Sydney LIPWORTH. Chairman, Monopolies and Mergers Commission.

The Right Honourable Richard (Napier) LUCE, M.P. For political service.

om McDONALD, O.B.E., Chairman, We Yorkshire and West Midlands Residuary Bodies. Chairman, West

Ian Murray McKELLEN, C.B.E., Actor.

Robert Alastair Newton MORTON, Chairman and Chief Executive, Eurotunnel Group; Chairman, Eurotunnel plc.

Andrzej PANUFNIK, Composer and Conductor. Eric PARKER, Deputy Chairman and Group Chief

Executive, Trafalgar House plc.
The Right Honourable Timothy (Hugh Francis) RAISON, M.P. For political service. Lewis ROBERTSON, C.B.E. For services to Industry.

Jeremy ROWE, C.B.E., Chairman, Occupational Pensions Board.

Patrick SHEEHY, Chairman, BAT Industries.

Kirkpatrick SLOAN, Andrew Q.P.M., Constable, Strathclyde Police.

Professor Michael Warwick THOMPSON, Vice-Chancellor and Principal, University Birmingham.

William Benjamin UTTING, C.B., Chief Inspector, Social Services Inspectorate.

Colin John Shedlock WALKER, O.B.E., Chairman, East Anglian Regional Health Authority.

David Alan WALKER, Chairman, Securities and Investments Board.

Peregrine Gerard WORSTHORNE. For services to Journalism.

Ian William WRIGGLESWORTH. For political and public service.

> CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD ST. JAMES'S PALACE, LONDON S.W.I

> > 31st December 1990

THE QUEEN has been graciously pleased to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Honourable Order of the Bath:

Order of the Bath (Military Division)

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (NAVY DEPARTMENT)

G.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Military Division of the First Class, or Knight Grand Cross, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Admiral Sir Benjamin BATHURST, K.C.B.

K.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Military Division of the Second Class, or Knight Commander, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Lieutenant General Henry York La Roche BEVERLEY, O.B.E.

C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Rear Admiral Christopher Hope LAYMAN, D.S.O., L.V.O.

Surgeon Rear Admiral Ronald Edward SNOW, L.V.O., O.B.E., Q.H.P.

Rear Admiral Christopher Lainson WOOD.

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (ARMY DEPARTMENT)

K.C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Second Class, or Knights Commander of the said Most Honourable Order:

Lieutenant General Richard Hull SWINBURN (453559), late 17th/21st Lancers.

Lieutenant General Michael John WILKES, C.B.E. (467647), Colonel Commandant Royal Regiment of Artillery.

Lieutenant General John Finlay Willasey WILSEY, C.B.E. (461522), Colonel The Devon and Dorset Regiment, Colonel Commandant Army Catering Corps.

C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Major General Colin Edward George CARRINGTON, C.B.E. (445814).Colonel Commandant Royal Corps of Transport.

Major General Robert John Swan CORBETT (460021), late Irish Guards.

Major General John Peter William FRIEDBERGER, C.B.E. (451240), Colonel The Royal Hussars (Prince of Wales's Own).

Major General Richard Leslie PECK (455077), late Corps of Royal Engineers.

Major General Dennis SHAW, C.B.E. (448646), late Corps of Royal Electrical and Mechanical Engineers.

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (AIR FORCE DEPARTMENT)

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Air Vice-Marshal Robert John HONEY, C.B.E., Royal Air Force.

Air Vice-Marshal John Frederick WILLIS, C.B.E., Royal Air Force.

Air Vice-Marshal William John WRATTEN, C.B.E., A.F.C., Royal Air Force.