4076 THE LONDON GAZETTE TUESDAY 11 APRIL 2000 SUPPLEMENT No. 1

Lieutenant RA MELVIN (469494) retires 31 March 2000 and is granted the honorary rank of Colonel

6 Cadet Battalion The Royal Welch Fusiliers (Gwynedd)

Lieutenant EL Lewis (505505) retires 31 January 2000 and is granted the honorary rank of Major

Kent

Anthony James ELDERTON (553269) to be Second Lieutenant (on probation) 20 January 2000

Colin HINTON (553271) to be Second Lieutenant (on probation) 28 January 2000

Carol Mary NEWTON (553292) to be Second Lieutenant (on probation) 28 January 2000

Derek Ronald Anthony NEWTON (553395) to be Second Lieutenant (on probation) 28 January 2000

Tina Angela REID (553291) to be Second Lieutenant (on probation) 28 January 2000

Lincolnshire

Major SAC FRERE-COOK MBE (497419) (Territorial Army Group A) and at his own request reverts to the rank of Lieutenant 9 December 1999 with seniority 31 May 1976

Lothian and Borders Battalion

RP MASON (477796) (formerly Major Regular Army) to be Lieutenant 7 January 2000 with seniority 22 September 1973 Lieutenant GE RIDGEWAY (513791) retires 15 January 2000 and is granted the honorary rank of Captain

Powys

David Michael HOPKINS (553238) to be Second Lieutenant (on probation) 1 March 2000 $\,$

Suffolk

Second Lieutenant (on probation) MJ ADAMS (549312) is confirmed as Second Lieutenant 4 November 1997 to be Lieutenant 22 January 2000

Surrey

Helen Kirsty McCauLiFFE (553290) to be Second Lieutenant (on probation) 28 January 2000 $\,$

Royal Air Force

11th April 2000

Air Marshal Sir Anthony BAGNALL, K.C.B., O.B.E. is promoted to the rank of Air Chief Marshal and appointed Air Aide-de-Camp to Her Majesty The QUEEN on becoming Commander-in-Chief Strike Command with effect from 6th Apr. 2000.

Air Chief Marshal Sir Richard JOHNS, G.C.B., C.B.E., L.V.O., A.D.C. relinquished his appointment as Air Aide-de-Camp to Her Majesty The QUEEN on 6th Apr. 2000.

Air Commodore E. J. THORNTON is appointed Honorary Physician to Her Majesty The QUEEN with effect from 3rd Apr. 2000.

Reverend D. S. MACKENZIE is appointed Honorary Chaplain to Her Majesty The QUEEN with effect from 7th Apr. 2000. Reverend Monsignor E. P. HILL, Q.H.C., V.G. relinquished his

Reverend Monsignor E. P. HILL, Q.H.C., V.G. relinquished his appointment as Honorary Chaplain to Her Majesty The QUEEN on 7th Apr. 2000.

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH

APPOINTMENT TO COMMISSION (PERMANENT)

As Pilot Officer

6th Feb. 2000

Glen Allanach (5208848C). Neil CROUCHMAN (5208849D). Sean James CUNNINGHAM (2659008Q). Joseph Simon Doyle (5208850H). Robert HICKINBOTHAM (5208851J). Laurie Paul MARCHANT (5208852K). Jason Nicholas ORR (2654297J). Neil Macphee PHILP (2649923D). Thomas Virgil RICHARDS (5208853L). John Andrew James ROBINS-WALKER (2653941E). Adam MacEwan SMOLAK (5208856P). Paul Alexander Stevenson (2659130B). Helen Louise Verney (0306423A). Andrew Steven Williams (5208854M).

APPOINTMENT TO COMMISSION (SHORT SERVICE)

As Pilot Officer (twelve years on the Active List and four years on the Reserve)

Andrew Donald WRIGHT (5208855N) 6th Feb. 2000.

EXTENSION OF SERVICE

The period of service on the Active List of the undermentioned Flight Lieutenant is extended to the date stated:

S. M. CLARKE (5206902G) 26th Jun. 2000.

CHANGE OF TYPE OF COMMISSION (SHORT SERVICE TO PERMANENT) Flight Lieutenant S. F. JAMES (2637711T) 13th Jan. 2000.

Retirement

Squadron Leader I. J. MCLEAN (8027728C) 5th Mar. 2000. Flight Lieutenant G. R. B. SMERDON (5205109E) 4th Mar. 2000.

OPERATIONS SUPPORT BRANCH

APPOINTMENT TO COMMISSION (PERMANENT)

As Pilot Officer

6th Feb. 2000

Mark Joseph BATE (5208870L). Tracy Eileen BURKE (0306424B). Neil Edward FITZGERALD (5208859S). Mark Adam GILMORE (5208861X). Andrew Michael Anthony SMITH (5208865C). Benjamin Robert Michael TRIPP (5208866D).

APPOINTMENT TO COMMISSION (SHORT SERVICE)

As Pilot Officer (six years on the Active List and four years on the Reserve)

6th Feb. 2000

Henry John DODWELL (5208858R). Daniel Paul FORDYCE (5208860W). Dee Melissa NORMAN (0306426D). Richard Charles O'GORMAN (5208864B). Fiona Jane SEDGWICK (0306427E). Clare Alexandra SHELDON (0306429G). Matthew Robert WHITFIELD (5208867E).

RETIREMENT

Group Captain M. H. SHIELDS 4th Mar. 2000. Squadron Leader B. J. R. HAWKINS (8105024H) 6th Mar. 2000.

COMMISSION RESIGNED

Pilot Officer K. J. T. MARTIN (5208825V) 10th Mar. 2000.

ENGINEER BRANCH

APPOINTMENT TO COMMISSION (PERMANENT)

As Flight Lieutenant

Paul Christopher ZAKARY (5208841U) 3rd Feb. 2000 (Seniority 2nd Aug. 1995).

As Pilot Officer

David James CREBER (5208868F) 6th Feb. 2000.

APPOINTMENT TO COMMISSION (SHORT SERVICE)

As Pilot Officer (six years on the Active List and four years on the Reserve)

Shazif Liakat KHAN (5208862Y) 6th Feb. 2000.

SUPPLY BRANCH

APPOINTMENT TO COMMISSION (PERMANENT)

As Pilot Officer

David Steven EDWARDS (5208847B) 6th Feb. 2000.