BRUCE, Alistair Alexander Group Scout Leader/Cub Leader, 3rd Tweeddale Scout Troop. For services to Scouting and to the community in Peeblesshire.

John BRYANT, lately Leading Research Worker,

Forestry Commission.

Kingsley Frederick BRYANT, Shop Development Manager, European Service, NAAFI. For services to Retailing.

Judith, Mrs. BUCKLAND, D.L., Chair, Arundel Festival. For services to the Arts.

Anthony George BUCKLE, Porter. For services to the Covent Garden Market Authority.

Jane Audrey, Mrs. BUGG, Chairman of Governors, Lord Williams VC School, Thame, Oxfordshire. For services to Education.

Peter Adrian BULL. For charitable services.

John Callander BURN, General Medical Practitioner, Brampton, Cumbria. For services to Medicine.

Miss Jean Esther BURNETT, Executive Officer, Department of Social Security.

Leslie George BURNHAM, T.D., Secretary, 48th Tank Regiment Association. For services to Ex-Servicemen.

John Peter BURSON. For services to Mountain Rescue in Wales.

Anthony Ernest Graham BUTCHER, Divisional Officer, Special Constabulary, Essex Police. For services to the Police.

Graham John BUTCHER, Senior Technical Officer, ACPO No. 2 Region. For services to the Police.

Brenda, Mrs. BUTLER, Chief Commandant, Special Constabulary, Kent County Constabulary. For services to the Police.

Eric Arthur BYRNE, A.E., Chairman, Crime Prevention Panel, Avon and Somerset. For services to Crime Prevention.

Thomas John BYRNE, Professional and Technology Officer, Department of Health and Social Services. Dilys, Mrs. CADOGAN. For services to the

community, particularly the National Eisteddfodau,

in Swansea.

Miss Jean Caroline CAHM, National Co-ordinator, Buswatch and Chairman, National Federation of Bus Users. For services to Public Transport. Marie Georgina, Mrs. CALLAGHAN, lately Support

Grade Band 1, Department for Education.

Michael John CALVERT, D.L. For services to the community in Surrey.

John CAMPBELL. For services to Young People. Ronald Desmond CAMPBELL, D.F.C., A.F.C. Chairman, British Light Aviation Centre and Chairman, UK Aircraft Owners' and Pilots' Association. For services to Civil Aviation.

Thomas Geoffrey CAMPION. For services to Imperial Pensioners' Action Call.

Stella, Mrs. CANCIANI. For services to the NHS in South Wales.

John CANNON, Textile Engineer, Dangerfield Mill, Hawick. For services to the Industrial Heritage of the Borders.

Arthur Douglas CANTWELL. For political service. David CARGILL, lately Mechanic, Arbroath Royal Lifeboat Station, National Lifeboat Institution. For services to Safety at Sea.

Derek Stanley CARR, lately Sub-Officer (Retained), Durham County Fire and Rescue Brigade. For services to the Fire Service.

George William CARR. For services to the Stars Organisation supporting Action for People with Cerebral Palsy.

Miss Beryl Jessie CARRINGTON, Reporter, Herts Advertiser. For services to Journalism.

Sylvia Marjorie Rose, Mrs. CARTER, lately Administrative Officer, Radiocommunica Agency, Department of Trade and Industry. Radiocommunications

Betty, Mrs. CARTMAN. For services to Disabled People in Staffordshire.

Ivan Samuel CASKEY. For services to the Fire Service.

Miss Beryl Jean CASTLES, lately Personal Secretary, Overseas Development Administration.

James CAUNCE, Member, St. Helens Metropolitan Borough Council. For services to Local Government.

Vera Joyce, Mrs. CHANDLER, lately Support Grade Band 2, Department of the Environment.

Sheila Rose, Mrs. CHARLES. For services to the NHS in South Glamorgan.

Zena Averill Philomen, Mrs. EDMUND-CHARLES. For services to the community in Leytonstone,

CHARLTON. Chairperson, Ann. Mrs. Cleveland Multiple Sclerosis Society. For services to Health Care.

Miss Madeline Marjorie CHETHAM. For services to Animal Welfare in Devon.

B.E.M., Alan CHIPPERFIELD, Chief Clerk, Admission Order Office, House of Commons.

Mary, Mrs. CHRISTMAS, Support Grade Band 1, Department of Trade and Industry.

Kate, Mrs. CHRISTOPHERSON. For services to the community in Salisbury, Wiltshire.

Barbara Joyce, Mrs. CHURCH, President, Friends of Eastbourne Hospitals. For services to Health

Beryl, Mrs. CLABER. For services to the National Trust in Cheshire.

James CLARKE, Consultant, Road Engineering. For humanitarian services in Tanzania.

Norah Betty, Mrs. CLARKE, Secretary, Probation London Service Retired Association. For services to the Probation Service.

Andrew John CLEAVE, Warden, Bramley Frith Study Centre, Hampshire County Council. For services to Environmental Education.

William Thomson Mercer CLEGHORN. For services to the Accountancy Profession.

Miss Susan COBBOLD, Senior Personal Secretary, Welsh Office.

Gordon Pearce COCKBURN, Business Development Director, Young Engineers, the Conference on Schools' Science and Technology. For services to Engineering Education.

ans Herman COHN, International Officer, National Federation of the Blind and Editor, Hans Viewpoint. For services to the Mobility of Disabled

Bryan Sydney COKER, Chairman, Governing Body, Palmers' College, Thurrock, Essex. For services to Education.

Elizabeth Margaret, Mrs. COLE, lately Auxiliary Coastguard, Operations Room Assistant, Marine Rescue Co-ordination Centre, Swansea. For services to Safety at Sea.

Marie, Mrs. COLLIER, Support Grade Band 1, Her Majesty's Treasury.

Beryl Ann, Mrs. COLLINS, Personal Secretary, Health and Safety Executive, Department of Employment.