- Peter William Avery, Fellow of King's College, University of Cambridge. For services to Oriental Studies.
- Peter Badejo, Director, Badejo Arts. For services to Dance.
- Harry James Banks. For services to Coal Mining and to the community in County Durham.
- Brigadier Neil BARCLAY. For services to the Army Benevolent Fund in Shropshire.
- Professor Lorraine Florence Barić, Professorial Fellow, University of Salford. For services to Electricity Consumers.
- John Edward Barnes, lately Health Emergency Planning Adviser, South East Regional Office, Department of Health.
- Geoffrey Grant Fulton BARNETT. For services to Voluntary Service Overseas.
- Professor Robin Michael BASKER. For services to Dental Education.
- Mary Elizabeth, Mrs. La Trobe-Bateman, Director, Contemporary Applied Arts. For services to Crafts.
- Syed Nawazish Bokhari, Principal, Ernest Bevin College, Tooting, London. For services to Education.
- John Garfield BOURKE. For services to the Probation Service.
- Geoffrey William Breeden, Community Fire Safety Officer. For services to the Fire Service and to Young People.
- Michael Francis Brennan, lately Head, Adoption Section, Department of Health.
- David Brodie, Founder Director, TaxAid. For services to Low Income Taxpayers.
- Robert Bruce Knight Broughton, Welsh Secretary, British Medical Association in Wales. For services to Medicine.
- Patrick Dominic Bryon, Lead Assessor, National Professional Qualification for Headship. For services to Education in Wales.
- Beatrice May, Mrs. Burgess, Chair, Babies in Prison. For services to Prisoner Welfare.
- Hugh Thomas Burnett. For services to the community in Newhaven, East Sussex.
- David Edward Church. For services to the Richmond Society, Surrey.
- David Hamilton CLARK, Director, Research and Innovation, EPSRC. For services to Research.
- Malcolm Brian CLARK, lately Director, Queen Elizabeth's Foundation for Disabled People. For services to Disabled People.
- Rodney Jeremy CLARK, lately Chief Executive, Sense. For services to Deafblind People.
- Leslie Clegg. For services to the Footwear Industry and to the community in Bacup, Lancashire.
- Simon Paul CLEGG, Chief Executive, British Olympic Association. For services to Sport.
- Christine Mackenzie, Mrs. COHEN, Chairman, Hampstead Heath Management Committee. For services to City Open Spaces.
- John Coleman, Director, Trust for the Study of Adolescence. For services to Youth Justice.
- Ms Pauline Collins (Mrs. Alderton), Actress. For services to Drama.
- Howard John Cooper. For services to Farriery and Equine Welfare.

- Elizabeth, Mrs. COPLAND, Operational Pursuit Adviser, H.M. Board of Inland Revenue.
- Dorothy Patricia, Mrs. CORRIN. For services to Education and to Charities on the Isle of Man.
- John Frederick COULTHARD, Headteacher, Wensleydale Middle School, Blyth, Northumberland. For services to Education.
- Martin Courtis, Member, Radioactive Waste Management Advisory Committee. For services to Environmental Protection.
- Professor Margaret Josephine Cox, Professor of Information Technology in Education, King's College London. For services to Education.
- Milton Fitzroy Crosdale, Director, Nottingham and District Racial Equality Council. For services to Equal Opportunities.
- Barry CRYER, Writer and Broadcaster. For services to Comedy Drama.
- Peter John Dawe, Founder and Trustee, Dawe Charitable Trust. For services to the Internet Watch Foundation.
- Miss Joanne Denney, Chief Executive, Institute of Grocery Distribution. For services to the Food and Grocery Trade.
- David Michael Dixon, General Medical Practitioner and Chair, NHS Alliance. For services to Primary Health Care.
- Miss Kate Doherty. For services to Education.
- Mark Dowd, Chair, Mersey Travel. For services to Public Transport.
- Dennis Hathaway DRYSDALE, J.P. For services to the Hampshire Probation Committee and Board.
- Marjorie, Mrs. Durie, lately Director, Service Development, Ayrshire and Arran Health Board. For services to Nursing and to the NHS.
- Graham Patrick Dyer, Museum Curator, Royal Mint. Elizabeth Dorothy, Mrs. Earnshaw. For services to
- Golf.
  William Glyndwr EDMUNDS, Principal, Deeside College,
  Flintshire. For services to Further Education.
- Peter Brian Elliott, Chairman, Governing Body, Northumberland College. For services to Further Education.
- Martin John Ellis. Grade B2, Defence Procurement Agency, Ministry of Defence.
- John Evans, Assistant Director, H.M. Board of Inland Revenue.
- John Daniel Evans, Founder, Hampshire Centre for Independent Living. For services to Disabled People.
- Anne Margaret, Mrs. EVERALL, Director, Young Readers UK. For services to Children's Librarianship in Birmingham.
- Diana Jacqueline, Mrs. FARRAGHER, Physiotherapy Teacher. For services to the Treatment of Chronic Facial Paralysis.
- Danny Fellows, Chairman, West Wales TEC. For services to Training and Employment.
- John Lloret Fells, Detective Inspector, National Criminal Intelligence Service. For services to the Police.
- Henry George Fetherstonhaugh. For services to the Forestry Commission.
- Professor Charles Arthur Fewson, Professor of Microbial Biochemistry, University of Glasgow. For services to Biological Science.