Leon SCHALLER. For services to the Jewish community and to Young People.

David Haig SCOTT, Local Government Editor, The

Scotsman. For services to Journalism.

Peter John SEAGO, J.P. For services to the Administration of Justice.

Paul Edward Gilbert SHATTOCK. For services to People with Autism.

Richard Joseph SHENTON, Senior Senator, States of Jersey. For services to the community.

John Lee SIMPSON, Managing Director, SERCO-I.A.L. Systems Ltd. For services to Export.

Wayne Philip Colin SLEEP. For services to Dance and Drama.

Professor Stanley Desmond SMITH, Chairman, Edinburgh Instruments Ltd. For services to Optoelectronics.

Arthur Frederick SOUTHGATE, M.B.E. For services to the Royal British Legion in Dorset.

Ian Peter SPRATLING, Managing Director, Wolff Steel Ltd. For services to the CBI and to Industry in Wales

Professor Brian William STAINES, Member, Deer Commission for Scotland. For services to Wildlife Management.

Patricia Ann, Mrs. STEANE, Medical Director and Consultant Anaesthetist, Swansea NHS Trust. For services to Medicine.

Richard Henry Simpson STILGOE, President, Surrey Care Trust. For services to the community, especially Disabled People.

Miss Margaret Mary STOKES. For services to Health Care and to People with Special Needs in Devon.

Alan Frederick STROUD. For services to the Institute of Road Transport Engineers.

Menzies STRUTHERS, Alastair Headteacher, Lochend Secondary School, Easterhouse, Glasgow. For services to Education.

Peter STUBBS. For services to the Distributive Occupation Standards Council and to Employee Training

Professor William James SWINDALL. For services to Analytical Science and to the Environment.

Philip John SYKES, Consultant Plastic Surgeon, Morriston Hospital, Swansea. For services to Medicine.

Hazel Muriel, Mrs. TAYLOR, lately Nursing Director, Glan Hafren NHS Trust. For services to Nursing in Wales.

The Reverend Michael Hugh TAYLOR. For services to Christian Aid.

Norman Geoffrey TAYLOR, Assistant Collector, Fraud and Intelligence, H.M. Board of Customs and Excise.

TEESDALE, City Challenge Christine, Mrs. Manager, Hartlepool Borough Council. services to the Regeneration of Hartlepool.

Richard David TOBIAS, Chief Executive, British Incoming Tour Operators' Association. For services to Tourism.

James Rendall TOLLER, Oasis IT Project Manager, H.M. Treasury.

David Glyndwr UPSHALL, Grade 6, Defence Evaluation and Research Agency, Ministry of

Melvin USHER, Chief Executive, South Somerset District Council. For services to Local Government and to the community in Somerset.

Patricia Emily, Mrs. VERITY. For services to the National Foster Care Association.

Sarah, Mrs. WARD, lately Commissioner. Countryside Commission. For services to the Countryside, especially in Kent.

Tony WARD. For services to Employee Relations and to the Commission for Racial Equality.

WEAKS, Community Dorothy Anne, Mrs. Psychiatric Nurse, Perth and Kinross NHS Trust. For services to Health Care.

Miss Rosemary Helena WEIR. For services to Secondary Education.

Graham WEST, Officer in Charge, H.M. Board of Inland Revenue.

Margaret Elizabeth Joan, Mrs. WHITESIDE. For services to Consumer Affairs.

Samuel Maurice WHITTEN. For public service.

David Kenworthy WILKINSON, Director, 3i plc. For services to Business in Yorkshire and the Humber region.

David Clive Harries WILLIAMS. For services to the community in Berkshire.

Geoffrey Alistair WILLIAMS, Grade 6, Department for International Development.

David Stewart WILLIAMSON. For services to the Citizens Advice Bureau in Edinburgh.

Miss Jane Morris WILMOT. For services to Transport for Deaf People.

Alastair Mckinnon WILSON, Managing Director, Newcastle Breweries. For services to Tourism.

Douglas Langton WOOLF. For services to Arthritis Care.

Talib Hussain YASEEN, Director of Nursing and Operational Services, Furness General Hospital, Cumbria. For services to Nursing Management and to Health Care

Alexander YULE. For servies to Radiography and to Health Care.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Paul Jonathan ABBOTT, Standards Manager (Special Operations), Railtrack plc. For services to Security and Emergency Planning Standards in the Railway Industry

Cyril ABBOTT, Volunteer Driver, Leeds Social Services Department. For services community.

Betty Amelia, Mrs. ADDISON. For services to the community, especially Guiding and Children with Special Needs, in Catterick, North Yorkshire.

Kabir AHMED, J.P. For services to Community Relations in Manchester.

Mohammed AKTERUZZAMAN. For services to the Asian community in Cardiff.

May, Mrs. ALDERSON. For services to the community in Hawarden, North Wales.

Stewart Brown ALLAN, lately Chief Technician, Educational Development Unit, The Robert Gordon University. For services to Research Projects.

Shirley Ann, Mrs. ALLCHIN, Honours Secretary, Department for Education and Employment.

David ALLEN. For services to Trade Unionism and to Education.

James Alan SANDEMAN-ALLEN, D.F.M. For services to the Guinea Pig Club and to the community in Devon.

Noel Vincent ALLEN, Chairman, Exmoor Natural History Society. For services to Nature Conservation on Exmoor, Somserset.