- Arthur William WHITE, lately Deputy Managing Director, Andrew Weir Shipping Ltd.
- Duncan Bryce WHITE, Regional Sheriff Clerk, Scottish Office.
- Norman Arthur WHITEHORN, Assistant Master, Protection, Lord Chancellor's Court of Department.
- Derek Alan WHITING, former Chairman, International Petroleum Exchange of London.
- Frederic William WHYTE, Managing Director, Crabtree Vickers Division, Vickers plc. For services to Export.
- Miss Elizabeth Diana Perrior WILCOX, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.
- Derek WILEBORE, Divisional Director Energy Supply, Yorkshire Electricity Group.
- Arthur WILLIAMS, Chief Administrative Pharmaceutical Officer, Grampian Health Board.
- Colin Vaughan WILLIAMS, lately Director General of Supply and Contracts, British Coal.
- Michael Roy WILLIAMS, lately Technical Director, Aerospace Group, Rolls-Royce plc. eila, Mrs. WILTSHIRE,
- Sheila, Headmistress, Haberdashers' Aske's School for Girls.
- Peter John James WREN, V.R.D., D.L., M.D., R.N.R. For services to the community in Preston, Lancashire.
- Mrs. WRIGHTON, Chairman, Walsall Ada, Advisory Committee on Justices of the Peace.

## M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

- Christopher Michael Giles ADAMS, Operations Research Vessel Services, Officer. Natural Environment Research Council.
- Kriss Kezie AKABUSI. For services to Athletics.
- Douglas Thomson ALLSOP, Executive Director, The Scottish Council on Alcohol.
- Ruth, Mrs. ANDERSON, Chairman, Blackpool and Fylde Spastics Group.
- Jean, Mrs ANDREWS, College Nursing Sister, Wye College, University of London.
- Dennis ANDRIES. For services to Boxing.
- Marion Violet, Mrs. APPEL, Senior Executive Officer, Advisory Conciliation and Arbitration Service.
- John Graham ARDLEY. For political and public service.
- Maisie, Mrs. ARNOLD. For political service.
- Winnie Florence ASH, Local Officer I, Miss Department of Social Security.
- Margaret Mary, Mrs. ASHTON. For services to the Victim Support Scheme.
- Jack ASHWELL, lately National Secretary, Road Transport (Commercial), Transport and General Workers Union.
- Raymond Seedall ASPIN, Senior Training Officer, Rolls-Royce plc. For services to Training.
- Ethel Maud, Mrs. AUSTIN. For services to the public and to the community in Egham, Surrey.
- Frederick Donald AYERS. For services to the Scout Association in Carlisle, Cumbria.
- William BAIN, Senior Executive Officer, H.M. Board of Customs and Excise.
- John Michael BARBER, Director, Cumbria Deaf Association.
- Miss Ann Beryl BARKER, Macmillan Co-ordinator, Education and Services, Highland Health Board.
- Miss Anne Flora BEATTIE, Headteacher, St. Kevin's Special School, Glasgow.

- William BEATTIE. For services to the community in Buckie.
- Stanley BEDDOE, Technology Manager (Power Generation and Control, Electronics and Software), GEC Aerospace, Fareham.
- Charles Edward Kenneth BEDDOW, Technical Manager, British Film Institute.
- Professor John George BEETLESTONE, Director,
- Techniquest, Cardiff. Robert BELL, Personnel, Industrial Relations and Health and Safety Manager, NEI International Research and Development Co.
- Gordon Sidney BENNETT, lately Professional and Technology Officer, Ministry of Defence.
- Helen Johnston, Mrs. BISSET, lately Executive Officer, Scottish Office.
- Miss Kay BLACKSTOCK, Lecturer in Education, H.M. Prison, Barlinnie.
- Noel James BOGLE, Vice-Principal, Limavady Grammar School, Co. Londonderry.
- Joyce, Mrs. BOWE. For political and public service.
- Maureen Anne, Mrs. BOYCE, Branch Society, Suffolk Branch, British Red Cross Society.
- BOYNTON, Miss Sheila Services Manager. Prescription Pricing Authority.
- Lieutenant Frederick George BRADING, R.N., (Retd), Chairman, Gosport and Fareham Inshore Rescue Service.
- Roland Thomas BROWNE, General Manager, Product Development, Renault Truck Industries Ltd.
- Joyce Stephanie, Mrs. BRYANT. For services to the community in Bagshot, Surrey.
- John Lalande BULLEY, Managing Director, J. L. B. Textiles Ltd.
- Mary Catherine, Mrs, BULLOCK, Acting Director of Nursing Services, Mid Surrey Health Authority.
- James William BUNTING, Chairman, Beacon Controls Ltd.
- Thomas BURNET, General Practitioner, Thornhill and Doune, Perthshire.
- Donnie BURNS. For services to Latin Dance.
- Brian Jackson BURTON. For services to the Royal Air Forces Association, Kingston-upon-Thames Branch.
- Thomas Albert CADMAN, Governor 4, H.M. Prison Birmingham.
- The Honourable Mrs. Judith CAMERON. For political service.
- Miss Catherine CAMPBELL, Headteacher, Arkleston Primary School, Renfrew.
- Miriam Doreen, Mrs. CANNELL. For services to the Norfolk and Norwich Music Club.
- Louis CAPALDI, Member, Argyll and Clyde Health Board.
- Anthony CHANTLER, Product Support Executive, British Aerospace (Dynamics) Ltd.
- Michael Frank CHERRY, Principal Systems Engineer, Hunting Communication Technology Ltd.
- Michael Richard CHORLEY, Senior Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.
- Winifred Margaret, Mrs. OSBORN-CLARK, Vice-President, Avon Region, National Deaf Children's Society.
- Peter CLARKE, Resident Engineer, Milton Keynes **Development Corporation.**
- Betty, Mrs. CLARKSON, Headteacher, Dalton Infant and Nursery School, Huddersfield.
- Valerie, Mrs. CLEMONS, for charitable services in Rugby, Warwickshire.