- Ellen, Mrs. CHAPMAN, lately Member, Craven District Council. For services to the community in Austwick, Lancashire.
- Kenneth Norman Chapman, Dairyman. For services to the community in Woodchurch, Kent.
- Bashir Chaudhry. For services to the community in East London and Essex.
- Robin John Cherry. For services to the Potato Industry. David Alexander CHEYNE, Senior Policy Adviser, H.M. Board of Customs and Excise.
- Marion, Mrs. Chirnside. For services to the community in Benwell, Tyne and Wear.
- Olive, Mrs. CLAPP. For services to the community in Luppitt, Devon.
- Roberta Alice, Mrs. CLARK, lately Executive Officer, Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency, Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions.
- Erlander Cleophas Clarke, Specialist Inspector (Occupational Health), Health and Safety Executive, Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions.
- Eustace James Clarke. For services to the Multi-Cultural Education and Youth Project, Lewisham,
- Mollie, Mrs. Clarke. For services to the British Red Cross Society in Northamptonshire.
- Ms Reita-Fay CLARKE. For services to the community in Luton, Bedfordshire.
- Kathleen Spence, Mrs. CLAY, Grade E1, Ministry of Defence.
- Peter John Clayton. For services to the Octavia Hill Birthplace Museum in Wisbech, Cambridgeshire.
- Jean, Mrs. Cobb. For charitable services.
- Norman Derek Cocker. For services to the community in Wilmslow, Cheshire.
- Ella, Mrs. Cole, lately Governor, Eaglesfield Paddle CE Primary School, Cumbria. For services to Education.
- Marion Elizabeth, Mrs. Collyer, Band 6, Department for Transport, Local Government and the Regions.
- Peter Conlan, Public Health Manager, NHS Executive, Trent Regional Office, Department of Health.
- John Connor, Principal Engineer, Raytheon Systems Ltd. For services to the Defence Industry.
- Christopher Llewellyn Coombes, Deputy Chief Fire Officer, Leicestershire Fire Service. For services to the Fire Service.
- Miss Agnes Lily Florence Cooperwaite. For services to the Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh.
- Tanya Elizabeth, Mrs. Cottrell, Support Group Administrator, EPSRC. For services to Science.
- Eileen Maud, Mrs. COUGHLIN. For charitable services to the Cancer Research Campaign in Croydon, Surrey.
- Peter John Coulson, Member, IS Helpdesk. For services to the Financial Services Authority.
- Michel Noel Couriard. For services to the community, especially the Jersey Honorary Police and Young People, in Jersey.
- William Charles Cox, lately Station Officer (Retained), Norfolk Fire Service. For services to the Fire Service.
- Miss Jean Anne CRAGG, Paramedic Team Leader, East Midlands Ambulance Service. For services to Health Care
- Arthur Roy Crane. For services to the community in Pontypool, South Wales.
- Charles Edward Crouch, Clerk, Effingham Parish

- Council, Surrey. For services to the community.
- Bertram James Culling. For services to the Sunderland Laryngectomee Club and to the National Association of Laryngectomee Clubs.
- Shirley Lesley, Mrs. CULPIN, Sergeant, MOD Police, Ministry of Defence.
- Williamina McPhail, Mrs. Cumming, Manager, Rocking Horse Nursery, University of Aberdeen. For services to Nursery Care.
- Michael Curzon, Consultant. For services to the prevention of Bird Smuggling.
- Nidhi, Mrs. Dalmia, Member, New Deal Task Force's Minority Ethnic Advisory Group. For services to Unemployed People.
- Miss Phyllis Margaret Dalton, Costume Designer. For services to the Film Industry.
- Miss Doreen Kathleen Daly. For Public Service.
- Pamela Mary, Mrs. DARWEN, Teacher, Chase Terrace High School, Staffordshire. For services to Education and to Sport.
- Alun Owen Davies, International Export and Logistics Manager, NAAFI. For services to the Defence Industry.
- Ms Carys Sian Davies, National Project Manager, Defibrillators in Public Places Initiative. For service to Health Care.
- Howard Islwyn Davies, Head of Technical Policy Development Branch (Agriculture Department) Welsh Assembly Government.
- Philip Alfred Donne Davies. For services to the Hop Industry.
- Angus Davison, Founder, Haygrove Fruit. For services to the Fruit Industry.
- Jerome Dawson. For services to the community and to the Credit Union Movement.
- Niranjana, Mrs. Desai. For services to Education and to the Asian community in Harrow, London.
- Wendy Muriel, Mrs. DIBDIN. For services to Disabled People in Greenwich, London.
- Professor Linda DICKENS, President, British Universities Industrial Relations Association. For services to **Employment Relations.**
- Joyce Olive Alexandra, Mrs. Dobbin. For services to Housing.
- Margaret Louise, Mrs. Doidge. For services to the Variety Club of Great Britain in South Wales.
- Francis Michael Donaghy, J.P., Accountant. For services to Commerce and Industry.
- Cyril Eric Donnan. For services to the Police.
- Samuel Douglas. For services to the community.
- Ms Jacqueline Downer. For services to People with Learning Disabilities in London.
- Alan David Irving DREVER, Founder, Scottish Native Woods. For services to the Conservation of Woodlands.
- Miss Margaret Drury, Health Records Adviser. For services to the East Gloucestershire NHS Trust.
- Audrey May, Mrs. Duck. For services to the community, especially the Good Bears of the World, in Richmond, Surrey.
- Ernest Frederick DUNCKLEY, D.L. For services to the community in Ealing, London.
- Beryl Kathleen Rose, Mrs. Durrant. For services to the community, especially Elderly People, in Tewkesbury, Gloucestershire.