Miss Felicity Ann Emwhyla LOTT (Mrs. Woolf), Opera singer.

Professor James Ephraim LOVELOCK. For services to the study of the Science and Atmosphere.

John Caldwell MACFARLANE, Vice-President, United Kingdom, Cummins Engine Company Ltd. Denis MACK-SMITH, For services to Italian Studies.

Professor John MATTHEWS, Director, Institute of Engineering Research, Agricultural and Food Research Council.

Professor William Duff McHARDY, lately Director, Revised English Bible project.

Neil William David McINTOSH, Chief Executive, Dumfries and Galloway Regional Council.

Christopher Wighton MÓNCRIEFF, Chief Political Correspondent, The Press Association.

Kenneth Duncan MORRISON, Chairman and Managing Director, William Morrison Supermarkets plc.

Commander Peter Humphrey PAGE, R.N. (Retd.), lately Chairman, Offshore Petroleum Industry Training Board.

Thomas Joseph PALMER, Group Chief Executive, Legal and General Group plc.

Raymond Arthur PARSONS, Chairman, Bowthorpe Holdings plc.

Douglas Medcalf PAULIN, O.B.E., lately Chairman, Eastern Health and Social Services Board, Northern Ireland.

Gordon Terry PEPPER, Director and Senior Adviser, Midland Montagu.

Laurence Edwin PETERKEN, General Manager, Greater Glasgow Health Board.

John Robert PURVIS. For political service.

Edward John RAYNER, lately Controller, Europe Division, The British Council.

William Gilbey REED, City Architect, Birmingham.
Peter Anning REVELL-SMITH, The Chief
Commoner, Corporation of London.

Brian Mansel RICHARDS, Chairman, British Bio-technology Group plc.

Professor Michael ROSEN, President, College of Anaesthetists.

Geoffrey Roger SAGAR, Professor of Agricultural Botany and Vice Principal, University College of Wales.

Norman Walter SHAW, lately President, Ulster Farmers' Union.

Captain Peter Jack SHAW, R.N. (Retd.), General Secretary, British Group, Inter-Parliamentary Union.

Robin John SHEEPSHANKS, D.L., Chairman, Standing Conference of East Anglian Local Authorities.

David Sackville Bruce SIMPSON, Chief Executive, Civil Service Catering Organisation.

Joseph SMEDLEY, Grade 5, Home Office.

Brian Arthur Rymer SMITH, Assistant Secretary, Family Practitioner Services, Department of Health.

Michael Roland STEELE-BODGER. For services to Rugby Union Football.

David Rodney SWEETNAM, Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon, Middlesex and Royal National Orthopaedic Hospitals.

James Edward TEASDALE, Chairman, Northumberland National Park Committee.

Neville Edward THURGOOD. For political service. Professor Joseph Burney TRAPP, Director, Warburg Institute, University of London.

Alan Frank TURBERFIELD, Staff Inspector, Schools, Department of Education and Science.

Lloyd Ramsay TURNBULL. For services to the community in Gwent.

Alan George TURNER, Chairman and Chief Executive, BPB Industries plc.

Norman Arthur WARD-JONES, Chairman, The Gaming Board for Great Britain.

Anthony WARRINGTON, lately Company Secretary, Rolls Royce plc.

Robert Strachan WATT, Chairman, Livingston New Town Development Corporation.

Lady Ursula Maryrose WESTBURY, Superintendent-in-Chief, St. John Ambulance Brigade.

Lawrence Bernard WESTLAND. Founder and Executive Director, Music for Youth.

David Thomas WHITE, Director of Social Work. The National Children's Home.

David Reeve WILLIAMS. For political and public service.

Anthony Evelyn WILLIAMSON, Managing Director, Hoover (UK) plc, Merthyr Tydfil, Mid-Glamorgan.

Professor John Kenneth WING, lately Director, Social Psychiatry Unit, Medical Research Council.

Lewis WOLPERT, Professor of Anatomy and Biology as Applied to Medicine, University College and Middlesex School of Medicine.

Ralph WOOLF, Chairman, Co-operative Development Agency.

Mohammed Mustafa ZUBERI, Deputy Director of Medical Services, Health and Safety Executive.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Joseph Bartholomew ABRAMS, lately Chairman, National Association of Community Relations Councils.

James Gay ADAMSON, Managing Director and General Manager NCR Manufacturing Ltd., Dundee.

John Vernon ADDISON, Editor, The Cumberland News.

John Frederick Lewis ALDRIDGE. For services to Occupational Medicine.

William Nelson ALEXANDER, Assistant Chief Executive, Dumfries and Galloway Regional Council. Major John ALLFREY, Director, Research into Ageing.

Geoffrey Harry Langdon ANDREW, Chairman, Colloids Ltd.

The Right Reverend Monsignore Richard ATHERTON, lately Principal Roman Catholic Chaplain, Prison Service, Home Office.

Alan Charles Frederick AYLESBURY, Managing Director, Alcoe Manufacturing (GB) Ltd.

John Christopher Neal BAILLIE, Principal, Newham Community College.

Lady Evelyn Barbara BALFOUR, lately President,

The Soil Association.

Shirley Galloway, Mrs. BALLANTINE, lately Vice-Chairman, Scotland, Women's Royal Voluntary

Chairman, Scotland, Women's Royal Voluntary Service. Miss Betty May BARCHARD, Chief Nursing Officer,

The Hospitals for Sick Children Special Health Authority.

Jean, Mrs. BARKER. For political and public service. Captain William David Johnstone BARKER, lately Operations Manager, BP Shipping Ltd.