Captain Herbert Franklin SPENCER, R.N. (Retd), Co-ordinator, ODA's Emergency Engineering Unit. For humanitarian services in the former Yugoslavia.

Roy STAPLES, T.D. For services to the community in Spalding, Lincolnshire.

John Carwin STEWART, lately Director of Finance and Deputy Chief Executive, Dumfries and Galloway Regional Council. For services to Local Government.

Thomas STUTTAFORD. For political service.

Robin James Harry SUMPTER, Chairman, Scunthorpe Social Security Tribunal. For services to the community in Scunthorpe, Humberside.

Peter Charles SWAIN, Director, Living Options East Devon. For services to Disabled People.

Marney Jane, Mrs. SWAN. For political service.

Peter Simon TANNER, Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.

David Scott TENNET, Managing Director, GEC Marconi Defence Systems. For services to the Defence Industry.

Brian THAXTER, D.L. For services to the community in Merseyside.

Bernard THOMAS, lately Works Director, Sekisui. For services to Industry in South Wales.

John Hugh THOMAS. For services to Music in Wales.

Roger John THOMPSON, Chairman and Managing Director, Guide Friday Ltd. For services to Tourism.

Thomas Walter THOMPSON, Director of Planning and Transportation, Leicestershire County Council. For services to Civil Engineering and to Highway Maintenance.

Edward David Macrae TOD, President, National Association of Fundholding Practices. For services to Medicine.

Helen Patricia, Mrs. TOFT, Chief Waste Regulation Officer. For services to Waste Regulation.

Graham Alfred TREADWELL, Grade 7, Home Office.

Miss Joanna TROLLOPE, Novelist. For services to Literature.

Barbara, Mrs. VAUGHAN, Chair, Scottish Community Education Council and Team Leader of Public Administration, Leisure and Tourism, Angus College. For services to Education.

The Reverend Michael David VOCKINS. For services to Cricket.

Graeme Murray WALKER. For services to Broadcasting and to Motor Sports.

John WALTON, Deputy District Valuer, H.M. Board of Inland Revenue.

Leslie Howard WALTON, Headteacher, Norham Community High School, North Tyneside. For services to Education.

George McIlroy WANLESS, lately Chairman, East Lothian District Council. For services to Local Government in Scotland.

Arthur Ronald Dare WATKINS. For services to the Globe Theatre.

Cecilia Emily, Mrs. WELLS, Equal Opportunities Commissioner. For services to Equal Opportunities.

Eric WELSH, Managing Director, Tees Dockyard Ltd. For services to the Shipbuilding Industry.

Ronald Edmund WESTON, lately Member, National Rivers Authority. For services to Conservation.

Alan Reynolds WESTWELL, Chief Executive and Managing Director, Greater Manchester Buses North Ltd. For services to Public Transport in Greater Manchester.

Frank WESTWELL, Grade 6, Department of Health.

Sir James Herbert Ingham WHITAKER, Bt. For services to Atlantic College, West Glamorgan and to Young People.

Raymond Carson WHITE, B.E.M. For services to the Police.

Robert Ian Kirkland WHITE, lately Chief Estates Officer, Scottish Office.

Joan Marie, Mrs. WIGGALL, M.B.E. For services to the British Red Cross Society in Hertfordshire.

Henry Russell WILKINSON, lately Director of Accounting Practice, Audit Commission. For services to Accountancy and to Local Government.

John Kenneth WILLIAMS. For services to the Soldiers', Sailors' and Airmen's Families Association.

Michael Ian WILLIS, Chief Executive, West Country Ambulance Services NHS Trust. For services to the Ambulance Service.

Anthony Wilfred WILSHAW, Grade 7, Department for Education and Employment.

Catherine Mary, Mrs. WILSON, Director, Norfolk Museums Service. For services to Museums and Galleries.

David Thomas Robison WILSON. For political and public service.

Derrick Raymond WILSON. For services to the Coal Trade Benevolent Association.

Dinah Mary, Mrs. WINSTONE, Head of Radiography, Breast Test Wales. For services to Health Care.

Anthea, Mrs. WORSDALL, Secretary, Anti-Counterfeiting Group. For services to Industry.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order.

Betty, Mrs. ABBOTT, Voluntary Services Co-ordinator, East Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust. For services to Health Care.

Joan Mary, Mrs. ABBOTT. For services to the community in and around West Wittering, West Sussex.

Robina Gordon, Mrs. ADDISON. For services to the community in Montrose, Angus.

Daphne Jean, Mrs. AGNEW, Admissions Manager, Housing Department, Birmingham City Council. For services to Local Government.

Farhad AHMED, Divisional Officer, Metropolitan Special Constabulary. For services to the Police.

Philip John AINDOW, T.D., Higher Executive Officer, Department of Social Security.

Russell AINSLEY, Executive Officer, H.M. Board of Customs and Excise.

Shireen, Mrs. AKBAR, Head of Adult and Community Education, Victoria and Albert

Miss Diana Marie, ALDERSON. For services to the community in Haddenham, Buckinghamshire.

Dylis, Mrs. ALLEN, Youth Worker, Talaton, Devon. For services to Young People.