Sergeant Michael George LARKMAN (S8117469), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Paul Frederick LINDSAY (8101610), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader (now Wing Commander) William John McCARTHY (0689079), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Peter Godfrey MILES (4232594), Royal Air Force.

Flight Sergeant Kathryn Joy NEEDHAM (E8063202), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Barry Mark NORTH (8028152), Royal Air Force.

Sergeant Charles PAFFETT (B8192047), Royal Air Force Regiment.

Squadron Leader Ian Steven POLLITT (5204578), Royal Air Force.

Junior Technician Brian Mark POWELL (T8253063), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant Derek REDMAN, A.E. (0211984), Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve (Retired).

Flight Lieutenant Bryan Thomas RICHARDSON (8086547), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant Philip Arthur Thomas SHAW, A.E. (0586591), Royal Auxiliary Air Force (Retired).

Sergeant Grenville John SMITH (Q8093433), Royal Air Force (Retired).

Sergeant Barry Raymond TANSWELL (B8189804), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant David Stewart WEBSTER (8023384), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant Raymond Carden WHITTINGHAM (8103787), Royal Air Force.

Order of the British Empire (Civil Division)

D.B.E.

To be Ordinary Dames Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Fiona, Mrs. CALDICOTT, Chairman, the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges and President, the Royal College of Psychiatrists. For services to Medicine. Miss Felicity Ann Emwhyla LOTT, C.B.E. For services to Opera.

Miss Sheila Valerie MASTERS, Partner, KPMG. For services to the Financial Industry.

C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order.

Miss Mary Margaret ANDERSON, Consultant Obstetrician and Gynaecologist, Lewisham Hospital. For services to Medicine.

John Alexander ARMITT, Chief Executive, Union Railways Ltd. For services to the Railway Industry.

Geoffrey ARMSTRONG, Director-General, Institute of Personnel and Development. For services to Industrial Relations.

John Lionel BECKWITH, Vice President, Royal National Institute for the Blind and Patron, Teenage Cancer Trust. For charitable services.

Robert BERESFORD, Group Chairman, Mott Mcdonald Group Ltd. For services to Engineering and to Export.

Professor Alexander BOKSENBERG, F.R.S., lately, Director, the Royal Observatories. For services to Astronomy.

Trevor Courtnay BONNER, Managing Director, GKN Automotive and Agritechnical Products, GKN plc. For services to the Automotive Components Industry.

Christopher William BRASHER, Life President, London Marathon and Vice President, British Orienteering Federation. For services to Sport.

Miss Beata Ann BROOKES. For political service. Ewan BROWN, Director, Noble Grossart. For

services to Banking and to Public Life in Scotland. Richard St. John Vladimir BURTON. For services to Architecture.

Professor Donald CARRUTHERS, lately Director of Roads, Strathclyde Regional Council. For services to Local Government.

Professor Peter John Bell CLARRICOATS, F.R.S., Head, Department of Electronic Engineering, Queen Mary and Westfield College. For services to the Ministry of Defence.

Colonel John Alistair CLEMENCE, T.D., lately Regimental Colonel, London Scottish Regiment, Territorial Army. For services to the Territorial Army.

Miss Julia Charity CLEVERDON (Mrs. Garnett), Chief Executive, Business in the Community. For services to Training and to Equal Opportunities.

Tim William George COLLINS. For political service. Patrick Laurence COMBES, lately Professional and Technology Director Grade A, Ministry of Defence.

Peter John COOK, Director, British Geological Survey. For scientific services to industry.

Allan Gerald CORLESS, lately Chief Executive, West Glamorgan County Council. For services to Local Government.

Dan CROMPTON, Q.P.M., Her Majesty's Inspector of Constabulary. For services to the Police.

Derek Lewis DAVIES. For services to Business and to the community in North West England.

Miss Edna Nansi Margaret DAVIES, lately Grade 5, Welsh Office.

Michael Shillito Trevelyan DOWER, lately Director General, Countryside Commission. For services to Conservation and Countryside Recreation.

Archibald Hugh DUBERLY, D.L., lately National President, Country Landowners' Association. For services to the Rural Community.

Professor Evelyn Algernon Valentine EBSWORTH, Vice Chancellor and Warden, University of Durham. For services to Higher Education.

Professor Andrew ELKINGTON, President, Royal College of Ophthalmologists. For services to Medicine.

The Reverend Donald ENGLISH. For services to World Methodism.

Alun EVANS, O.B.E., Chairman, British Wool Marketing Board and Chairman, Welsh Food Promotions. For services to Agriculture.

Professor Lawrence David FREEDMAN, Professor of War Studies, King's College, London. For services to Defence Studies.

Christopher Michael GABLE, Artistic Director, Northern Ballet Theatre. For services to Dance.

Paul GALLAGHER, lately Health and Safety Commissioner. For services to Health and Safety.

Jack GEE, lately Grade 5, Department of the Environment.