- Eric Douglas Harvey Hoyle, Member of Parliament for Warrington North, 1983-97; (Nelson and Colne, 1974-79; Warrington, 1981-83); Chairman, Parliamentary Labour Party, 1992-97.
- The Right Honourable Richard Douglas Hurd, C.H., C.B.E., Member of Parliament for Witney, 1983-97; (Mid-Oxon, 1974-83); Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, 1984-85; for the Home Department, 1985-89; Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, 1989-95.
- Sir David Russell Johnston, Member of Parliament for Inverness, Nairn and Lochaber, 1983-97; (Inverness, 1964-83); Chairman, Scottish Liberal Party, 1970-74; Leader, Scottish Liberal Party, 1974-88; President, Scottish Liberal Democrats, 1988-94.
- The Right Honourable Thomas Michael Jopling, D.L., Member of Parliament for Westmorland and Lonsdale, 1983-97; (Westmorland, 1964-83); Parliamentary Secretary to H.M. Treasury and Chief Whip, 1979-83; Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, 1983-87.
- Sir Geoffrey LOFTHOUSE, Member of Parliament for Pontefract and Castleford, 1978-97; Deputy Chairman of Ways and Means and Deputy Speaker, House of Commons, 1992-97.
- The Right Honourable Sir Patrick Barnabas Burke MAYHEW, Q.C., Member of Parliament for Tunbridge Wells, 1974-97; Solicitor General, 1983-87; Attorney General, 1987-92; Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, 1992-.
- The Right Honourable Sir James Henry Molyneaux, K.B.E., Member of Parliament for Lagan Valley, 1983-97; (Antrim South, 1970-83); Leader, Ulster Unionist Party, 1979-95.

- The Right Honourable John Haggitt Charles PATTEN, Member of Parliament for Oxford West and Abingdon, 1983-97; (City of Oxford, 1979-83); Secretary of State for Education, 1992-94.

 The Right Honourable Ronald Timothy Renton, Member of Parliament for Mid-Sussex, 1974-97;
- The Right Honourable Ronald Timothy RENTON, Member of Parliament for Mid-Sussex, 1974-97; Parliamentary Secretary to H.M. Treasury and Government Chief Whip, 1989-90; Minister of State, Privy Council Office (Minister for the Arts), 1990-92; Vice Chairman, British Council, since 1992.
- The Right Honourable Richard Andrew RYDER, O.B.E., Member of Parliament for Mid-Norfolk, 1983-97; Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, 1988-89; Economic Secretary to H.M. Treasury, 1989-90; Paymaster General, 1990; Parliamentary Secretary to H.M. Treasury and Government Chief Whip, 1990-95.
- The Right Honourable Peter David SHORE, Member of Parliament for Bethnal Green and Stepney, 1983-97; (Stepney, 1964-74, Stepney and Poplar, 1974-83); Secretary of State for Economic Affairs, 1967-69; Minister Without Portfolio, 1969-70; Deputy Leader of the House of Commons, 1969-70; Opposition spokesman on Europe, 1971-74; Secretary of State for Trade, 1974-76; Secretary of State for the Environment, 1976-79; Opposition spokesman on Foreign Affairs, 1979-80; on Treasury and Economic Affairs, 1980-83; on Trade and Industry, 1983-84; Shadow Leader of the House of Commons, 1984-87.
- The Right Honourable Sir David Martin Scott STEL, K.B.E., D.L., Member of Parliament for Tweeddale, Ettrick and Lauderdale, 1983-97; (Roxburgh, Selkirk and Peebles, 1965-83); Leader of the Liberal Party, 1976-88; President of Liberal International, 1994-96.



Published and printed in the UK by The Stationery Office Limited under the authority and superintendence of Peter Macdonald, Controller of Her Majesty's Stationery Office and Queen's Printer of Acts of Parliament. Price £1.65