Richard LLOYD, lately Grade 7, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Mary Doreen, Mrs. LOBEL, Editor, The Atlas of Historic Towns of England.

Derek LOCKWOOD. For political service. Melvin Charles LORT, Secretary and Finance Officer, National Biological Standards Board; Assistant Director, NIBSC

Donald Mackay MACARTHUR, Secretary, United Kingdom Softwood Sawmillers' Association.

Miss Jane Marian MANNING, Freelance Concert and Opera Singer.

Hugh Stewart Derek MARKS, Headmaster, The Royal School for the Blind, Liverpool.

Alexander MATHESON, Former Convenor, Western Isles Council.

George Charles MAXTED, lately General Secretary, Association of Chief Police Officers.

George McBride McALPINE, lately Director, Scottish Area, British Coal Corporation.

Archibald Eddington McCUNN, lately Member, Highlands and Islands Development Board.

Ian Robert McGEECHAN. For services to Rugby Football.

William McNEILL, Principal, Perth College of Further Education.

Malcolm McSWAN, Managing Director, Racal-MESL Ltd, Newbridge.

Douglas Wilmar MICKEL, Chairman and Managing Director, Mactaggart and Mickel Ltd.

Derek John MORTIMER, Principal, Suffolk College of Higher and Further Education.

John Stanley MORTON, Technical Director, Whipp and Bourne Ltd, Rochdale.

Thomas MURTAGH, Governor Grade II, Northern Ireland Prison Service.

Professor John Frederick NORBURY, Senior Research Fellow, Department of Mechanical Engineering, University of Liverpool.

William Anderson NORRIS, Consultant Psychiatrist, Purdysburn Hospital, Belfast.

June Patricia, Mrs. O'DELL, Deputy Chair, Equal Opportunities Commission.

Bruce OLDFIELD, Fashion Designer.

Arthur William ÓLDHAM, Director, Edinburgh Festival Chorus.

David Ernest OLIVER, lately Technical Director, Electro-Medical Supplies (Greenham) Ltd.

Vivian Julian PALMER, Grade 7, Ministry of Defence.

Thomas Alfred PEATTIE, lately General Manager, Ulster Carpet Mills Ltd. Alan George PETERS, Furniture Maker. For services

to Furniture Design.

Michael Harold Barry PETERS, Chairman, Michael Peters Group plc.

John Louis Charles PICKETT, Regional Child Care Manager, National Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Children.

George Anthony Lane-Fox PITT-RIVERS, D.L. For political service.

Kenneth POLLARD, lately Principal Scientific Officer, Meteorological Office, Bracknell.

Miss Diana POTTER, Chief Organiser, Thames Telethon.

Bob Ronald POTTER. For political and public

Leonard PUGH, Music Adviser, Belfast Education and Library Board.

Henry PURCELL. For political service.

Marion, Mrs. RAWLINGS, President, Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain.

John Malcolm REA, Divisional Director, Child Care for Scotland, Barnardo's.

Eleanor Maysie Hope, Mrs. READMAN, lately Chairman of Council, Scottish Branch, British Red Cross Society.

Denis George RICHARDS, Air Historian.

Vincent Edward RICKS, lately Grade 7, Admiralty and Commercial Registry, Lord Chancellor's Department.

William Kerr RITCHIE, Principal General Manager, Material and Components Research, British Telecommunications plc.

Alexander Rose ROBERTSON, Publicity Manager, General Accident Insurance Group.

Bradbury ROBINSON, T.D., Chairman, North Derbyshire Health Authority.

Michael ROGERS, Q.F.S.M., lately Chief Officer, West Sussex Fire Brigade.

Margaret Elaine, Mrs. ROSE, Grade 6, Division of Immunology, Houghton Laboratory Agricultural and Food Research Council.

Agnes Rebecca Rea, Mrs. ROULSTON, Assistant Director, Social Work Department, Fife Regional Council.

Deirdre Mary Patrick, Mrs. SANDFORD. For public service in Northern Ireland.

Frank Reginald SCUTT, Director, Information Systems, Dental Practice Board.

William Donald SHEARER, Principal Collector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue.

Miss Anne SHELTON. For services to the "Not Forgotten" Association.

Bryan Alexander SHEPPARD, Programme Director, Marconi Defence Systems Ltd.

Neville SHULMAN. For charitable services.

Alastair SINCLAIR, Regional Reporter, Children's Panel Borders Region.

Elizabeth Anne, Mrs. SMITH. For political and public service.

Ronald SOUTHERN, lately Leader, Stoke on Trent City Council.

Margaret Peel, Mrs. SPRIGGS, M.B.E. For services to Greater Manchester Women's Royal Voluntary Service.

Anthony Gregory STANTON, Director, Tibbett and Britten Group plc.

George Anthony STOREY, Headteacher, Hayfield Comprehensive School.

Harold Keith TAVINER, lately Leader, Wansdyke District Council.

John Laverack TAYLOR, Principal, Bretton Hall College of Higher Education, Wakefield.

William Gwynfor THOMAS, lately Chief Executive and Managing Director, Merseyside Transport Ltd.
Brian THOMPSON, Managing Director, Dominick
Hunter Filters Ltd. For services to Export.

Thomas Bacon French THOMPSON. For services to

the community in Northern Ireland. Balfour THOMSON, T.D. For services to the Royal

British Legion and Earl Haig Fund, Scotland.

THOMSON, Robert Scott Rector, Academy, Larkhall, Lanarkshire.

James Baden THORP, Chief Law Clerk, West Yorkshire, Crown Prosecution Service.

Margaret, Mrs. TODD, lately Chairman, Durham Health Authority.

David Arnold TOMBS, Director of Social Services, Hereford and Worcester County Council.

David Roy TROWBRIDGE, Member, European Trade Committee, British Overseas Trade Board. For services to Export.