Charles Kingsley ALLATT, B1 Deputy Controller Business Operations, Her Majesty's Board of Inland Revenue.

Richard James Colin ANDERSON, For services to the community and to Industry.

Timothy Morris ANGEL, Chairman, Angels and Bermans. For services to the Theatre, Film and Television.

Peter ARKELL. For services to British-American Community Relations at RAF Fairford, Gloucestershire.

Miranda Sarah, Mrs. ARMITAGE. For services to the British Red Cross Society in North Yorkshire.

Michael Andrew ATHERTÓN. For services to Cricket.

James ATTWOOD. For services to Education in the Construction Industry.

Roy Frederick Victor AYLOTT, City Engineer, Corporation of London. For services to Engineering and to the City of London.

David John BABB, lately Grade 7, Department of Trade and Industry.

George William BARON. For services to the community on Alderney, Channel Islands.

Geoffrey Michael BARWELL. For services to the Royal British Legion.

Trevor Graham BAYLIS, Inventor of the Portable Clockwork Radio. For humanitarian services.

Alfred James BEALE, Member, Board of Governors, Centre for Information on Language Teaching and Research. For services to Education.

Gordon George BEAUMONT, Chairman, Evaluation Advisory Group of the review of NVQs and SVQs. For services to Education.

Professor Ian Crawford BENINGTON. For services to Dentistry.

Michael Robert William BERRY. For services to Training and to Tourism in Cumbria.

Amir BHĀTIA, Member, National Lottery Charities Board. For charitable services.

William Howard BLACKBURN. For services to Franco-British Legal Relations.

Barry John BLAIN, Assistant Project Director, Home Office.

Michael BOND, Writer. For services to Children's Literature.

Professor Margaret Rosetta BRAZIER, Chairman, Animal Procedures Committee. For services to Animal Welfare.

Margaret Anne, Mrs. BRIDGE, Grade 6, Department of Trade and Industry.

John BROADBENT, Chairman, National Council for Voluntary Youth Services. For services to Young People.

John David BROWN, Grade 7, Ministry of Defence. Professor Victoria Geraldine BRUCE, Professor of Psychology and Deputy Principal, University of Stirling. For services to Psychology.

Ann Elizabeth, Mrs. BRUM. For services to the community in Barnet, Hertfordshire.

Anthony Charles BUXTON, Director, Guns and Vehicles, BAe (Royal Ordnance). For services to Engineering and to the Defence Industry.

Kenneth CAMERON, Member, Dumfries and Galloway Council. For services to Local Government.

Andrew Robertson CAMPBELL. For services to Agriculture.

Maurice Donaldson CANTLEY, lately Director, Projects and Marketing, Highland and Islands Enterprise. For services to the Highlands and Islands.

Brian CARLIN. For services to Industry.

Rachel Elizabeth, CARMICHAEL. For services to Health Care in Leicestershire.

Christopher Douglas CARR, Audit Manager, National Audit Office.

Ian James CARRUTHERS, Chief Executive, Dorset Health Authority. For services to Health Care.

Alan Telfer CHAPE, Assistant Chief Executive, Liverpool City Council. For services to Urban Regeneration.

Alfred Guy CHAPPELL, lately Consultant Physician and Clinical Director of Medicine, Bridgend and District NHS Trust. For services to Medicine.

Brian Howard CHARLES, lately Chairman, Dwr Cymru (Welsh Water). For services to the Water Industry.

Peter Eric Gravell CHARLES, lately Grade 7, Health and Safety Executive, Department of the Environment.

Miss Josephine Alicia CHURCHILL. For services to the National Federation of Music Societies.

Alan John CLARK, lately Grade 6, Highways Agency, Department of Transport.

Anthony John CLARK, Divisional Head, Roslin Institute. For services to Biotechnology.

David John CLINCH, Secretary, The Open University. For services to Higher Education.

Robert COCKBURN. For services to Magistracy and to the community in Rotherham, South Yorkshire.

Nicola Constance, Mrs. COGAN, Physiotherapy Officer, Department of Health.

Professor Richard Reginald Rupert TILLEARD-COLE. For services to the Oxford University Officers' Training Corps.

Timothy COOK, Clerk, City Parochial Foundation. For charitable services.

Terry CREISSEN, Principal, Colne Community School, Essex. For services to Education.

Bernard David James CRISP. For services to Soldiers' Sailors' and Airmen's Families Association in London.

Philip CROFT. For services to Disabled People.

Andrew CROFTS, Principal Professional and Technology Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Maneck Ardeshir Sohrab DALAL, Chairman, UK Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan. For services to Community Relations.

Professor Kenneth Jackson DAVEY, Professor of Development Administration, University of Birmingham. For services to the Know How Fund.

Edward John James DAVIES. For services to the community in North Wales.

Martin Neil DAVIES, Assistant Chief Constable, South Yorkshire Police. For services to the Police.

Sylvia Ann, Mrs. DAVIES. For services to Nursing in South East Wales.

Nigel DODDS. For services to Local Government.

Cedric John DOWE, Team Leader, Special Educational Needs Independent Team, Department for Education and Employment.

Ruth, Mrs. DRAYCOTT, Chairman, National Advisory Council of Boards of Visitors. For services to Prisoner Welfare.

Miss Elizabeth DUFFIN. For services to Health Care. Malcolm Coit DUNLOP. For services to Disabled People.