John Christopher RIGG, Chairman, Vega Group plc and Triad Special Systems Ltd. For services to the Space Industry.

Terence Arthur ROBERTS, Head, Microbiology Department, Institute of Food Research. For services to the Safety of Food.

Jennifer, Mrs. ROBSON, President, Northumbria Tourist Board. For services to Tourism.

Brian Adrian ROEBUCK, lately Forest District Manager, Forestry Commission.

Lewis Michael ROSE. For political and public service. Michael Samuel ROSENBERG, Member, Hong Kong Action Committee, Asia Pacific Advisory Group. For services to Export.

Donald John ROSKILLY, Technical Director, National Listening Library. For services to Blind

and other Disabled People.

Gerard ROSS, Governor 2, Her Majesty's Prison Leicester.

John ROSS. For services to the community in Chester. Samuel Russell ROWBOTHAM, Director of Housing, City of Dundee District Council. For services to Local Government.

Paul Chandrasekharan SABAPATHY, Chair, Finance and Audit Committee, Birmingham Heartlands Development Corporation. For services to Urban Regeneration.

Anthony Edward Jonathan SANDERS, Managing Director, Mouchel Management Ltd. For services to Civil Engineering.

Peter Arthur SAUNDERS, Chairman and Managing Director, Halo Foods Ltd. For services to Industry in Wales.

Bernard McAuley SCOTT, Member, Strathclyde Regional Council. For services to Local Government.

Lewis Cross SCOTT, lately Vice President, Cambuslang Operations and Floorcare Operations (Europe), Hoover Ltd. For services to Manufacturing in Scotland.

Marie Elizabeth Ann, Mrs. SCULLY, Chairman, Domestic Coal Consumers' Council. For services

to Consumer Protection.

Henry Charles SEYMOUR, Managing Director, Britdoc Ltd. For services to the Document Exchange Industry.

John Bernard SHELLEY, lately Treasurer, Association of Charitable Foundations. For charitable services.

Brian Walter SHERRATT, Headmaster, Great Barr Grant-maintained School, Birmingham. For services to Education.

John Warren SHIPLEY. For political and public service.

Eunice, Mrs. SIMPKINS, Grade 7, Her Majesty's Board of Customs and Excise.

Dorothy Isobel, Mrs. SIMPSON. For services to Education.

Professor Hugh Cameron SIMPSON, Chairman, Advisory Committee on the Safety of Nuclear Installations Research sub-Committee. For services to the Nuclear Industry.

Harry Bruce SINGER, T.D., D.L., Honorary Treasurer, Soldiers', Sailors' and Airmen's Families Association.

Miss Delia SMITH, Cookery Writer and Broadcaster.
Peter LAWSON-SMITH, Director and Founder
Chairman, National Inspection Council Quality
Assurance Ltd. For services to Consumer
Protection.

Timothy Francis STATHAM. For political service.

Graham Charles STEMP, Grade 6,
Radiocommunications Agency, Department of
Trade and Industry.

Hans Fergus STEWART, Area Chairman, Sea Cadet Corps, For services to Young People.

Andrew STUNELL. For political service.

William McNeil STYLES, Chairman of Council, Royal College of General Practitioners. For services to Medicine.

Michael Arthur SUMMERSBY. For political and public service.

Charles Wilfred David SUTCLIFFE, D.L., Chairman and Joint Managing Director, Benson Turner Ltd. For services to the Textile Industry. John William SUTCLIFFE, Operational Manager,

Her Majesty's Board of Inland Revenue.

Rosalind, Mrs. SUTTON, Grade 7, Department of Employment.

Michael William SWALLOW. For services to Music Therapy and Arts for Disabled People.

John Pinder TABERNER, lately External Relations Director, Eurotunnel. For services to Engineering and to the Channel Tunnel Project.

Kenneth Rowland THOMAS, Member, Occupational Pensions Board.

William David THOMAS. For services to Local Government in Wales.

John David Frederick Michael THORNTON, Director, T and D Industries plc. For services to the Metal and Plastics Industries.

John Arthur WELLS-THORPE. For services to Architecture.

The Reverend Peter TIMMS. For services to Prisoner Welfare.

Donald Hamilton TOD, M.B.E. Chairman, Liverpool Health Authority. For services to Health Care

John TOOTHILL, National Park Officer, Lake District Special Planning Board. For services to the National Parks.

Miss Meryl Irene TOWNSEND. For services to Elderly People.

Geoffrey Ashworth TRUESDALE. For services to the Water Industry.

Bernard James VAUGHAN, Chair, Bournemouth and Poole College of Further Education Corporation. For services to Further Education.

Michael John VINT, Chairman, Buildings Energy Efficiency Confederation. For services to Energy Efficiency.

David Norman WALLACE, Farmer. For services to Agriculture.

Denise Ann, Mrs. WATSON, Headteacher, Chaucer School, Sheffield. For services to Education.

Doris Evelyn, Mrs. WEBSTER. For services to the community in Poole, Dorset.

Christopher WHEDDON, Director, Software and Systems Integration, British Telecommunications plc. For services to the Development of Speech Technology.

Christine Mary Kathleen, Mrs. WHEELER, Chairman, CW Energy Tax Consultants Ltd. For services to the Oil Industry.

Kenneth Stuart WHITE, lately Station Manager, Heysham 2 Power Station, Nuclear Electric plc. For services to the Nuclear Electricity Industry.

Raymond John WHITEHEAD. For political and public service.