Captain Brian VALE, Principal Surveyor, Surveyor General's Organisation Marine Directorate, Department of Transport.

Ross Joseph VETTRAINO, Director, Environmental Health, North East Fife District Council.

Charles Arthur VEYS, International Group Chief Medical Adviser, Michelin Tyre plc.

Miss Sheila Margaret WAGHORN, First Secretary, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

Colin WAINE, Unit General Manager (Community), General Practitioner, County Durham.

Peter James WALKER. For services to the Audio Industry.

William David WALKER. For political and public service.

Malcolm WALLACE, Executive Director, Allied

Steel and Wire plc.
John Hopkins WARDEN, Freelance Writer.

Margaret Helen, Mrs. WASHINGTON. For public service in Cumbria.

Andrew Forbes WATSON, lately Chief Executive and Town Clerk, Plymouth City Council.

Frederick George WATSON. For political and public

service. WEARE, Trevor John Managing Director,

Hydraulics Research Ltd Evelyn Raymond WHEATLEY-HUBBARD, lately Deputy Chairman, Landscape Advisory

Committee. Adrian Leon WHITESON, Chief Medical Officer,

British Boxing Board of Control. Howard Keith WILKINS, Director of Planning,

British Airways plc.

The Reverend Canon Robert WILLIAMS. For public Vice-Chairman, Gwynedd Health service. Authority

Arthur William WILLS, Organist and Master of Choristers, Ely Cathedral.
Miss Violet Jane WILSON, Director, Her Majesty's

Stationery Office, Belfast.

Christopher Stephan Hugh ZEUNER, Director, Weald and Downland Open Air Museum, Singleton, West Sussex.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Miss Lesley Julia ABDELA. For services to the advancement of Women in Politics and Local Government.

George Stephen ABEL, Group Managing Director, British Road Services, Ltd.

Angus ANDREWS, Deputy County President, Suffolk Branch, St John Ambulance Brigade.

John Brendon ARCHER. For services to the

community in Northallerton, North Yorkshire.

Alastair Brian ATKIN, Industry and Environment Co-ordinator, Conoco Ltd.

George William ATKINSON. For services to the community in Morley, Leeds.

Miss Elizabeth Cora Catherine BAKER, Florist.

John Anthony BAKER, District Pharmaceutical Officer, Riverside Health Authority.

Norman Charles BANCROFT, lately Secretary, South Western Electricity Consultative Council. Miss Mary Mckenzie BARCLAY, Formerly

Headteacher, Burdiehouse Primary School, Edinburgh.

Dennis Walter BAREHAM, Essex County Officer, Agricultural and Allied Workers' National Trade Group, Transport & General Workers' Union.

Peter Johnson BARKER, Broadcaster, British Broadcasting Corporation.

Lieutenant Colonel John Anthony Sandbach BARKWORTH (Retd.), Vice-Chairman, Ocean Youth Club, Leicestershire.

Sheila, Mrs. BARLOW. For services to Opera.

Francis Edgar BARTHOLOMEW, Head of Design Integrity, Hunting Engineering Ltd, Ampthill.

Geoffrey Colin BASHFORD, lately Professional and Technology Officer, Department of the Environment.

Brian BATELY, Managing Director and Chief Executive, W and J Whitehead (Laisterdyke) Ltd.

BAXTER, Organiser estershire "Villager" and Chairman, Gloucestershire Community Service.

Miss Mary Francis Pamela Aufrere BEATTIE, D.L. For charitable services and services to the community in Essex.

John Albert BENCE, Chairman, Bence Equipment and Parts.

Frederick John William BENTLEY. For services to the Bakery Trade.

Miss Annalyn BHANJI, Actor and Teacher, Leeds Theatre in Education Company.

Cyril Albert BLACHFORD, Chairman, Ormskirk Branch, Royal Air Force Association.

Miss Anne Galloway McKinna BLACK, Divisional Director, Lothian Regional Council Social Work Department.

BLACKHALL, Douglas Chairman, Confederation of Associations of Specialist Engineering Contractors.

The Reverend Eric Leslie BLAKEBROUGH, Project Director, Kaleidoscope, Youth and Community Project.

Janette May Porterfield, Mrs. BLANCKENHAGEN, Director, Breast Care and Mastectomy Association of Great Britain.

Gordon John BOLT, Pro-Director, Part-time Studies, Bristol Polytechnic.

Miss Joan Mary BOOKER, lately Director of Midwifery Services, St Peter's Hospital, Chertsey,

Henry Michael BOOTH, Director, E. H. Booth and Company Ltd.

Miss Pamela Joan BRERETON, District Dietician, Harrow Health Authority.

Miss Karen Valerie BRIGGS. For services to Women's Judo.

Michael BROMLEY, H.M. Inspector of Factories 1B, Health and Safety Executive.

Elsie Edith, Mrs. BROUGHTON. For services to the Elderly in Middlesex.

Diana Hope Holland, Mrs. BROWN, Chairman, Housing Committee, East Staffordshire District

Sheila Elsie, Mrs. BROWN, International Liaison Officer, Pebble Mill, British Broadcasting Corporation.

Thomas Strachan BUCHAN, Chairman, Peterhead Harbour Trustees.

Anthony BURCKHARDT, Member. Caribbean Trade Advisory Group. For services to Export.

Colin Charles BURFORD, Assistant County Surveyor, Waste Disposal, Lancashire County

Lester Cecil BURKE, Vice-Chairman of Governors, Lee Bank Junior School, Birmingham.

Millicent Kay, Mrs. BURKHILL, Member, Board of Management, North British Housing Association.