Rita, Mrs. MATCHAM, Member, Royal British Legion, Women's Section, Canterbury.

James MATHIESON, Officer in Charge, Her Majesty's Board of Inland Revenue.

Denis MATTHEWS, Managing Director, Mathbirk Ltd. For services to the Textile Machinery Industry. Miss Margaret MAXWELL. For services to

Architecture.

Miss Kathleen Elizabeth MAYO, lately Assistant Librarian, Atherstone Library, Warwickshire. For services to Librarianship.

Doreen, Mrs. MAYTOM, lately Senior Personal Secretary, Her Majesty's Treasury.

Janet Cameron, Mrs. McCABE, Principal Pharmacist in Drug Information, Glasgow Royal Infirmary. For services to Health Care.

David McCALLUM, Director of Access and Learner Services, Motherwell College. For services to Education.

Priscilla Cornwallis, Mrs. McCAUSLAND, Secretary, Medical Commission on Accident Prevention. For services to Motoring and to Road Safety.

James Hamilton McCOLL. For services t Horticulture.

Norma, Mrs. McCONVILLE. For services to Housing.

Mary Barbara, Mrs. McDERMOTT. For services to the community in Portsmouth, Hampshire.

Miss Isabella Crawford McDOWELL. For services to the community.

Daphne June, Mrs. McGLASHAN, lately Typist, Cabinet Office.

Jean Watson, Mrs. McGLASHAN, Head Night Porter, Buchanan Arms Hotel, Drymen, Dunbartonshire. For services to the Hotel Industry. Michael Leo McGOLDRICK. For services to the Police.

Catriona Orr, Mrs. McINNES, Principal Teacher, Computing Studies, Boroughmuir High School, Edinburgh. For services to Education.

Shirley Janet, Mrs. McINTOSH. For services to Shooting.

Rosemary Buchanan, Mrs. McINTYRE. For services to the British Red Cross Society.

Neil McKECHNIE, Member, Ross and Cromarty District Council. For services to the community in Ross-shire.

Neville Desmond McKEE. For services to Nature Conservation.

Robert Mervyn McKEOWN. For services to the British Red Cross Society.

Alice Miller, Mrs. McLAREN. For political and public service.

Norman Francis McLARNON. For services to the Telecommunications Industry.

Andrew McLELLAND. For services to the community in Castlemilk, Glasgow.

Peter McNALLY, Senior Executive Officer, Department of Health.

Graham McSWEENEY, Honorary Secretary, League of Friends, Halton General Hospital, Runcorn, Cheshire. For services to the community.

Jean, Mrs. McVITTY. For services to the community, particularly to Tourism.

Satish Chander MEHTA, General Medical Practitioner, Cheshire. For services to Medicine.

Oliver Norman MENHINICK, Head of Horticulture, Lackham College, Wiltshire. For services to Horticulture Education.

Alexander Peter MENZIES, Section Supervisor, Cumbria Special Constabulary. For services to the Police.

Jeffrey Martin MIDDLECOTE. For services to the Royal Observatories.

William Harold MILLAR, lately Higher Executive Officer, Home Office.

Colin Michael MILLINGTON, Key Packer, Premier Beverages. For services to the Food Industry.

William MILLS, Watch Officer, the Coastguard Agency, Department of Transport.

William Frederick John MINNS. For services to the community in Sparsholt, Winchester.

Robert MOODIE. For political service.

Elizabeth Brenda, Mrs. MOORE, lately Administrative Officer, Department of Social Security.

Frank Charles MORGAN. For services to the community in Williton District, Taunton, Somerset.

Peter Gerard MORGAN, Chairman, Management Committee, Hertford Citizens' Advice Bureau. For services to Consumer Protection.

Terence Graham MORLEY, Sub-Officer (Retained), Gloucestershire Fire and Rescue Service. For services to the Fire Service.

Barry Frederic MORRIS. For services to Tourism in Blackpool, Lançashire.

Peter Jackson MORTIMER, T.D., Assistant Chief Probation Officer, Suffolk Probation Service. For services to the Probation Service.

Alan Frederick MOUNT, Clerk of Works/Stone Mason, Magdalen College, University of Oxford. For services to Conservation.

Charmaine, Mrs. MOVERLEY, lately Higher Executive Officer, Ministry of Defence.

William George MOWAT. For services to the community in Caithness.

Jessie, Mrs. MUIRY, Social Work Assistant, Grampian Regional Council, Moray Division. For services to Social Work.

Robert Ivan MUMFORD, lately Chairman, Dial-a-Ride, South Bedfordshire. For services to the Mobility of Disabled People.

Miss Mary Kathleen MURBY, Secretary, UN Association, Church Stretton, Shropshire.

Hazel, Mrs. MURPHY, Member, War Pensions Committee, Glamorgan and Gwent and Secretary, War Widow's Association of Great Britain.

Sean Brendan MURPHY, Headteacher, Our Lady of Lourdes Roman Catholic Primary School, Stonebridge, Brent, Middlesex. For services to Education.

Annie Eliza, Mrs. MUSK. For services to the Thanet Healthcare Trust, Kent.

Christopher Robert MUSSON, Aerial Investigator, Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales.

Horace MYERS, lately Clerk, Sacriston Parish Council, Co Durham. For services to Local Government.

Clara, Mrs. NAHON. For services to the Spanish and Portuguese Synagogue, London.

Diana Rosemary, Mrs. NEEDHAM, Officer in Charge, Mother and Baby Unit, Browning House, Leeds. For services to Health Care.

Ivy, Mrs. NEEDHAM. For services to the Maxwell Pensioners.