John Garrett SPEIRS, Managing Director, Norsk Hydro (UK) Ltd. For services to Business and the Environment.

Bernard Arthur SPERRING, lately Grade 4, Highways Agency, Department of Transport.

James STOBO, O.B.E. For services to Agriculture. Derek John THOMAS, lately Chief Executive, Surrey County Council. For services to Local Government.

Jill, Mrs. PATON-WALSH, Writer. For services to Children's Literature.

Raymond WHITE, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Dyfed Powys Police. For services to the Police.

Paul Randall WILLIAMS, Chairman and Chief Executive, Council for the Central Laboratory of the Research Councils. For services to Science.

Peter John WOOD, Chairman, Direct Line Insurance plc. For services to the Insurance Industry.

Evan Clive WOODCOCK, Chief Crown Prosecutor, Crown Prosecution Service.

James WYNESS, Lord Provost, City of Aberdeen District Council. For services to Local Government in Scotland.

Patricia, Mrs. WYNNE, O.B.E. For political and public service.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Kenneth ADAM, Production Designer. For services to the Film Industry.

Hamish Christopher ADAMSON, lately Director (International), Law Society. For services to the Legal Profession.

Sunday Prince AKPABIO, lately Clinical Lecturer on Oral Health, University College Hospital, London and Consultant Adviser to the World Health Organisation. For services to Medicine and Dentistry.

James Hodgson ARMSTRONG. For services to Engineering and to Education.

Graham John ARTHURS, Consultant Anaesthetist, Ysbyty Maelor General Hospital, Wrecsam, Clwyd. For services to Medicine.

Janet Marjorie, Mrs. ATKINSON. For services to Education.

The Reverend Wilbert Vere AWDRY. For services to Children's Literature.

The Reverend Lionel William Rupert BACON. For services to Homeless People and to Toc H in Worthing, West Sussex.

Arup Kumar BANERJEE, lately Consultant Geriatric Physician and Medical Director, Bolton Hospitals NHS Trust. For services to Medicine.

Michael Charles BANKS, Joint Managing Director, Sidney C. Banks plc. For services to the Arable Crops Industry.

Arthur Robert BARLOW, Deputy Surveyor, New Forest, Forestry Commission.

Thomas Myles BARRIE, Deputy Chairman, Cumbernauld Development Corporation. For services to Industry.

Leonard Richard BAYS, lately Secretary General, International Water Supply Association. For services to the Water Industry.

Edward William BEDDOES, Technical Director, Vodafone Group plc. For scientific services to the Communications Industry.

Campbell Jocelyn Hargreaves BENJAMIN, Mayor 1993-94, Deputy Mayor 1994-95, Bolton Metropolitan Borough Council. For services to Local Government.

Professor Michael David BENNETT, Keeper, Jodrell Laboratory, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.

Fredric William Priestley BENTLEY. For services to the Prisons Board.

Pauline Patricia, Mrs. BLOW. For political service. James Edward BODDY, Regional Director, Frank Graham Consulting Engineers Ltd. For services to Highway Maintenance and to Civil Engineering.

Jean Margaret, Mrs. BOOKER, Grade 7, Welsh Office.

Alan John BOTT, Director, P&O Containers Ltd. For services to Shipping.

Brian Thomas Edward BOYLE, Headteacher, Anfield Community Comprehensive School, Liverpool. For services to Education.

Paul Robert BRANKIN. For services to Export to Japan.

Noreen Anne, Mrs. BRAY, Equal Opportunities Commissioner for Wales. For services to Equal Opportunities.

Michael Anthony BROUGHAM, Grade 6, Department of Social Security.

Nicholas Paul BROWN. For political and public service.

Peter Ronald BUCKLEY, Chairman and Group Chief Executive, Penspen Ltd. For services to Export.

Brian BURCH, lately Chief Librarian, University of Leicester. For services to Librarianship.

John BURROWS, Chairman, FMC Corporation (UK) Ltd. For services to Business in North West England.

John BURY, Chairman, Social Services Committee, Association of County Councils. For services to the Social Services.

Ian CAMPBELL, Principal Agricultural Officer, Scottish Office.

Commander Peter Colin Drummond CAMPBELL, L.V.O., D.L. For services to the VE/VJ Day Commemorations in Northern Ireland.

Brigadier William Douglas CANTLEY, M.B.E., Chief Executive, Tribute and Promise. For services to the VE/VJ Day Commemorations.

Professor Lawrence John CHALLIS, Lancashire-Spencer Professor of Physics, University of Nottingham. For services to Scientific Research.

Alan Maxwell CHESTER, Official Receiver (B), Insolvency Service, Department of Trade and Industry.

David Ernest CHIVERTON, Chairman of the Governing Body, Chichester College of Arts, Science and Technology. For services to Education.

Charles Graham CLARK, Governor 1, Her Majesty's Prison Wandsworth.

William Coia CLARK, Grade 7, Ministry of Defence.

Robert CLASPER, lately head of MOD's Project for Independent Safety Assessment and Advice, AEA Technology Consultancy Services, UKAEA. For services to the Defence Industry.

Nigel Hugh CLUTTON. For services to the Crown Estate and to the Church Commissioners.

Betty, Mrs. COHEN. For services to the community in Manchester and Tameside.