- Derek Raymond MOORE, Director, Suffolk Wildlife Trust. For services to Nature Conservation, especially in Suffolk.
- Karen Jane, Mrs. MORGAN, lately Board Member, Environment Agency. For services to the Protection of the Water Environment.
- Miss Audrey Ennis Moser. For services to Child Welfare, especially Child Refugees.
- Terence Michael MULROY, Director, Transportation Planning (International) Ltd. For services to Transport Planning.
- Alexander James MURPHY. For services to Rugby League Football.
- Nicholas Jonathan NAFTALIN, Medical Director, Leicester Royal Infirmary. For services to Education and to Patient Care.
- Peter Geoffrey NATHAN, D.L. For services to the London Playing Fields Society.
- Professor Elizabeth NEWSON. For services to Children with Autistic Spectrum Disorders.
- Professor Ian NEWTON, F.R.S., Head, Avian Biology Section, Institute of Terrestrial Ecology. For services to Avian Research.
- Diane Patricia, Mrs. NUTTING, Member, Council for the National Trust. For services to Conservation.
- Gerard Leo O'DONNELL, Principal and Chief Executive, West Thames College, Middlesex. For services to Further Education.
- Miss Denise O'DONOGHUE, Managing Director, Hat Trick Productions. For services to Television.
- Patrick Stephen O'LEARY, lately Head, Single Market Unit, Department of Trade and Industry.
- John PACKER, Chief Executive Officer, Norwich City Council. For services to the community in Norwich, Norfolk.
- Lyndsay, Mrs. HACKET PAIN. For services to the Associated Country Women of the World and to the Women's Institute.
- Christopher Andrew Frank PARSONS, Constable, West Mercia Constabulary. For the development of the Safe Child Scheme.
- Eric PAYNE, Chairman, Mita Holdings Ltd., and Managing Director, Mita (UK) Ltd. For services to Industry and to the community in North Wales.
- Edward George PEARN, Q.F.S.M., H.M. Inspector of Fire Services (Grade II)

H.M. Fire Service Inspectorate, Home Office.

- Miss Marion Elizabeth PERRY, lately Head. Prendergast Comprehensive School, Lewisham. For services to Education and to Guiding.
- Mark Trevor PHILLIPS. For services to Broadcast Journalism.
- Hugh Shuter PLATT, T.D. For services to Post Graduate Medical Education.
- Bishop Wilton Ralph Powell, Chairman, Nehemiah Housing Association and Chairman, Black Star Housing Association. For services to Housing in the West Midlands.
- David Graham PYATT, Principal Scientific Officer, Forestry Commission.
- William Rose-QUIRIE, Governor 1, H.M. Prison Garth.
- George RAXSTER, D.L., lately Chairman, Shropshire County Council. For services to Local Government and to the community in Shropshire.
- Rajkumar RAJA RAYAN, General Dental Practitioner, London. For services to Dentistry.
- The Reverend Nicholas John READ, Director, Rural Stress Information Network. For services to the Alleviation of Rural Stress.

- Mary, Mrs. REED, Chief Probation Officer. Norfolk Probation Service. For services to the Probation Service.
- Janet Hilary, Mrs. RICHARDSON, Technical Adviser, HM Board of Inland Revenue.
- Anthony Edward RICHINGS, Secretary to the Bailiff of Guernsey. For services to Bailiwick of Guernsey.
- Anne Lloyd, Mrs. ROBERTS, Deputy Chair, North Wales Health Authority. For services to the NHS and to Education in North Wales.
- Penelope Jill, Mrs. ALLISY-ROBERTS, Member, Ionising Radiations Advisory Committee. For services to Radiation Protection.
- Ann Edith, Mrs. ROBERTSON. For services to the East Kent Hospice Project.
- Grace ROBERTSON. For services to Photography
- William James RODGER, lately Principal Scientist, Strathclyde Police Forensic Science Laboratory. For services to Forensic Science.
- Alexander Colonel Lieutenant Hendrik ROOSMALECOCO, M.C., Vice President, National Canine Defence League. For services to Animal Welfare.
- Miss Jennifer Ross, local Supervising Authority Midwifery Officer. For services to Women's Health Care in North East England.
- Thomas Mackenzie Ross. For services to the Pensions Industry.
- Clive John McLean RUSSELL, D.L. For services to the Medical Profession.
- Bernard RYAN, lately Chief Executive, Land Authority for Wales. For services to Economic Development.
- John RYAN, Chair, Public Protection Committee, Local Government Association. For services to Public Safety and to Local Government.
- Frank Noel RYDING. For services to the British Red Cross Society, especially the Landmines Campaign.
- Iqbal Abdul Karim Mussa SACRANIE. For services to Community Relations.
- Pearl, Mrs. SAGAR. For services to the Community and to Women's Issues.
- Rohit SAMANI, Managing Director, Tilda Ltd. For services to the Rice Milling Industry.
- Barbara Hilda, Mrs. SCOTT, J.P. For services to the community in York. Christopher SCOTT, Governor 1, H.M. Prison
- Birmingham.
- John Fletcher SHEPHERD. For services to the Welfare of Severely Disabled People.
- Endon William Shipley. For services to the Royal Engineers Officers' Widows Society.
- Professor Jack SIMMONS, Historian. For services to Railway and Local History.
- Thomas Stewart SIMPSON. For services to the Council for the Advancement of Communication with Deaf People.
- Arun Kumar SINGH, Partner, Commerce and Finance, Masons Solicitors. For services to Export and to Small Business.
- Patricia Frances, Mrs. SMITH, lately Deputy Chief Executive, Football Association. For services to the Football Association.
- Mary Westby, Mrs. SOAMES, M.B.E. For services to the ATS/WRAC Benevolent Fund.
- Ramniklal Chhanganlal SOLANKI. For services to Publishing and to the Asian Community.
- Miss Dusty Springfield. For services to Popular Music.
- Kenneth John STACEY. For services to the Chequers Trust and to the community in Buckinghamshire.