Jack JEFFERY, Chairman and Managing Director, North Surrey Water Ltd. For services to the Water Industry.

Jeremy James JERRAM, Member, British Railways Board. For services to the Railway Industry.

Christopher David GLYN-JONES, Grade 5, Ministry of Defence.

Elisabeth Audrey, Mrs. JONES, O.B.E. For political and public service.

arry JONES, Chairman, Labour Group, Association of District Councils and Leader, Harry Council of Wales Districts. For services to Local Government in Wales.

Sara, Mrs. JONES. For services to Ex-Service Men and Women.

David LEWIS. For charitable services.

Robert Charles William LUFF, Founder and Director, Robert Luff Charitable Foundation. For charitable services to Medical Research.

Peter James Scott LUMSDEN, Chairman, Special Trustees, St Thomas' Hospital, London. For services to Health Care.

Heathcote MALLINSON, Michael Chairman, Department of the Environment's Property Holdings Agency Board. For services to the Property Industry.

Terence Francis MATHEWS, lately Grade 4, Building Societies Commission.

James McADAM, Chairman, British Apparel and Textile Confederation. For services to the Textile and Clothing Industries.

Thomas Joseph McCOOL, Chief Executive, Scottish Vocational Education Council. For services to Education.

John Blyth McDOWALL, Executive Director, British Steel. For services to the Steel Industry in Wales.

Rosemary, Mrs. McKENNA, President, Convention of Scottish Local Authorities. For services to Local Government in Scotland.

Hector John Finlayson McLEAN, Appointments Secretary to the Archbishops of Canterbury and York. For services to the Church of England.

Leif Anthony MILLS, General Secretary, Banking, Insurance and Finance Union. For services to Industrial Relations and to Training.

Kenneth Joseph MINTON, Chief Executive and Group Managing Director, Laporte plc. For services to the Chemicals Industry.

Robert Michael NICHOLLS, Director, Executive. For services to Health Care.

Patrick O'BRIAN, Author. For services to Literature. David Joseph O'DOWD, Q.P.M., Her Majesty's Inspector of Constabulary, Eastern Region. For services to the Police.

Edward O'NEILL. For political service.

Miss Onora Sylvia O'NEILL, Principal, Newnham College, University of Cambridge. For services to Political Philosophy.

Professor Derek OGSTON, Professor of Medicine and Vice Principal, University of Aberdeen. For services to Medicine and to Education.

Alan William PARKER, Film Director. For services to the Film Industry.

Peter Anthony Lawrence PARKER, Grade 5, Department of Employment. Brian Harold PEARCE, Chairman, Pearce Signs

Group. For services to Industry.

Martin Roger PERRY. For political service.

Brian William PETLEY, Grade 5, National Physical Laboratory, Department of Trade and Industry.

Patrick Robert PRENTER, Chairman and Managing Director, MacTaggart Scott and Company Ltd. For services to the Defence Industry.

Iain Alasdair ROBERTSON, Chief Executive, Highlands and Islands Enterprise. For services to

the Highlands and Islands.

Alan Walter RUDGE, O.B.E., Deputy Group Managing Director, British Telecommunications plc. For services to the Telecommunications Industry.

John Henry RUSSELL, Chairman, Japan Trade Advisers. For services to Export.

Jonathan SCOTT, Chairman, Reviewing Committee on the Export of Works of Art and Trustee, Imperial War Museum. For services to Art and to Museums.

John Francis SHARPE, Grade 5, Department of Health.

David John SHATTOCK, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Avon and Somerset Constabulary. For services to the Police.

Martin Stephen SHELTON, lately Corporation Secretary, British Coal Corporation. For services to the Coal Industry.

Bernard David SHORT, Grade 4, Department for Education.

Richard John SIMMONS. For political and public service.

Peter William SMALLRIDGE, Director of Social Services, Kent County Council. For services to Social Work.

Alan SMITH, M.B.E., Chairman, National Advisory on Employment of People with Disabilities. For services to the Employment of Disabled People.

George Kenneth SMITH. For services to Rugby Union Football.

Ronald Dennis Neale SOMERVILLE, Chairman of Governors, the City Technology Kingshurst, Solihull. For services to Education.

Robert Edward SPENCER, Grade 5, Ministry of Defence.

John Maurice STODDART, Principal and Vice Chancellor, Sheffield Hallam University. For services to Higher Education.

Charles Murray STUART, lately Deputy Chairman, the Audit Commission. For services to the Audit Commission.

John TOWERS, Chief Executive, Rover Group Ltd. For services to the Motor Manufacturing Industry.

Reginald Charles TYRRELL, lately Chairman, National Trust for Scotland. For services to Conservation.

Peter UPTON, Director of Operations, Valuation Office Agency, Her Majesty's Board of Inland Revenue.

Charles John Prendergast VEREKER, D.L., Leader, Group, Conservative Warwickshire County Council. For services to Local Government.

Ernest John Munro WALKER, O.B.E., lately Chairman, Health Education Board for Scotland. For services to Health Education in Scotland.

Daniel Blair WALLACE, M.B.E. For services to the Police.

John MacQueen WARD. For services to Industry and to Public Life in Scotland.

Miss Judith WEIR, Composer. For services to Music. Peter WETZEL, Chairman, Barnsley and Doncaster Training and Enterprise Council. For services to Training.