David John Harry SMITH, Chief Executive Officer, Whatman plc. For services to Technology Transfer.

Alastair Charles Dunbar STUART. For services to the Defence, Press and Broadcasting Advisory Committee.

David Edward TAGG, Group Services Director, DIAGEO plc. For services to Community Regeneration.

Roy TAYLOR, Director of Community Services, Royal Borough of Kingston-upon-Thames, Surrey. For services to Social Services.

John Paxton TOBY, General Medical Practitioner. For services to Medicine and to The Royal College of General Practitioners

Miss June Rosemary WHITFIELD, O.B.E., Actress. For services to Comedy Drama.

John WILLIAMS, Headteacher, Pen-y-Dre High School, Merthyr Tydfil, South Wales. For services to Secondary School Education.

Alistair James WIVELL, Managing Director, Balfour Beatty Construction Ltd. For services to the Construction Industry

WOOF. For services to the Robert Samuel Wordsworth Trust.

Edward Michael WORLEY, Member, Black Country Development Corporation. For services to the Regeneration of the Black Country.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Giles COODE-ADAMS. For services to Foundation and Friends of the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.

David Kim HEMPLEMAN-ADAMS, M.B.E. For services to Arctic Exploration.

William Robert AINSWORTH. For services to Architecture.

Roger ALDRIDGE, Executive Director, Marks and Spencer Plc. For services to Retail Development and Planning.

Miss Kay ANDREWS, Director, Education Extra. For services to Extra-Curricular Education.

Raymond ANNS, lately Grade 7, Court Fund Office, Lord Chancellor's Department.

Ronald Grant ARMSTRONG. lately Deputy Director-General, Building Societies Association.

For services to the Building Society Movement.

Professor Brian ARNOLD, J.P., Head of School of Science Education, Northern College; Aberdeen. For services to Teacher Training.

Mary Margaret, Mrs. ARNOLD. For services to the

Royal British Legion Women's Section.
Robert Philip AVERY, Principal Lecturer and Russian Interpreter, Ministry of Defence.

James Ashleigh BAIRD. For public service.

George Francis BARLOW, Chief Executive, Peabody Trust. For services to Housing and Regeneration.

Miss Marcia BARTON. For services to Association of Chief Police Officers.

Peter Readwin BATCHELOR. For services to the Home Office Vehicle Crime Prevention Group.

Graham Monro BATES, J.P. For services to the community, especially Scouting and charities, in Bedfordshire.

Miss Thelma Dorothy BATES, Chairman, Health Committee, General Medical Council. For services to Medicine, especially Radiotherapy.

Christopher BATT, Director, Leisure Services, Croydon Borough Council, Surrey. For services to Librarianship and Information Provision.

Professor Seaton Hall BAXTER. For services to Scottish Natural Heritage and to the Environment.

Anthony Peter BELL, Director of Nursing and Joint Commissioning, Liverpool Health Authority. For services to Integrated Health Care.

Graham Alexander BENNET, Q.P.M., Deputy Chief Constable, Fife Constabulary. For services to the

Michael Murray BERTIOLI, Group Engineering Director, Druck. For innovation in the Pressure Measurement Industry

Gaynor, Mrs. BEVAN, Headteacher, Glasbury-on-Wye Primary School, Hereford. For improvements in School Standards.

Beryl, Mrs. BEYNON, Medical Director. For services to the Jacob's Well Appeal.

Miss Jane Sophy BINYON, Head of Personnel Strategy, Policy and Guidance Unit, Health and Safety Executive, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions

Francis McCartney BLEWETT. For services to Conservation in Wiltshire.

Robert John Giles BLOOMER. For services to Rotherham Chamber of Commerce Training and Enterprise.

Aubrey BOULD, Technical Liaison Officer, Plant Varieties and Seeds Division, Ministry Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

John Allan Hyatt BOX, Designer. For services to the Film Industry.

Helen Mary, Mrs. BROWNING. For services to **Organic Farming**

Susan Ann, Mrs. BROWNSON. For services to the Retail Motor Industry Federation.

David Lovell BURBIDGE, D.L. For services to the Coventry Cathedral Development Trust.

James William CALDERWOOD. For services to Orthopaedic Surgery

Egbert Sylvester CARLESS, Chair of Corporation, Handsworth College Group. For services to Education and to the community in Birmingham.

Professor Marcella Anne CHAMBERLAIN, For services to Rheumatological Rehabilitation.

Linford CHRISTIE, M.B.E. For services to Athletics. Professor Matthew Aitken CLARK, Chief Executive, Broads Authority. For services to the Norfolk Broads and to National Park Development.

Miss Veronica Elsie CLAYTON, Professor of Music. For services to the Royal Military School of Music. Betty Enid, Mrs. CODONA. For services to Women's Basketball.

John Warren COLEMAN. For services to Local Government and to Economic Development in Wales.

Miss Elaine Davies COOPER, Section Head, SC6, Department of Health.

Miss Jean COURTNEY, Head of Office, H.M. Board of Inland Revenue.

Thomas James CRAIG. For services to the Police.

Lincoln CRAWFORD. For services to Independent Adoption Service and to Community Relations.

Peter LEWIS-CROWN. For services to the Fashion Industry and for charitable services.

David Hughes DAVIES, D.L., Chairman, Sir Geraint Evans Wales Heart Research Institute Appeal. For services to the community in Wales.