- Helen, Mrs. McSevNey. For services to the Drumchapel Credit Union, Glasgow.
- John Frederick MEACE. For services to the Fire Brigades National Benevolent Fund.
- John MEADLEY. For services to British Executive Services Overseas.
- Robert Arthur Patrick MELLOR, Trustee, Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents. For services to Health and Safety.
- John Thomas MENDUS, Senior Business Adviser, Severn Trent Water. For services to the community in Solihull, West Midlands.
- Jeffrey Edward MERRETT, Detective Constable, Devon and Cornwall Constabulary. For services to the Police community.
- Douglas Cecil MERRIMAN. For services to the Board of Visitors, H.M. Prison The Mount.
- Colin Peter METCALFE, Governor. Roundwood Park School, Hertfordshire. For services to Education.
- Julian Edward METCALFE, Co-Chairman, Prêt à Manger. For services to the Catering Industry.
- Elizabeth Margaret, Mrs. MIDDLETON. For services to Music and the community in Cleveland.
- Linda Rose MIDDLETON, D.L., Member, Leeds City Council. For services to Women and to Public Transport in Leeds.
- Kenneth MILLS, Senior Professional and Technology Officer, Ministry of Defence.
- Richards MILLS. For services to Amateur Drama.
- Jack MILROY. For services to Entertainment.
- John Walton MISKELLY, lately Area Secretary, Aberdeen and Kincardine Area, National Farmers' Union of Scotland. For services to Agriculture.
- Diana, Mrs. MITCHELL. For services to the Abbeyfield Society in Solihull, West Midlands.
- Joseph MITTY. For services to OXFAM and to the Development of Charity Shops.
- Irene Joyce, Mrs. MONEY. For services to the community in Edmonton, London.
- Miss Pauline Sylvia MONRO. For services to Neurology in the former Soviet Union.
- John MONTGOMERY. For services to the British Diabetic Association.
- Helen Elizabeth, Mrs. MOODY, Local Officer 2, Department of Social Security.
- Michael Edward Jones MORGANS. For services to the Welsh Blood Service and to St John's Ambulance.
- Louise Margaret, Mrs. MORISON, Driving Examiner, Driving Standards Agency, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions.
- The Reverend David MORRIS, Director, The Community of Grace. For services to Homeless People in Leicester.
- Brenda Rosemary, Mrs. MORTIMER. For services to Biosciences Research Administration.
- David MOYES, Assistant Principal, Anniesland College, Dunbartonshire. For services to Further Education.
- Miss Elizabeth Mary Moys. For services to Classification and Indexing.
- Christine Janet MacPherson, Mrs. MUIR, lately Chairman, Children's Panel Advisory Committee, Orkney. For services to the Children's Hearings System.
- Evelyn, Mrs. MUNSON. For services to the British Red Cross Society in Derbyshire.

- Kay Sandra, Mrs. MURCH, Site Manager, Greenwich Peninsula. For services to the Millennium Dome.
- Miss Fiona MURTAGH. For services to Netball.
- Miss Eileen MUTTER. For charitable services to the community, especially the Blood Transfusion Services and the British Red Cross Society, in Seaton, Devon.
- William NEWBY, President, Trevithick Trust. For services to Industrial Archeology.
- Professor Alan Francis NEWELL, Head, Department of Applied Computing, University of Dundee. For services to the development of IT and Communications Systems for Disabled People.
- Ms Dorothy NEWTON. For services to the Scarman Trust People's Millennium Awards Scheme.
- William Gordon NEWTON. For services to Willow Wood Hospice.
- Sin Hung NG, Honorary Chairman, Newcastle Chinese School, Nothumberland. For services to Education and to the community.
- Robert Geoffrey NICHOLSON. For services to the Gaming Board of Great Britain.
- Edward NOBLE. For services to Brass Band Music in West Yorkshire.
- Martin NoBLE. For services to the London Taxi Benevolent Association for War Disabled.
- Anne Ilingworth, Mrs. NORRIS, J.P. For services to the community, especially Education, in Westfield, Bexhill and Battle, East Sussex.
- Mary, Mrs. O'BRIEN. For services to Disabled People.
- Florence Audrey, Mrs. O'CONNOR. For services to the WRVS in Hampshire and Wiltshire.
- Mary Aileen, Mrs. O'CONNOR, Senior Nurse Manager, Ealing Hospital. For services to Accident and Emergency Nursing.
- Shirley May, Mrs. ORFORD, Personal Secretary, Ministry of Defence.
- Miss Katherine Betty Farquhar ORR. For services to the community.
- Janet Ann, Mrs. PALMER, Personal Assistant, H.M. Board of Inland Revenue.
- Batook PANDYA. For services to Community Relations in Bristol.
- Kenneth George PARCELL. For services to the League of Friends of Ealing Hospital NHS Trust.
- Miss Malinda Florence Muriel PARKER. For services to Women's Bowls.
- Eric PARRY, Member, BOD Modernisation Programme Implementation Team, H.M Board of Inland Revenue.
- Navin Chandra PATEL, Higher Executive Officer, Ministry of Defence.
- Robert Gordon PATERSON, Chair, Rail Committee, Merseyside Passenger Transport Authority. For services to Public Transport.
- Eileen, Mrs. PATTERSON. For services to Community Relations.
- Patricia, Mrs. PATTERSON. For services to Action Cancer.
- Frank Leonard PAWLEY, lately Regional Director (Turkey and the Middle East), Thames Water International. For services to the Water Industry.
- Margaret Elizabeth, Mrs. PAYNE. For services to the Administration of Justice in East Yorkshire.
- Stanley George PAYNE, Chairman, River Derwent Owners' Association. For services to Freshwater Fisheries in Cumbria.