Vincent James McCONNELL, lately Area Manager, Automobile Association, Northern Ireland.

Miss Kathleen McGENÍTY, lately Director of Nursing Services, Arrowe Park Hospital, Wirral Health Authority

Michael McGINLEY, Health and Safety Officer, East Kilbride Development Corporation.

Helen, Mrs. McGREGOR. For services to the Housing Association Movement, Scotland.

Thomas McKEOWN, Higher Professional and Technology Officer, Department of Agriculture, Northern Ireland.

Malcolm McLAREN, Senior Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Hugh Campbell McMULLAN, Chairman, Industrial Therapy Organisation (Ulster) Ltd.

Major John Denis McNEIL. For services to the Army Cadet League.

Peter John MEAKIN, B.E.M., Chief Commandant, Merseyside Special Constabulary.

George MIGHTY. For services to the community in

John Frederick David MILLS, lately Environment Adviser, ICI Chemicals and Polymers Ltd.

John David MILLWARD, Head of Research, Rank Cintel Ltd.

Miss Diana Hunter MOODY. For political and public service.

Alan MORDAIN, Chairman, Quality Software Products Ltd. For services to Export.

Pamela June, Mrs. MORLEY PEET, Senior Nurse, Control of Infection, North East Essex.

Edith, Mrs. MORTIMER, Member, Grange-Over-Sands Town Council, Cumbria.

Geoffrey MORTON, Farmer, Yorkshire.

Walter John (Danny) MOSS, Dennis Saxophonist.

John NELSON, T.D., D.L., Convener, Stewartry District Council

David John NICELL, Edinburgh Area Manager, Fairclough, Scotland Ltd.

Benjamin William Stuart NUTTALL, Chairman and Chief Executive, Biwater Industries Ltd.

Miss Hazel Eileen ORCHARD, lately Assistant Director, Continuing Education, Royal Society of Arts Examinations Board.

Godfrey David Weatherburn PAGE, Westerham. For services to conservation.

Marie Frances, Mrs. PANTRY, Cumbria County Organiser, Women's Royal Voluntary Service. Dorothy Eileen, Mrs. PARRY, Founder, Campaign

for Tackling Acquired Deafness.
Victor Philip PARSONS, Managing Director, Wandel

and Goltermann Ltd.

Fenwick Albert PATTERSON, Director of Housing and Environmental Health, Hartlepool Borough Council.

Edward Alan PEARCE, Chairman, Cornwall Committee for the Employment of Disabled People. Raymond John PEPWORTH, lately Inspector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue.

Dennis Brian PERKINS, Education Welfare Officer, Waltham Forest, London.

John PLACKETT, Force Administrative Officer, Nottingham Constabulary.

Alan Victor PLANT, lately Colliery General Manager, Florence Colliery, North West Group, British Coal Corporation.

Lawrence PORTER, Chief Ambulance Officer, Gwent Health Authority.

Robert John POYNTER, Deputy General Manager, Western Region, British Railways.

Gerald Philip PRICE, Member, West Midlands Autistic Society.

Brent PYBURN, Manager, Environmental Response, British Petroleum International.

Clifford QUICK. For services to the community in Great Torrington.

Miss Belinda Margaret QUIREY, Choreographer. For services to Dance.

Henry Maurice RAPPORT, Voluntary Clinical Assistant, Marie Curie Hospice, Penarth, South

Leonard RATOFF, lately Principal in General Practice, Liverpool.

John Dilwyn REES, Headteacher, Heol-y-Celyn Bi-School, Pontypridd, lingual Primary Glamorgan.

Mabel, Mrs. REES, Founder, LATCH (Llandough Aims to Treat Children with Cancer and Leukaemia with Hope).

Jack RENDÉR, Founder member, Worcester Cancer

Support Group.

Eirian Oweena Seaborn, Mrs. RICKETTS, Superintendent I Physiotherapist, Mental Health Care, Whitchurch Hospital, South Glamorgan Health Authority.

Raymond Lewis RIVETT, Credit Comptroller. Perkins Engines Ltd.

Philip John ROGERS, Optics Group Manager and Chief Optical Designer, Pilkington Optronics.

Marjorie Constance, Mrs. ROSENTHAL, Executive Officer, Department of Transport.

William ROY, Chairman, Non-Executive, John Millar and Sons (1844) Ltd, Broxbourn.

Dorothy Pamela, Mrs. RUMFITT (Miss Pouncey), lately Secretary, Disaster Emergency Committee (overseas disaster relief).

Anthony John SAICH, Partner, Manning Hilder and Girling Chartered Accountants.

John Duncan SALMON. For services to the Fishing Industry

Cathleen Phyllis, Mrs. SAMPSON, lately Regional Gypsy Liaison Officer, East Anglian Regional Health Authority

Betty, Mrs. SANSOME, Senior Welfare Officer, PowerGen plc.

Pamela Helen SCHWERDT, Gardener. National Trust, Sissinghurst Castle Garden.

Leslie Clifford SCOTT. For services to the 2nd Searchlight Regiment, Royal Artillery Reunion Association.

Peter Michael SCUDAMORE. For services to National Hunt Racing.

Cyril Roger SEGELOV, Headteacher, Glyncorrwg Primary School, West Glamorgan, Leader of

Friendship House Gateway Club, Swansea. Eric SHAW, Photographer, The Press Association

George Suttie SHEPHERD, Editor, Arbroath Herald and the Braemar Gathering Book and Scottish Annual.

Derek Mann SHRIGLEY. For political service.

Miss Heather Catherine SIMPSON, Sister-in-Charge, Vascular Unit, Royal Infirmary, Edinburgh, Lothian Health Board.

Surrindar SINGH, Executive Officer, Board of H.M. Customs and Excise.

Barbara Thelma, Mrs. SLADE, Community Nurse Team Manager, Hull Health Authority.

William SMEDLEY, Chairman, Roger International plc.

Edward Herbert SMITH, Conservation Officer, Royal Armouries, Tower of London.