Richard Inglis HILL, Director of Roads and Transportation, Borders Regional Council. For services to Local Government.

Sir Timothy Edward Charles HOARE, Bt. For services to the Church of England.

Major Christopher Basil HOLDEN, Assistant Chief Inspecting Officer of Railways, Health and Safety Executive, Department of the Environment.

Tessa Christine, Mrs. HOLDROYD. For political service.

David John HOLLIDAY, Assistant Collector, Her Majesty's Customs and Excise.

John Christopher HOLLMAN, lately Grade 7, Department of Health.

Brian Reginald HOMER, lately Chairman, Devon Magistrates' Courts Committee. For services to the Magistracy in South West England.

Michael John HORNE, Head of Information, World War II Commemorations Team. For services to the VE/VJ Day Commemorations.

Miss Patricia Julie HORSMAN, Inspector, Her Majesty's Board of Inland Revenue.

Alan HOUGHTON, lately Director, Northern Group, British Coal Corporation. For services to the Coal Industry.

Eileen Marguerite, Mrs. HOUNSELL, President, British Red Cross Society, West Midlands.

James Kenneth HUMBLE, Chief Executive, Local Authority Co-ordinating Body on Food and Trading Standards. For services to Trading Standards.

Colonel Robert Dow HUNTER, M.C., T.D., D.L. For services to Clubs for Young People, Surrey.

David Stephens, HYSLOP, lately Director, Breakthrough Trust. For services to Deaf People. James Anthony IDDISON. For services to Industrial Tribunals.

Richard Anthony JAMES, Senior Gas Engineer, Sarajevo. For humanitarian services in the former Yugoslavia.

Roy Harvey JOHNSTONE, lately Chairman, Medical Appeal Tribunals.

David JONES, Superintendent of Parks and Gardens, Corporation of London. For services to Horticulture.

Robert Gerallt JONES. For services to the Arts, particularly Literature, in Wales.

Thomas Henry JONES. For services to Agriculture in Wales.

Dennis KEECH, Chairman, Automotive Components Dunstable, Automould and Mitapres Ltd, Stroud. For services to the Motor Manufacturing Industry.

Professor Gilbert KELLING, Professor of Geology, Keele University. For services to Environmental Protection.

David Francis KESSLER. For services to the Jewish Chronicle and to the Jewish community.

Desmond Reginald KETTLE. For services to Blind People.

William KEYS. For services to the Fire Service.

Harry Donald KITCHIN, Managing Director, Bournlea Instruments Ltd. For services to the Defence Industry.

Geoffrey KNOWLES. For political service.

The Reverend David Doig LAING, Chair, Strathclyde Region Social Work Committee and Vice Convener, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities Social Work Committee. For services to Local Government in Scotland.

Timothy James LAWES. For political service.

Alan Dawes LEA. For services to the Magistracy in Lincolnshire.

John Anthony LEWIS, Principal, Dixons City Technology College, Bradford. For services to Education.

Miss Frances Mary LINE, Controller, BBC Radio 2. For services to Radio Broadcasting.

David Owen LLOYD, Director and Partner, Sir William Halcrow & Partners Ltd. For services to Engineering.

Allan Anthony MacDONALD, lately Managing Director, Jetstream Aircraft Ltd. For services to the Aviation Industry.

Charles Thomas MACER, Grade 7, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

George MACGREGOR. For services to Amateur Golf.

James Geoffrey MACHIN. For services to Forestry. Graham Roche MACKENZIE, Member, School Curriculum and Assessment Authority. For services to Education.

Hugh Robertson MACKINTOSH, Scottish Director of Child Care, Barnardo's. For services to Young People.

Hugh Archie MacFadyen MacLEAN, lately Chairman, Crofters Commission. For services to Crofting.

John David MacMILLAN, Principal Professional and Technology Officer, Ministry of Defence.

David John MAIDMENT, Controller, Safety Policy, Safety and Standards Directorate, Railtrack. For services to the Railway Industry.

Kenneth John MAIR, Farmer. For services to Agriculture in Aberdeenshire.

Ronald George MANLEY, Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Colin John MANNING, D.L. For services to the Magistracy in Hereford and Worcester.

Professor Shula Eta MARKS, Professor of Southern Africa History, University of London. For services to History.

Clive Edwin MARTIN, Assistant Controller, Her Majesty's Board of Inland Revenue.

Frank Charles MASON. For political and public service.

Patrick Camillus McALEAVEY. For services to Education.

Ian Gilchrist McBAIN, Director, Scottish Council for Spastics. For charitable services.

Patricia, Mrs. McCOY. For services to Physiotherapy. Kevin McDONALD, Chairman and Managing Director, Polypipe plc. For services to the Plumbing Industry.

Norbert James McEWAN, Grade 7, Ministry of Defence.

Richard James MEADOWS, Grade 6, Her Majesty's Treasury.

Professor Isi METZSTEIN. For services to Architecture.

Graham MIFFLIN, Deputy District Inspector, Her Majesty's Board of Inland Revenue.

George Richardson MILLER, lately National Chairman, Royal British Legion Scotland.

Gordon Stopford MILLINGTON. For services to Civil Engineering.