Ms Valerie Shawcross, lately Leader, London Borough of Croydon. For services to Local Government.

Christopher John Shepley, Chief Planning Inspector and Chief Executive, Planning Inspectorate, Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions.

Anthony Charles SLEEMAN, Director, Southern England, H.M. Board of Inland Revenue.

John Despenser Spencely, Architect. For services to Architecture.

Malcolm Frederick STAMP, Chief Executive, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital NHS Trust. For services to Health Care.

Frederick Nigel SUMMERS, Chief Executive, Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council. For services to Regeneration and to Partnership Working.

Ian Pollock Sword, F.R.S.E., Chairman, Inveresk Research. For services to Research, Education and Enterprise.

Professor June Thoburn, Professor of Social Work, University of East Anglia. For services to Social Work.

Professor Alison TIERNEY, Head of Department, Nursing Studies, University of Edinburgh. For services to Nursing Research and Education.

Brian James TURNER, Chef and Restaurateur. For services to Tourism and to Training in the Catering Industry.

Ms Sandra Diane UNERMAN, Director (Legal), Planning, Local Government, Housing and Employment Directorate, Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions.

Sushil Baldev Wadhwani. For services to the Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of England.

Miss Diana Marion Walford, Director, Public Health Laboratory Service. For services to Public Health.

James Lamont Walker, President, National Farmers' Union of Scotland. For services to Agriculture.

Perween, Mrs. Warsi, M.B.E., Managing Director, S and A Foods Ltd. For services to Business.

The Reverend Christian Oliver Weaver, M.B.E., J.P., Head, Pilgrim Church UK. For services to Racial Equality.

Christine Anne, Mrs. Whatford, lately Chief Education Officer, Hammersmith and Fulham, London. For services to Education.

Philip Michael White, Chief Executive, National Express Group. For services to Public Transport.

David Houston WILL, Vice-President, Executive Committee of FIFA. For services to Association Football.

Kenneth Robert WILLIAMS, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Norfolk Constabulary. For services to the Police.

Catherine Fiona, Mrs. Woolf, Senior Partner, CMS Cameron McKenna. For services to the UK Knowledge Economy and Invisible Earnings.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

The Most Reverend Father Oluwole Aremu Abiola. For services to Inter-Faith Relations.

Professor Josephine Dawn Ades, Professor of Art History and Theory, University of Essex. For services to Art History.

Robert ALEXANDER, District Manager, Jobcentre Plus, Department for Work and Pensions.

Professor Anne Harper Anderson, Professor of Psychology, University of Glasgow. For services to Social Science.

The Very Reverend John Robert Arnold, Dean of Durham. For services to the European Ecumenical Movement.

John Michael Stewart Arnott, Chairman, Scottish Wildlife Trust. For services to Conservation.

Philip Barry Ashmore, Director, Nissan Motor Manufacturing (UK) Ltd. For services to the New Deal in Northumberland.

The Reverend Canon Richard William Bryant ATKINSON. For services to Unemployed People in Rotherham, South Yorkshire.

Ms Mary Josephine Auckland, Director of Library and Learning Resources, London Institute. For services to Librarianship.

Waqar Azmi, Chief Executive, Worcestershire Racial Equality Council and Race Equality West Midlands. For services to Community Life in the West Midlands.

Susan Mary, Mrs. Bailey, Clinical Manager, Gardner Unit, Salford. For services to Youth Justice.

Nicholas John Baker, Head, National Teams, H.M. Board of Customs and Excise.

Jonathan Eric Bardon. For services to Community Life. Nicolas John Barker. For services to Charity and Books. Robert John Baty, Chief Executive, South West Water Ltd. For services to the Water Industry.

Keith Malcolm BAUGHAN, Vice President, Research, Nokia. For services to Research into Mobile Communications.

Professor Steven Peter Beaumont, Director, Institute for System Level Integration. For services to Electronics and Nanotechnology.

Ms Jacqueline Ann Beere, Advanced Skills Teacher, Campion School, Bugbrooke, Northamptonshire. For services to Education.

Avril Elizabeth, Mrs. Beynon, Human Resources Director, Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency, Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions.

Miss Irene Veronica BIRD, Governor, H.M. Prison/ Young Offender Institution, New Hall, H.M. Prison Service, Home Office.

Alexander Paul Blakeley, Chief Executive, Talisman Energy UK Ltd. For services to the Oil and Gas Industry.

John Emanuel Bodie. For charitable services, especially to Health and Education.

Edwin Roy Pratt BOORMAN, D.L. For services to the Royal British Legion in Kent.

James Brodie, Chair, Victim Support Scotland. For services to the Victims of Crime.

Peter Brokenshire, lately Chairman, Redbridge and Waltham Forest Health Authority. For services to Health Care.

Timothy Frederick Brookman, Marketing Executive, AgustaWestland. For services to the Defence Industry.

James Brown, Director of Integration, Scottish Water. For services to the Water Industry.