Education.

Janice Victoria, Mrs. WILLIAMS, Member, ACAS Council. For services to Employment Relations in the Health Sector.

Roy WILLIAMSON, Chief Fire Officer, Humberside Fire Brigade. For services to the Fire Service.

John Stewart Wilson, Head, Agri-Food Marketing Branch, Scottish Executive.

Roland Stanley Wilson, Director and Secretary, Association for Road Traffic Safety and Management. For services to the Road Traffic Control Industry.

Susan Margaret, Mrs. WINFIELD. For services to the Probation Service.

Ms Elizabeth Winter, Chair, British Agencies Afghanistan Group. For services to Afghanistan.

Nicholas Hugh Winterton, Executive Director, Medical Research Council. For services to Medical Research.

Andrea Jean, Mrs. Wonfor, lately Creative Director, Granada Television. For services to Broadcasting.

Michael Wood, Senior Lecturer, University of Aberdeen. For services to Cartography.

Laurence Joseph WOODMAN, Range E, H.M. Treasury.

Brian Guy Woodrow, D.L. For services to the community in Bedford.

Susan Lesley Woodward. For services to the Commonwealth Games and to Broadcasting.

Tom Wylie, Chief Executive, National Youth Agency. For services to Young People.

## M.B.E

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

George Granville AARON, Nimrod Integrated Project Team Member, Turner Charles Agency. For services to the Defence Industry.

Jacqueline, Mrs. AGER, Supervisor, The Duke of Edinburgh Awards Scheme. For services to Young People in Surrey.

Mohammed Maniruddin Ahmad, Executive Officer, Chemicals and GM Policy Division, Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

William AITKEN, Customer Service Manager, Inland Revenue.

Derrick Ashton Alford. For services to the Salisbury Hospice Care Trust.

Pauline Mary, Mrs. Allen, Area Housing Manager. For services to Housing.

Jean Elliot, Mrs. Allison, lately Principal Teacher of Music, Wester Hailes Education Centre, Edinburgh. For services to Education.

Miss Janet Elizabeth Anderson. For services to the British Heart Foundation and the Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals.

Margaret Patricia, Mrs. Andreasen, Senior Executive Officer, Human Resources, Department for Work and Pensions.

John Leslie Andrews. For services to the community in Wolverhampton.

Miss Naomi Christine Arnold, Director of Arena. For services to the Hospitality Industry.

Jill Mary, Mrs. AYLOTT, Director, Disability Initiative. For services to the Disabled Community in Camberley, Surrey.

Michael John Badger. For services to the British Bee Keeping Industry.

Ms Gloria Bailey, Manager, Publishers' Association. For services to Book Publishing.

Noel Bakes. For services to the community of Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire.

Mary, Mrs. Ballantyne, lately Adult Basic Organiser, West Lothian Council. For services to Adult Education.

Diana Beryl, Mrs. Ballardie. For services to the Centre Pre-School, Newton Abbot, Devon.

Cecil George Barbaro, Community Volunteer—working with Surrey Police. For services to the community in Surrey.

Nicholas Birchall BARBER. For services to the Children's Hearing System.

Muhammad Abdul Bari, Member, Inner Cities Religious Council. For services to Neighbourhood Renewal.

Joy Margaret, Mrs. Barnes, lately International Coordinator, Inland Revenue.

John Robert BARR. For Public Service.

William Charles Barrington. For services to the community in Oystermouth, Swansea.